We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pizza!”

Mountain State Brewing Co.
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is the best pizza I have ever had. I highly recommend it. We love to also go in and just sit at the bar for a couple of beers. They are quite tasty too. We have mixed feelings about the service. One time is is great and the next time slow. But we think the pizza is so good it is worth the wait. Gives us time to try another of the great beers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dancecheerLAXmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    180
    71
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“At a party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Joined a group of friends for a set-aside party. The building is a bit loud when there are a lot of people. There was a full crowd.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good pizza, good local beers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Wood fired pizza done right! Nice selection of quality crafted local micro-brews. Gets crowded on weekends, so get there early or plan on having a couple drinks while waiting for a table.

Helpful?
Thank Rocketeer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great wood fired pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was my third trip to the Mountain State Brewing Co restaurant. On this occasion it was the most crowded making the wait quite long. However, it did give me an opportunity to enjoy their Cold Trail Ale while waiting. It is a nice light bodied beer that won't fill you up before diving into your pizza. My buddy is a big fan of IPAs and said their Seneca Indian Pale Ale was very tasty as well. If you can't make a decision on the beer, they do offer a flight so you can sample them all. As for their pizza, I found their choices to be outstanding. They have some very imaginative combinations. I especially liked the thin, crispy, somewhat charred construction of their pizzas. Our table ordered five different pies. Across the board the number one favorite was the Moriarty Yardsale. It had an olive oil and garlic base with artichoke hearts, prosciutto, mozzarella, fresh basil and cracked pepper. Yum! The Cuban pizza was pretty good, too. Pulled BBQ pork, onions, green peppers and smoked mozzarella. Even though it was quite crowded and it took quite a long time to get a table, the service was good. Our waitress was attentive and kept the beers coming. BTW, I found the light bodied Cold Trail was a perfect compliment to the complex flavors of their pizzas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Delicious flatbread & great suggestion by server for beer on tap!

Happened to visit on a Thursday night and enjoyed Trivia. We'll make a point of going again on that evening and actually participating!

Great find.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain State Brewing Co. also viewed

 
Oakland, Garrett County
McHenry, Garrett County
 

Been to Mountain State Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing