We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, better pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain State Brewing Co.

Mountain State Brewing Co.
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, better pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We found this place by accident while driving around the area. My sandwich was good. My husband's cheeseburger pizza was amazingly delicious! It even had pickles on it! So, if you're going to stop in, I would definitely say skip the sandwiches and get a flatbread pizza.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    179
    70
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Beer and good pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We brought friends here in the afternoon, and the place was pretty quiet. Service was on the slow side, but it was a weekday and past the normal lunch time. Wish they had offered us outside seating! Folks who came in later knew to ask and we felt like maybe we should have opted for outside. We also didn't realize the flatbreads were actually pizzas (our fault), but we did enjoy them. One of our group had the "cheese burger" and was surprised to find there was no meat on his pizza! Three of us sampled the beers and were very impressed.
I would definitely come back, knowing a bit more about the menu and the seating options.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villas, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza with in Hours.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

First the location makes for an amazing feel, especially if you want to sit outside. The decor and wood work is amazing and really sets the right feel for eating a wood fire pizza.
The pizza is by far the best I have had around this area. It was perfectly cooked and so much flavor. Just wish the beer was better but the "Almost Heaven Amber" is the best beer, and could go well with any pizza.
I make an effort to eat here atleast once a month. If you're a pizza person this is a must visit!

Helpful?
Thank kaptainavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Ok Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I would go here for the beer. It was very good. They do have their own rootbeer as well. The food was just average.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2kidstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent choice!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have been visiting the Deep Creek Lake area for many years and MSB is always one of our stops whenever we are in the area! They have great food, a fun atmosphere, and good service. We never miss having a meal at MSB!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Summer9293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain State Brewing Co. also viewed

 
Oakland, Garrett County
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Been to Mountain State Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing