We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn Deep Creek Lake
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Dumfries, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute Dump!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at this property Saturday night (05-19-2012) for one night. The hotel is in desperate need of maintenance. From visible mold on the walls and ceiling of the bathroom, to stained lamp shades, broken sidewalks, exposed electrical wires, damaged room lamps, moldy, and dirty windows,torn desk chairs,etc. The place looks like an absolute dump. I paid 102/night for this property, and in my opinion its not worth more than about 40 a night in its present condition.

Room Tip: I dont know what the other rooms were like but this one was horrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    32
    30
    30
See reviews for
36
47
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Very rude Front Desk Agents! I was checked in by an older lady in the afternoon who was professional, but unfriendly. No smile--I had to introduce myself and say "Good Afternoon, I'm checking in!" Then she told me to "Hold on, I'll be right with you..." The Lobby was empty and the phone wasn't ringing; there was one other car in the parking lot. She finally gave me the worst room, RM 101, not knowing that I was once a Front Desk Manager and the 101s, 201s etc.. are always the undesirables.
Upon checkout (they want you out early: 11am!) I called to ask for a later one. The surly agent on the phone said, "The latest I can give you is 11:30...um 12:00 at the very latest."
When I checked out I was once again faced with dead silence. But this time the young lady looked angry and was not happy to see me. I said, "I'm checking out of Rm 101." I tried to make conversation by asking her if they were full that night (because if they are as slow as the day before, there is no reason why I couldn't get a later checkout). I've NEVER heard of an 11am checkout time in any hotel! I came here to look at the Vacation Houses for a family vacation next month. I'm so glad that I will be in the Village Condo behind this crappy hotel when I come back to Deep Creek Lake. This hotel should be bought quickly by Hilton or Marriott to fix the problem.

Room Tip: Rent a Vacation House from Long and Foster! It's worth spending a little more than dealing with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McHenry hotels

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at the Deep Creek Lake Comfort Inn for one evening while taking a quick trip to the DCL area with the kids to check out the area. There are very few hotels in DCL, with pretty much just the Comfort Inn and the Wisp Resort as the only choices, other than the large number of rental vacation homes. The lobby area is pretty nice, and in good shape. There's not a lot of seating in the breakfast area. One thing that surprised me is that this hotel apparently does NOT have any elevators. Maybe we missed them, but they were not to be found anywhere that we looked. We didn't have a lot of luggage, but for folks who stay for several days could have issues with lugging suitcases up and down the stairs. The room that we stayed in was, I believe, the only "suite" with a separate bedroom. It had three queen sized beds in it. The room, while fairly clean, was sorely in need of updating. The knob to the separate bedroom was broked - no latch. The cover to the lighting fixture in the bathroom was askew and needed to be replaced. The knob to the bathroom was loose and falling off. The hotel does not have speed checkout through the television. The breakfast was perfectly fine, and in line with what I've come to expect from complimentary breakfasts for a hotel of this caliber, i.e., mostly continental items with one or two hot items (in this case, sausage patties and eggs). My expectations were modest, and this hotel met those expectations. It's a clean hotel that needs some renovation, which will hopefully come when this hotel switches over to a Quality Inn (also owned by Choice Hotels) in August 2012.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerMD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We reserve a hotel room at Deep Creek 2-3 times per year. Typically we stay at another hotel close to this one. We have previously steered clear of this place due to the low ratings on this site but due to the fact our typical place would not allow a 1 night reservation over president's day weekend, frustrated, we decided to try the Comfort Inn. I can say that we were pleasantly surprised. My demands for a hotel are that they have the basic amenities and be CLEAN! Our room (double queen, non-smoking) was clean and nice and spacious. Maybe we got lucky, but I cannot understand the negative reviews. The stay includes a hot breakfast. It was okay. Waffle maker, sausage patty and eggs for a breakfast sandwich, a couple choices for pastries, cereal, coffee (available all day) and juice. The only thing that was lacking was a refrigerator in our room and microwave. There was one of each available in the lobby however, there was definitely room available for it in the room. Considering what we saved with rate and the free breakfast I think we have found our new hotel in Deep Creek.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunInTheSun246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We spent the night in Deep Creek Lake when traveling from West Virginia to Delaware. There are not many hotels in the area, mostly rental homes, therefore choices are limited. We checked in around 9pm with a not so friendly front desk person (not rude, just apathetic). I requested a room with a jacuzzi tub (which turned out to be a jetted tub), however there was soap scum throughout the tub and was too gross to sit in which was very unfortunate since I paid more for that room. There was also mildew in the window. They do offer a continental breakfast but the "make your own waffles" tasted like the flour was rancid. We paid $120 something for the night which was tremendously overpriced for the lodging offered. In comparison, we paid $69 the following night at the Comfort Inn and Suites in Gettysburg, PA and were greeted by 2 very friendly and helpful front desk staff. The room was large and clean and we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfr4570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The room was extremely moist...towel on floor when stepped on became WET! they had no other rooms... bathroom, though looked clean, smelled like urine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2fineboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I brought my friends up here for the New Years Gala at Wisp Mountain. They stayed at this hotel. It was awful. From the time we all walked in the lobby until they checked out (2 days early I might add) the smell of the mildew was everywhere. And the decor is bad and outdated. The hotel is in serious need of repair. The rooms are outdated. Mattress they said were terribly uncomfortable offering no support at all. Cheap stuff in bathrooms. Bathrooms weren't nice. And for the price they expected more. It's just not a very nice place to stay. You can do better by going just a little ways down the road.

Although I didn't sleep at the hotel, I met them there each morning and throughout the day and in the evenings. I felt bad that I had given them as a place to stay. I should have checked it out first. They would have been better off to pay more and to to Wisp.
There is no restaurant or any food at all n this hotel. And nothing close by except to drive. Thank god Perkins is just up the road for breakfast and coffee. And Canoe on the Run.

I will say the front desk staff people were super nice. The maids were all nice. No issue with the staff at all. The owner needs to invest some money in this place, great location, and fix it up/modernize it and make it nice for people to stay here. It's a good location and close to everything at that end of the lake, and the Ski area.

Room Tip: There is no best room. The best room is in another hotel down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyAboutTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
1.0 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
110 reviews
10.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Lodge at Wisp
The Lodge at Wisp
#3 of 4 in McHenry
267 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
297 reviews
7.4 mi away
Yough Valley Motel
Yough Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Friendsville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Deep Creek Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Deep Creek Lake

Property: Quality Inn Deep Creek Lake
Address: 2704 Deep Creek Dr, McHenry, MD 21541-1401 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Deep Creek Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn Deep Creek Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Deep Creek Lake Hotel Mchenry
Deep Creek Lake Hotel
Comfort Inn Mchenry
Mchenry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing