We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy and Seems to be a College Age Hangout”

The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in McHenry
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Noisy and Seems to be a College Age Hangout”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The place was very loud. I'm not talking about the music. The food was so so. The band was on the low end of the scale. The place had a lot of Collage Students and is not the place a middle age couple would find fun. It's a meat locker.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    80
    70
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Quaint Dinner”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Food was just ok - nothing outstanding. Service was decent. Did have a pool table and a game was only a dollar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWahoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't go if your in a rush!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Food was average. Went on a Sunday, and Garrett county has a funny alcohol drinking policy on Sundays, and saw other customers have issue with their bills. Had 2 tables seated after us get their food before us. Then waitress told us their was a glitch in order system, so waited nearly 40 minutes for burgers! There are better places to eat in DC!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SBreezy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great outdoor eatery”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were able to bring our pet with us and sit outside. They had quick service and it was well priced. They also had a man playing outside Friday night, and he was fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrewCrew21122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What Happened????”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This used to be our stop when we got to the lake on a Friday evening. I don't know what happened but the service and quality of food has gone down. We even gave them a second and third try because this has always been a quick bite on our way in. Last visit in we were told we couldn't be seated at a table because they didn't want the kitchen to get backed up!! There were a half dozen empty tables....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G0lfngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant also viewed

 
Oakland, Garrett County
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Been to The Black Bear Tavern and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing