We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Poor Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodges at Sunset Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

At a "discounted" rate of $321, this was a very poor value. It wasn't. Cob webs were on the shower curtain and the blow dryer... And not just a couple. One check-in they tried to raise the price by $53 for a hot tub I didn't ask for and was not in my confirmation. No amenities to speak of... Accommodation technically had a view of the lake, but only technically. Definitely would not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdvanceTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We do apologize for the confusion at check in regarding the hot tub choice made when booking online. We will amend our booking procedures for on-line reservations. I sincerely apologize that our pre-arrival set up inspection did not catch the spider web. We are very proud of our housekeepers and always strive to keep our rooms spotless and well maintained. We do not always succeed in satisfying our high standard; but we are always ready to make provisions, if we receive a call to notify us of an issue.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodges at Sunset Village and sincerely hope you will give us a second chance to better serve you.

Thank You,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

So I needed to make a quick overnight trip to Deep Creek and initially was going to have family with me (all adults). After researching hotels and other locations, I decided to stick with a Railey Mtn property since I've had great experiencces with them in the past. The Lodges did not disappoint. I stayed in 50L which had a loft area with Queen bed, a lower level with King bed, living room w/sofabed, and kitchenette area. Everything was clean, there was sufficient space and privacy for adults. The back patio had a great view, and the electri fireplace was a nice touch. Looks just like the virtual pics. The only thing that was missing that would have been nice is a DVD player of some sort. Also, there is no tv in the loft bedroom just an FYI. The outside also had grills and fire pits for common use. So if you see it online, like the layout/design, then I would say book it! Especially if you don't need a grand spacious rental property like some of the other homes, but if you are looking for a clean place that can accommodate you, your friends, or family, and is centrally located to everything, as it is right on Garrett hwy, then this is a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hisinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at The Lodges for one night when we needed to escape the city heat. The property is owned by Railey Mountain Lake Vacations, a local vacation rental company that does a great job with a variety of rentals. It was fantastic, very easy to get to, clean rooms, well appointed with nice bedding and television. There is a cute area to sit outside and the kitchenette was enough to sustain yourself for a weekend if weren't doing too much eating in. We will definitely return to The Lodges!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in cabin 50 R Oct 2012. Beautiful , almost new and nicely decorated with all the amenities you need for a short stay (no stove). They say to bring your own paper products and toiletries but our cabin actually had paper products in it. We enjoyed the fire pit, it and the grill were immediately behind our cabin. There are 2 fire pits and 2 gas grills, and 1 electric grill for all the cabins (I think 15 cabins), which was not a problem for us, the other cabins were mostly vacant while we were there during the week. We had a view of the Wisp Ski slope off our deck and the setting is very private and peaceful. We would definitely stay here again. Wireless internet worked well. gas fireplace was beautiful.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank respiterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The lodge we stayed in had modern furnishings with a rustic feel. It has a very cozy and comfortable feel. These lodges are fairly expensive and without a lot of amenities. For the price I feel they should provide soap and more than a half a roll of toilet paper for your stay. They do state this in the reservation form but these items should be provided. The lodges are close together so noise does travel easily. Our neighbors hot tub was right outside our bedroom door so at 1AM we were awakened by the noise. It is located across the street from the lake but it is a good location for getting to everything. Upon checking out you are responsible for taking your trash to the dumpster and washing any dishes you have used.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patti Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at Lodges at Sunset Village from March 1 to March 4. First and foremost, it was quite a pleasant stay. My family loved the cabin-style lodging so it was an overall a great experience. Only a couple of downsides...one is that the rental office didn't have after-hours front desk service so if you check in late (after 6 p.m.) and ran into any problems, there's no one available to help you. Another downside is that the cabin does not have the capability to cook your own food. It did have a microwave, a panini grill and a toaster but no portable stove. And these are the reasons I'm only giving it a 4-star rating.

Otherwise, everything else was great. We stayed in one of the cabins that had an outside hot tub. We used it one time because it was way too cold to use it a lot but we were glad that it was ready for use and didn't have to turn it on or wait for it to heat up.

Room Tip: If you want a better view of Deep Lake, choose a cabin on the lower row. But if you want a cabin wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green4859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was the 3rd time we have rented through Railey Mountain Realty, and the 2nd we have stayed at these lodges. The first time we stayed in a smaller cabin (2 Queen Beds, one floor) with our daughter, but this time was a birthday weekend away for my wife. We stayed in 45L, and everything was perfect. First the website clearly states what is not included so we just made sure to bring those items. Check-in was a simple process with very friendly staff. And to promote RMR even more, when I called last minute to book a cabin, they were generous enough to rent me the 2 story King cabin w/ hot tub that we stayed in at the same price as another smaller available 2 Queens w/ hot tub on one floor. That is customer service!

Upon arriving at the cabin we were surprised at how spacious it really was. The kitchen area (full fridge, sink, dishwasher, microwave) even included plenty of silverware and dishes for our stay. The first floor had a full bathroom which was very clean and well appointed, a bedroom area with King bed, flatscreen wall-mounted TV, dining table with 3 chairs. Then there is a separated living area with couch, coffee table, and beautiful fireplace that we left cracking for the whole stay! There is an amazing wood-carved stairway up to a 2nd floor loft area with Queen bed, full bathroom, and a really cool little alcove area that would be perfect for children or adults sleeping on sleeping bags. There are even lights for that space.

Outdoor is the hot tub, just a few short steps from the sliding door. After partaking in activiites at Wisp ski resort, we spent the rest of day and night in. We picked up Brendas Pizzeria pizza and salad for the cabin, and I would highly recommend that pizza, it was fantastic.

The beds were very comfortable, there was ample space for us, the fireplace was relaxing, and the smell of all of the wood furnishings and walls really makes you feel like you are deep in the woods someplace.

If there was any negative, which it really wasn't, was that there were handtowels and washcloths in our suite, but no full towels. I made a quick call, and within 20 minutes maintenance had delivered more towels than we could need for our stay. That was a very painless transaction there.

These cabins can be as romantic or family-friendly as you make them. I prefer self-sufficient loding when we go somewhere so I am positive that we will be staying in the lodges again. You will not be disappointed. The space, the cleanliness, the amenities...all were spot on and will surely make us repeat renters.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
3.8 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
303 reviews
4.0 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
110 reviews
19.9 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
80 reviews
8.2 mi away
Yough Valley Motel
Yough Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Friendsville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodges at Sunset Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Sunset Village

Address: 23900 Garrett Hwy, McHenry, MD 21541-1665
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range: $136 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodges at Sunset Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabins offer the perfect setting! Deep Creek Lake is a popular vacation spot for its seclusion & beauty. The Lodges at Sunset Village cabin hotel suites provide privacy, allowing you to fully enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains and lake. The Lodges offer you 27 Luxury Log Cabin Suites located in the heart of the lake area. Amenities including full kitchens or kitchenettes, hot tubs, Jacuzzis, free wireless, fireplaces, flat screen televisions, all with rustic luxury décor. Five Cabins are Lakefront and all cabins have access to the dock and lake area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Lodges at Sunset Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing