We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a beer and sandwich”

The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in McHenry
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer and sandwich”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went with a large group. Waiter had a bit of a difficult time working with a large group and one member with a restricted diet. Food was decent for bar food. Couldn't recommend anything in particular.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    82
    72
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“best place in Deep Creek”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Crab cakes are great. Beer selection is great too. outdoor deck w/music on friday night. We liked this place, the best in Deep Creek.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinniePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We are about an hr drive to Deep Creek and decided to have a dinner out of town and chose Black Bear Tavern. We had a little wait but we didn't mind. They had a nice band playing we enjoyed while waiting. The waitress was really nice and admitted it being her 3 rd day on the job. Regardless, she seemed to have done everything correctly when getting our drinks and taking our order. I had the crab cake and it was delicious! The only complaint we have is that my husband's steak was undercooked but he didn't want to complain. The mixed drink I had was fabulous also. Would probably return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkline82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Bar/Bad Restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Looks like a good drinking establishment. Slow service, unattentive. Wife and I were not offered refills before being left with the check. Food was over cooked and lacking flavor.

Overall, not very good for the price.

Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great view, food and entertainment”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place is worthwhile when visiting. The band was great, craft beer selection was good and the food delicious. Also you could see both mountains and lakes. I highly recommend the place for a fun, relaxing and casual dinner or drinks.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank davew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing