We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Flat Breads!”

Mountain State Brewing Co.
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Flat Breads!”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Living in Frostburg, MD, we frequent this place quite a bit. Best pizza (wood burning), beer, and atmosphere. During the winter months, it feels like a nice, warm rustic cabin. In the summer months, its great to sit outside and enjoy the atmosphere. I highly recommend this place if in the cumberland - morgantown area. You will not be disappointed. For one of their brewed beers, I recommend Coal Miners Oatmeal Stout.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    194
    77
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Snowy day”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A little out of the way, especially in bad weather. Menu was limited, but if you like hearth baked flatbreads, you're in luck. The beer (stout) was ok, but a little light bodied.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank antiquer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great selection of pizza, service a bit lacking”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had picked Mountain State because of recommendations from family. Arriving on a cold night after skiing, we were greeted by a young host and soon showed our table. The interior is rustic cabin timber framed construction with stained finish concrete floors. That provides a good look for a resort such as Wisp. The place seems to be kid and casual friendly throughout. Service was a bit slow, on a slow night and there seemed to be no one in charge of the floor. We were brought cold wet pizza plates that we sent back to be dried. We chose chicken and vegetarian chili for starters. Both were tasty, a bit hot and pleasing. They lacked the fully cooked texture chili should have and that detracted from the appeal. Pizza was hard to chose since there are so many good choices. We settled on an all cheese and herb variety without tomato sauce. It was very complex in it's taste profile, unusual in a good way. We took the remainder with us as a testament to our satisfaction.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza; service a little disappointing.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I ordered for takeout and was told 25-30 minutes. Had buffalo chicken and plain cheese pizza which were both great! Unfortunately, the pickup time was more like 50 minutes so my family waited in the car the extra 20 minutes while I waited for the food at the bar... Disappointing because I had just picked them all up from the ski slopes and they were ready to get home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WinterBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I Have Ever Had!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Mountain State multiple times now and every time it is amazing. They have classic pizza like pepperoni or a margarita, but they also have new and exciting pizzas such as the Big Casino which has a ranch base with bacon and spinach or the Sweet Kickin' Chicken which has a sweet chili sauce base with chicken, bacon, spinach, onions, and tomatoes AMAZING! The only downside is that after you have their pizza all others will be a disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank Kd O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain State Brewing Co. also viewed

 
Oakland, Garrett County
 

Been to Mountain State Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing