We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenn L. Martin Maryland Aviation Museum
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Airplanes To Astronauts Under One Roof

I initially approached this museum to do research on Vanguard, the early US satellite project. I... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Viking1947
,
Middletown, Maryland
Great place for families

This was our first visit. We brought our 2 grandsons, age 11 and 13. My friend also brought her... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Joppa_MDChocoholic
,
Joppa, MD
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
11
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
11
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying school exhibits cockpit event bell collection contribution website industry boys riveters citizens martin history company series aviation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 18 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2017

My mother Ruby Coberly, worked at GLM from 1942 thru 1945. Going to the "big city" from the rural center of West Virginia was eye-opening back then, but her experience at working for a salary was key to her future and a massive step forward for American Culture. Never again did women's participation in the workforce fall to pre-War levels.
The museum director, who opened just for us on a Monday, was very kind and allowed us to view the displays (including one about Rosie the Riveters) at our own pace. He could not have been more hospitable, and took us to see the planes at the airfield at the conclusion.
Currently, with Thanks! Plain & Simple, we are establishing a bell memorial, WV Rosie the Riveter Bell, in Glenville. Through Thanks! we have met several Rosies who worked at GLM. Think of it - they were all from the same state and all worked at the same company 75 years ago, but never met until now!
We hope to include Glenn L. Martin Museum into the dedication of our bell in the Spring. And we hope to visit again some day, too.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank gcoberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn M, Public Relations Manager at Glenn L. Martin Maryland Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Thank you for visiting and sharing your mother's Rosie story. We hope you enjoyed the Rosie exhibit and the exhibit panel that featured members of the Baltimore Chapter of the American Rosie the Riveter Association. The chapter meets at the museum regularly in non-winter months. When these gals first met 20 years ago, there was an instant comradery due to the universal experiences they shared as Rosies. The next time you plan to visit the Museum, contact the Baltimore Rosie Chapter through the Museum contact as perhaps they may be able to meet with you and share Martin stories when your mother worked at Martins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Located just northeast of Baltimore city in the Martin State Airport which was formally the location of the Martin aircraft plant. Small visitor's center with exhibits chiefly about Glenn L. Martin and the Martin Company's contribution to 20th century aviation, which was considerable. Also fascinating is the story of Glenn L. Martin's genius for business, which not only produced a high-quality product but also was a model of employee support and development and diversity-hiring years ahead of its time. Especially interesting for anyone with a WWII interest or the 20th century labor history of Baltimore. Be sure to go on the tour of the aircraft undergoing restoration, mostly aircraft of Vietnam era. Restorers pride and enthusiasm is very touching, many are retired Martin employees. Small fee, nice little gift shop. Museum is a little hard to find through the tangle of suburban highways, once you get to the airport, follow the signs carefully.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn M, Public Relations Manager at Glenn L. Martin Maryland Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thanks, Lynn for visiting the Museum. We appreciate the feedback on your visitor experience. As for finding the Museum, we agree with your observation that finding the Museum may not be the easiest and we are working to post and improve signage on Rt 43 and Eastern Blvd so that folks feel like they are getting more of a direct "flight", a hop, skip and a jump from I-95 to Rt 43 to Eastern Blvd and ending on Wilson Point Rd at Martin State Airport's Hangar 5, location of the Museum.
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

The museum consists of two parts, one containing artifacts starting with WWII. The second part is a flight line with numerous aircraft, in various states of restoration. Young children, especially boys enjoy this immensely. They also have a monthly program in the summer in which they open the cockpits on various aircraft and provide steps so that visitors can sit the cockpits and play with the controls.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank wwilsonmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn M, Public Relations Manager at Glenn L. Martin Maryland Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Thank you for visiting the Museum and referring to the monthly Open Cockpit Day offered May through August on the second Saturday of these months from 9am to 1pm. This is definitely a favorite event for the children as they climb into the pilot seats and soar in their imaginations. Please visit us again later in the year as ongoing 2017 renovations work to provide a new visitor experience..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Cloud9 runs Flying experiences out of here(another suite) with Brett Aviation which is a flying school. There using Cessna 172 Skyhawks set up as trainers. 15 minutes of ground instruction and pre flight then up we went. Was even able to help in take off and landing pulling up and descending down. Up in the air you got full control from the instructor who had you take it for a leisurely fly across the bay over Hart Miller island turn at Chestertown then come back for the landing(45 mins) at 2000ft( 3000 and above is BWI air corridor). The experience allows you to fly and bring one passenger.
After that I toured the museum which surprised me, lived in the area all my life and didn't know it was there.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank mbw244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn M, Public Relations Manager at Glenn L. Martin Maryland Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Thanks for visiting the Museum in 2016. The exhibit space is in the process of renovations throughout 2017 to provide a new visitor experience. Please visit again later this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Rich in the history of WWII, this aviation museum is a delightful surprise. You can almost feel the presence of the 53000 men and women who supported the war effort right here. Amazing accomplishments on display.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn M, Public Relations Manager at Glenn L. Martin Maryland Aviation Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Thank you for sharing your visit experience. While contributing to bringing the war to an end, the Martin employees contributed many aviation advancements which are noted in the displays. Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews