We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family Ski Trip” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Ski Trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We arrived at around 9 pm, got to our room, half the lights did not work, the phones did not work and when we contact reception they simply said you have mobiles don't you.

We said there was going to be 5 of us, yet the room was set up for 4, so every day of our stay we had to ask for extra towels and stuff.

We asked about the activities for the next day and the reception could only say you have to ring this number, we asked about times they said they did not know.

The skiing was great and the ski people were great the hotel was very tired and the staff there seemed very unwilling to help or knew what was actually happening at their own resort.

Ski team a 5 out of 5, the hotel barely a 1

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family of 2 adults and 3 kids, get adjourning rooms they are jsut way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5_Kiwis_in_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    87
    85
    32
    27
See reviews for
128
64
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The ski mountain is very quaint and fine. The hotel is so old and out of date though. I had a single room that looked out onto the mountain and was a good size room, but then I turned to go in the bathroom and the door is tiny! I then went to my sister's room which was a suite and it was like the hotel just added a wall in the middle of my room and called it a suite. I was not impressed. I'm sure there are other hotels in the area that give you a nicer experience and a more comfortable bed and linens. I have to weigh the importance of being on the mountain versus driving and parking but having a nicer vacation rental. I will not return to the hotel, but the mountain I will.

Room Tip: Don't spend the money on the "suite" just get a single room with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

While the rates are a bit pricy, we found the hotel and amenities to be exactly what the family wanted. Very convienent to the slopes and lots of things to do- ice skating, rail ride, pool, game room, lazer tag- great for families. they do allow dogs in some rooms - this was the first time we ever took our dog to a hotel. There was a musty, smell to the room- i would think the extra $50 for the dog would have been enough to clean it sufficiently from the last one but- overall very pleased with the whole weekend. The food court had lots of options- expensive but not surprised by that. The restaurant food was average. I did not think the parking for the hotel was far at all. we had no problem with the room key or early check in.

Room Tip: skip the floor with the dogs unless you are bringing one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The mid week package was a tremendous value for our family of 6. It included lift tickets & lodging for a very reasonable price. The rooms were nice and the access to the mountain facilities was unbeatable.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing mountain is nice, but lake view is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpurvis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked in very late on a Wednesday evening with not much going on. The front desk attendant was rude, not attentive and not very helpful, but that was the last we saw of her. Althogh the room is somewhat dated looking with dim lighting and poor color scheme, the room was extremely clean and located on the second floor near he elevator with a view of the slopes. A plus was the beds and pilows were confortable. I travel extensively and used the extra sheet to cover the blanket and comforter. Not that it was visibly dirty, just a precaution as they aren't changed daily. The room amenities included a 32 inch flat screen TV and a mini fridge and decent wifi free of charge.

A nice touch is they provide you with a ski locker free of charge near the entrance to the chair lift.

The food in both the lodge and DC's bar was decent and very inexpensive when compared to other ski resorts. There are some fun places to go after skiing for apps, dinner and drinks!

Overall, our experience was great, everyone but the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We will certainly return another time.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the building facing the slopes, its closer to the restaurants, indoor pool and skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

they checked us in at noon (the place was pretty bare on this Monday morning). everyone was very very friendly with only one exception. Conditions were unskiiable one day, but the hotel, restaurant, food court, bar, pool, gym were all open regular hours. free storage lockers to hotel guests too

For the price i got exactly what i expect and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check in time is 5pm and check out is noon- so a one day stay is pricey per hour. Parking is not exactly convenient- there are about 3 short term 'unloading' spots near the lobby, so you need to hustle to unpack the car and get the luggage to your room- not easy if you have to make than one trip and young kids. The check-in desk was not user friendly. The clerk kept answering the phones and prolonging the process.
The room was very basic and had seen better days. No closet or wardrobe. No mini-bar, No room service. The latter of which would be fine if the dining options were palatable. The one hotel restaurant had a 45 minute wait at 8pm and the cafeteria was picked over and had less of a selection than the average high school cafeteria.
The pool was closed during our entire stay- a great disappointment to my kids.
The location is the key driver- but as a hotel, it cannot stand on its own merits.

Room Tip: Look at surrounding properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McHenry hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
1.0 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
20.0 mi away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 290 Marsh Hill Rd, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing