We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found a home in mchenry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Found a home in mchenry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I decided an an impromptu trip out of d.c. I came across the lodge and called the, up. I was greeted by Ladonna who was very helpful. When I let her know I would be coming in late she told me that she would go turn the heat on and leave me key in a lock box with a list of the local restaurants which she highlighted a few that we're good. Do not miss traders coffee it is great. When I arrived I was really impressed with the size and comfort of the cabin. It had a great kitchenette and fully stocked with dishes and cooking utensils for the grill. They also have a fireplace in the room which was great. I came up to explore for future longer trips and I found a place I will come back to yer after year. Next time i will get one with a private hot tub. Thanks.

Room Tip: 52 left was my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Front Office Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed the Cabins and that you took time to give us a review, we appreciate your feedback. Please know you are welcome anytime to call us your new "HOME" in Mchenry. We look forward to having come and stay again.


Thank you!
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    34
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
56
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great stay, cabin very nicely decorated. Felt at home. service is great. Very close to slopes. Loved the high tech door locks. Loved the fact that they use key card rather than metal keys. You just wave the card by the lock. No need to take it out of your pocket.

Good TVs and working and working remote. I've been to some very nice hotels that did not have a good quality TV/remote.

Great wifi. Don't dine at pine lodge though. I didn't like it.

Bring electric car (Leaf, Volt, Tesla), park in front of cabin and charge from external outlet (110volt).

Room Tip: Don't get one with a door adjoining two cabins unless you need the extra room, or unless you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, General Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very lucky to be in such an area that offers great views from our common areas and just coming down from where the cabins are located you can see the mountains and lake of Deep Creek!. We look forward to your return!

Thank you again for taking time to give us a review!


LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted somewhere quiet and peaceful to go for a weekend getaway and The Lodges at Sunset Village were absolutely the best choice! LaDonna was extremely nice and extra helpful at the cabin check-in office! We got a gorgeous private cabin (42), with a hot tub and loved every minute of our stay! The room was extremely spacious for two and the bathroom was clean, fresh and stacked with extra towels and toiletries. The fireplace was very nice to sit by to warm up after being outside. The restaurants and slopes are right across the street and very easy to navigate. We are certainly planning to come back in the summer! Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: Cabin #42 is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, General Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review, we are so happy that you and your boyfriend enjoyed our cabin #42, we take pride in making sure that you are in the right cabin for you stay! Sounds like you had an amazing time and took full advantage of the amenities we offered you, what's better than a hot tub and cozy fireplace after a day of sking, right? Call us soon to come back for any season here at Deep Creek!

Thank You
LaDonna
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitland, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Decided to return to Deep Creek for a vacation and chose the Lodges because of the great rooms and greater room special. With LaDonna's help and attention, was able to rent Cabin 52R with the whirlpool tub. Was not prepared for what me and my grandmother got when we arrived. The cabin was spacious and beautiful. The bathroom was amazing, but the flat screen tv, refrigerator, gas fireplace and the back deck really made the place great. It was a joy to come back to the cabin every day and cozy up on the couch to a movie and the fire place. LaDonna was great in taking care of me and grandmother, especially with advice on places to go in the area. Definitely have been recommending this place to others and can't wait to go back again!

Might go with a group during the fall to enjoy the outdoor fire pits, hot tubs and gas grills on the property.

Room Tip: The rooms come in various occupancies for either a romantic, family or group trip. But if you are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reve' M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you and your grandmother had a great time at the Lodges. Family time is always the best! and we love helping guest to get to know Deep Creek Lake! Give us a call when you're ready to book another get away with family.

Thank you
LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. The accommodations, cleanliness and overall location were outstanding.
WE rented a three bedroom 2.5 bath two level cabin.
The cabin was stocked with all of the essential utilities including wine glasses, flatware, disahes, a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.
My only complaint is the location of the hot tub and quality of the mattresses. The hot tub was located in the most visible area of the parking lot with no privacy whatsoever. I guess it was an afterthought. No problem, we still enjoyed it, Wisp Resort and ski area is directly across the street.
I would definitely return to the Lodges. Great Job Guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1spartan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, General Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your time in giving us a review, we are certainly glad you enjoyed staying with us . Please come back soon and hopefully we will have taken your review and do what we can to make your stay even better the next time.

Thank You!

LaDonna Stem
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

From booking our reservation to checking out, we had an amazing trip! Let me start by saying LaDonna was an absolute treat to deal with, super nice. The cabin we stayed in (44) was everything we thought it would be and more. It is rather a spacious condo for two people, updated with two flat screens, fireplace, and very nice fixtures through out. Everything very up to date. The bed/pillows were rather comfortable, too. It is close to Wisp and surrounding sites/bars/taverns, which we barely had to go more than a few miles. You could see the Wisp ski trails from our door, and it was pretty neat when lit up at night. This was a surprise weekend getaway for my wife's birthday, and needless to say, she enjoyed every minute of it, as did I. We will definitely be coming back in the future!

Room Tip: Room 44 did not have a hot tub, but it was a single unit by itself. In other words, some of the cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uwang17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, General Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We are so happy that your wife's surprise getaway weekend with us was what you expected. Thanks for letting us accommodate you. We are glad that you enjoyed the views of the wisp ski resort at night and that your overall experience was great. We look forward to have you come to the Cabins again soon!

Thanks again for taking time to give us a review.

LaDonna Stem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had to book last minute for a weekend trip. Since we have a dog, we had the option of here or Wisp resort. We wanted something less like a hotel because we thought it would be easier in case our dog made noise while we were out. The cabin itself was nice; everything was clean and looked newly renovated. Because we booked very last minute, we did not have an option of which cabin to stay in, but we were placed in cabin 47 that slept 6 (two queens and a pull out sofa). It was enough space for 2, but I think anymore than a night or two with 6 people would have been unbearable. We had one major issue while we were there; the heat cannot keep up with the cold temperatures. It was basically always cold and the bathroom floor was not even something I could just tolerate. We ended up lining it with extra towels. The only other downside to this cabin is the lack of cooking ability, although we did know this was going to be the case when we booked.

Overall, for as much as it costs per night (We spent over $500 for a 3 night stay.), I think there could be a better heating system and a way to cook other than a microwave. If you want somewhere clean/convenient and don't mind the price (or find a deal), it's a good, quaint place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wtrmlncrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, General Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time in giving us feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not quite what you expected. We do have larger cabins with a loft to make your stay more comfortable and gives you more room for six guest. As far as for heat in the bathrooms there is a red heat light to help with the chill of the room . All of our cabins come with a standard kitchenette with everything but a cook stove, however , you do have access to gas grills on the property when the weather allows for you use this. I hope that you will come back again soon and give us another try to see the cabins in all seasons and to be able to use all the amenities that we have to offer.

Thank you again
LaDonna Stem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
3.8 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
20.5 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Sunset Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Sunset Village

Property: The Lodges at Sunset Village
Address: 23900 Garrett Hwy, McHenry, MD 21541-1665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodges at Sunset Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins offer the perfect setting! Deep Creek Lake is a popular vacation spot for its seclusion & beauty. The Lodges at Sunset Village cabin hotel suites provide privacy, allowing you to fully enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains and lake. The Lodges offer you 27 Luxury Log Cabin Suites located in the heart of the lake area. Amenities including full kitchens or kitchenettes, hot tubs, Jacuzzis, free wireless, fireplaces, flat screen televisions, all with rustic luxury décor. Five Cabins are Lakefront and all cabins have access to the dock and lake area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodges at Sunset Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing