We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge stay”
Review of LakeStar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in McHenry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
LakeStar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice lodge stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at LakeStar Lodge for my husband's birthday. When we arrived to check-in, everything was easy and the woman at the desk was very nice. The room we got was newly renovated, clean and bright, but small. The bamboo floors were lovely. Unfortunately, the sink in the bathroom didn't drain right and the toilet handle broke after a flush. They offered to fix everything first thing in the morning or we could move right next door to an identical room, so we chose to move. The new room was fine and identical except for some pictures. The view out the back off the private deck was lovely, day or night, and the space was quiet (of course this was very off-season). The bathroom was clean, but small, and also newly redone. Just note there was no space on the sink to put any toiletries. And the only place there were mirrors was in the bathroom, so if you hoped to check your appearance or put on makeup while your spouse was in the bathroom, that's a no-go.
I wish I had known how small the room really was beforehand. There weren't any closets for our winter coats, no place to put our suitcases except on the floor near the window & back door. No place to unpack any clothes or even hang anything up. There was one console table under the flat screen tv and a very shallow desk with a straight chair. Two night tables (no drawers), but no small couch, no table and chairs...so the only place to sit was on the bed or on the small deck. There was a teeny tiny refrigerator and a microscopic microwave tucked into an alcove. Day 2, we weren't sure if they were going to clean the room or not. But when we came back from breakfast, the bathroom was cleaned and re-stocked and smelled clean, the bed was remade and the trashcans emptied. I was impressed until I walked to the back door and saw that the little pile of sand I had brushed (with my sock) into a spot from our short jaunt on the sand the previous day was still there. Also, we purposefully left the back door blinds closed and the window blinds closed so no one could see into our room, but the staff re-opened the blinds on the door. Small issue, but if you are concerned about leaving items in the room (like a camera or laptop), it makes a difference as there's no place to hide anything.
We got a room with a king size bed, but you should know ahead of time that the bed is a very low-end bed with absolutely no padding. We felt kind of like we were laying on a slab with springs underneath us. No pillow-top, no padding at all...this made sleep rather difficult for both of us.
However, in-season (spring & summer) when water sports are the regular activity, this lodge is probably a really good deal. There are docks for boats and the water is basically right outside your door. There is a grassy area and what looks like a fire-pit (or two) for evening activities. And the water ends nearby, so there's no boats flying through the area like a pass-through.
If you know what you're getting, then this lodge could be a worthwhile deal. It's a little ways from the main part of Deep Creek Lake, but access seemed easy. Also, you're right across the street from Funland (which was fun even in the cold) and down the way just a bit from Smiley's. Food options are abundant in both directions for all levels of style and food type. I'm not sure how great parking at the lodge would be under normal circumstances, but we had plenty of space.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMdVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    162
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
160
361
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for an overnight to get away and celebrate my birthday. Someone in the staff was kind enough to decorate the bed with a heart of rose petals and place a vase of them on the ledge. It's well decorated, a great view, kind staff and warmly appointed. Would certainly visit again. A simply delightful stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyt_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the LakeStar after a long day at the hospital in Morgantown. It was just a short 40 minute drive from Morgantown. The room was exceptionally clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and the view was beautiful. We can't wait to come back this summer!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the LakeStar Lodge once a few years ago and were pleased with the view, location and availability of a dock space for our boat but that was before the new ownership and renovations. This time we took advantage of a living social deal and decided on a winter getaway. We were greatly impressed with the friendly staff and our rustic-themed room; it was just beautiful, clean and well appointed. We will be going back

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and had a fireplace which was so nice. I don't think rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel has a great location, right on a lake. The view from the balcony was absolutely beautiful-looked like a winter wonderland. The service was great. I rescheduled last minute because of a bad ski forecast and they gave me no problem. The room was a little small, had no closet, and had no rack for luggage. Also, the tv has an HDMI outlet but there was no space behind the tv to plug anything in (like a chromecast) because the tv was mounted too close to the wall. That said, the overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Short drive from the slopes and nightlife! Cute rooms that felt like home. Very clean rooms and super friendly staff! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!Looking forward to our next stay :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWillyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Completely impressed with this place! The staff was friendly, the place was clean, the view was great and the accommodations were wonderfully unique for the price. I totally recommend this place for a romantic getaway or a trip with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRJ555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
0.3 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
11.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
4.1 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
76 reviews
10.2 mi away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LakeStar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LakeStar Lodge

Property: LakeStar Lodge
Address: 2001 Deep Creek Dr, McHenry, MD 21541-1460 (Formerly Innlet Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LakeStar Lodge is a lakefront hotel with 20 rooms and a 3-bedroom vacation suite, located on the north side of Deep Creek Lake in western Maryland. Every room has a clear view of the lake and mountains, which feature the Wisp resort. Enjoy skiing, snow boarding, and snow tubing in the Winter, as well as 3,900 acres of lake fun -- boating, swimming, fishing, and jet-skiing -- in the Summer. For those who are more adventurous, there are numerous State parks in the area including Swallow Falls and Muddy Creek Falls with trails that run along the water and ascend the various mountains. We welcome you to Deep Creek Lake and the LakeStar Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakestar Hotel Mchenry
Lakestar Motel Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing