We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Family Fun!”
Review of The Lodge at Wisp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Wisp
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The mid week package was a tremendous value for our family of 6. It included lift tickets & lodging for a very reasonable price. The rooms were nice and the access to the mountain facilities was unbeatable.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing mountain is nice, but lake view is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpurvis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 278 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked in very late on a Wednesday evening with not much going on. The front desk attendant was rude, not attentive and not very helpful, but that was the last we saw of her. Althogh the room is somewhat dated looking with dim lighting and poor color scheme, the room was extremely clean and located on the second floor near he elevator with a view of the slopes. A plus was the beds and pilows were confortable. I travel extensively and used the extra sheet to cover the blanket and comforter. Not that it was visibly dirty, just a precaution as they aren't changed daily. The room amenities included a 32 inch flat screen TV and a mini fridge and decent wifi free of charge.

A nice touch is they provide you with a ski locker free of charge near the entrance to the chair lift.

The food in both the lodge and DC's bar was decent and very inexpensive when compared to other ski resorts. There are some fun places to go after skiing for apps, dinner and drinks!

Overall, our experience was great, everyone but the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We will certainly return another time.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the building facing the slopes, its closer to the restaurants, indoor pool and skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

they checked us in at noon (the place was pretty bare on this Monday morning). everyone was very very friendly with only one exception. Conditions were unskiiable one day, but the hotel, restaurant, food court, bar, pool, gym were all open regular hours. free storage lockers to hotel guests too

For the price i got exactly what i expect and more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check in time is 5pm and check out is noon- so a one day stay is pricey per hour. Parking is not exactly convenient- there are about 3 short term 'unloading' spots near the lobby, so you need to hustle to unpack the car and get the luggage to your room- not easy if you have to make than one trip and young kids. The check-in desk was not user friendly. The clerk kept answering the phones and prolonging the process.
The room was very basic and had seen better days. No closet or wardrobe. No mini-bar, No room service. The latter of which would be fine if the dining options were palatable. The one hotel restaurant had a 45 minute wait at 8pm and the cafeteria was picked over and had less of a selection than the average high school cafeteria.
The pool was closed during our entire stay- a great disappointment to my kids.
The location is the key driver- but as a hotel, it cannot stand on its own merits.

Room Tip: Look at surrounding properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Think Holiday Inn at the bottom of a ski slope. There is no resort feel to it at all unless you count being able to see a golf course from your window. The basic rooms were drab but clean. Actually too clean, our first room smelled liked an entire bottle of industrial deodorizer had been spilled in it so we asked for new room which they gave us but the second room hadn't actually been cleaned (the bed had been slept in and there was trash on the nightstand). So by the third try they upgraded up to a "luxury suite" which in my opinion was really just a regular room in most nice hotels. The luxury room was much nicer so we were happy to have had all the initial trouble because we really weren't looking forward to staying in the basic rooms. Sort of just had a blah feeling about the whole place. Overall low value because the rooms are overpriced for the actual amenities but I'm sure some people will overlook this for the convenience. If you are a family this is probably a good option, if you are looking for a relaxing, upscale place then I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shanf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Extremely disappointed. Not my idea of a resort AT ALL. Rooms are very outdated.. Check in is 5pm.. So if u are not dressed.. U gotta get dressed in the parking lot, and hopefully it's not muddy like it was for us. They also said we could get a "Early" check in.. NOT. Also. ALTOUGH it does state on web site u need to reserve snow tubes, which we didn't read which is our fault.. But.. When we made reservations I feel as though they should have made sure we knew that ahead of time. We get there after a three hour ride, with three children that had to change in the parking lot.. ( In the mud ) Walk it seemed a pretty good distance to get to the snow tubing section for them to tell us there were no more tubes for the DAY!!!!!!! Not very happy. Do not think we will go to this resort ( if u wanna call it that ) again.
If you are young, no kids.. This is for u!! But it's not a 5 star by NO MEANS! I would give it maybe a 1. 2 if its not a muddy day. LOL. Just make sure u READ all the details before u book your room!!!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAVENSFANFORLIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Staying at the hotel makes a quick ski trip much easier. Each room gets a locker next to the main lift, and it is easy to check in, rent equipment and do some night skiing, and roll out of bed and onto the lift the next morning. Hotel is basic for the price, but convenience trumped value for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelRayMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
0.7 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
16.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
113 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Pointe Inn
Lake Pointe Inn
#1 of 2 in McHenry
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Wisp

Address: 290 Marsh Hill Rd, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541-1402 (Formerly Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range: $88 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Wisp 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Lodge at Wisp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing