We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BBQ is great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archie's Barbeque

Archie's Barbeque
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in McHenry
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant and Caterer - Home of the Two-Hand Sandwiches, The Archie Deluxe, Award winning Baby Back Ribs and the Mountain Man Food Challenge (Man vs. BBQ). Our menu features Ribs, Chicken, Turkey, Beef, Pork, Signature Boneless Wings, along with Signature Wraps, Salads, Homemade Sides, Kids Meals, Beer, Wine and Bulk to Go! Family owned and operated. Relax in our dining room, outside under umbrellas or call ahead to pick-up at DRIVE-THRU. Guaranteed to be delicious, generous portions,reasonably priced and with quick friendly service. Catering Packages also available.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BBQ is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I can't skip this place any time I'm in town...the people are great but the bbq is better. Bring an appetite because the portions are humongous! favorite is the pulled pork sandwich with slaw...Oh my goodness...love this place in the summer...roadside outdoor seating...love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IntheMeantime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    71
    47
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mom Loved BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went on a Monday afternoon and there was NO ONE there. The weather was horrible. So we had the place to ourselves. The ribs were fantastic, the baked beans the tastiest ever. My mom said it was the best BBQ she ever had. Would definitely come back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank elizah81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited Archie's for the second time this past weekend. I have to say that I am very picky about ribs. I haven't found any that stand up to my husband's until now. The ribs are meaty instead of fatty. They are cooked perfectly-not tough or too soft. The flavor is great (we use the spicy sauce). I also ate the cornbread which was moist and tasty. The restaurant itself is spotless, including the kitchen. If you are ever in deep creek and like good food, stop at Archie's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rjfjr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Oklahoma style BBQ in Maryland. Been to the establishment twice but frequent their mobile smoker whenever they are in the area for a festival. To our tastebuds, it's good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobErickKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid, no-frills experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited Archie's on Saturday evening of our ski weekend at the beginning of January. It's very close to the ski resort, located right along the main drag. Visitors are greeted by Archie's walls of fame and shame, folks who have attempted the Mountain Man Food Challenge. (A few have actually been successful.) Inside, the heavy, rough-hewn wood tables and chairs and bear rug (displayed on the wall) capture a cabin-in-the-woods sort of feel--although the high ceiling gives the place a cavernous quality. The staff were friendly and order-then-seat-yourself service was efficient if a little impersonal. When the food arrived (which was very fast--it wasn't very busy) everything was exactly what you'd expect: solid, well executed, barbecue pork, brisket, and chicken in generous portions. Sides of cole slaw, mac and cheese, and beans were also good. Those of us who got corn bread received what I thought were skimpy portions. Overall, Archie's is a good place to visit to get away from the ski resort for something a little different, and I would certainly return, but don't expect to be blown away by the world's greatest barbecue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mihobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archie's Barbeque also viewed

 
Oakland, Garrett County
Oakland, Garrett County
 

Been to Archie's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing