We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lock on our door broke and they declined to fix it...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Ashburn, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The lock on our door broke and they declined to fix it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband had to go up and down to the lobby twice to get new room keys when they randomly stopped working, then the dead bolt knob wouldn't work and the bolt was frozen in the locked position. The only way to close the door from the outside was to use the key. Traci came up to evaluate the situation, agreed it needed fixing and referred it to the engineer on duty. She said he checked it, but he said it was our fault because we had the deadbolt on, and he went home. We had to deal with it the rest of our stay. Also one of the keys to the ski locker was poorly cut; it took 4 people to get it into the lock (rm 670.)

My lift ticket fell of my jacket 45 minutes before my ski time was over, and since it took me 20 minutes to get it replaced, I lost ski time. I saw lift tickets on the grounds and slopes at least 8 times in 36 hours. Obviously there is an issue with the fasteners that should be addressed. I recommend you use two fasteners to avoid this problem.

Room was fine, restaurants ok, too. Kids liked pool and arcade.

Room Tip: Slope side is nice if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    84
    81
    30
    25
See reviews for
121
62
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went here with low expectations and was SURPRISED! we stayed in a queen suite in the tower. nice room. kids had a ball! now my room keys did stop working every now and again like another reviewer said and the room staff was a little abrasive. this place is a little pricey! For this price I would hope for a little more bells and whistles. skiing and tubing is priced well. all in all had a great time. I normally do not stay in hotels but this was a last minute trip and all the houses around the slopes were rented. so I give a passing grade....if the kids are happy we are happy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudeboy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lottsburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Single dad just back from a Wisp trip with three kids, 13/14/16. Everyone had a fun time, I'd highly recommend it for a family trip- it you don't have kids I'd skip this review.

We were there three days, and every employee was surprisingly friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the fireplace suits, which sleeps four. The rooms are pretty plain, but functional and spacious. Plenty of floor space for air mattresses if you have a large crew. A negative is that the floor lamps uses florescent bulbs, so it's not the best lighting. Sounds silly, but if we go again I'm bringing a few light bulbs with me.

The suite comes with a small fridge (3 feet high), microwave, coffee maker, kitchen sink and kitchen table. If you want to save a few dollars and have some meals in the room, keep in mind that there are no utensils or plates. I'd suggest bringing some paper plates, cups, plastic table ware, napkins/paper towels, a knife and a microwave save container for heating food. They provide enough coffee for three cups, and there is coffee available for free in the lobby. Free wi-fi is available in the room and around the resort.

The prices at the restaurants on site were reasonable, they don't charge a convenience premium. The bar also had a great happy hour deal with a $1.50 beer from 4-7. The ski shop was also reasonable, the temp dropped so we bought balaclavas there after shopping around in town. They had the lowest price.

If you are a pizza lover, go to Brendas. Best pizza we've had in a long time, and it's a few minutes drive down 219. (Take a right, it's on the right above the Subway).

Activity suggestions: Nice indoor pool, bring a suit. Ice skating rink is very small, not for bigger kids or adults. The mountain coaster is fun, but going on it twice was plenty. Tubing is great, but call ahead if you go on a busy day. They can tell you how full a time slot is, or if you should get a reservation. They have two hour blocks, or open sessions (5-9) after 5. Skiing is good for beginners to advanced intermediate.

From Arlington the trip was just over three hours with a gas stop and no commuter traffic.

Enjoy!




, the prices at the restaurants on site we

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ontheriverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had so much fun skiing at Wisp but my experience was ruined by the horrible hotel. First, the room keys stopped working randomly throughout the weekend. We kept having to ride the elevator up and down to get new room keys from the front desk that may or may not work. This wasn't really a big deal, but it was very annoying and wasted a lot of time. Second, the maids took sealed food items from our room and threw it away. We asked them why they did that and they said they thought it was trash. Why would sealed food products on our table be trash? Also the maids were just incredibly rude to us every time we encountered them. I've never been treated so poorly by hotel workers in my life. Third and lastly, the wifi connection was horrible. I tried getting online multiple times throughout the weekend but could not. I was totally dissatisfied by the service I received at the Wisp Resort Hotel. The slopes were great but I would recommend anyone going skiing there to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McHenry hotels

Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We read reviews before going and, frankly, had low expectations. Sadly, even those low expectations were too high. So much so, that we turned a two night stay into a one night stay. Rooms were OK, but what was really bad is that it was full of high-school and college kids. This is NOT a family resort, it's a college fraternity weekend hang-out, which is great, if you're in college or high-school! Rooms seem to have plywood as you can hear everything in the rooms next door and in the hallway. And of course, given the "fraternal" atmosphere, from 2:00-3:00 am it was party, party, party. Perhaps we stayed here on the “wrong” weekend, but it seemed most of the kids are frequent guests. I will say one positive was the private ski lessons for the kids. The instructor was fantastic and kids really enjoyed learning from him. However, overall, we were more than happy to leave.

Room Tip: Lower your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are looking for a quick getaway to do some sking and have a hotel on premise that is convinient then WISP is a good choice. We have a queen suite with 2 kids and was fine but very small rooms. Was disappointed that all the trails were not open as it snowed for 3 days and appeared to have plenty of snow but then again I am not sure how those decisions are made. Lots to do for kids and the restaurant DCs is not bad.
New Years Eve was VERY disappointing as the Lodge did nothing for the guests except for a band playing. If they want to have a New Years Eve worth talking about they need to provide a New Years Eve party. I beleive everyone would pay something for that.
So All in All would do it again knowing what I know and again would recommend for a few night stay and some skiing

Room Tip: For extra money I would go with the room that sleeps 6 instead of 4. I beleive bigger and does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our experience at the Wisp was less than favorable. Kids ran up and down the hallways at all hours of the night. Doors slammed throughout the night, which didn't fare well with the sleep that I would have liked to have had. Even in the afternoon, the maid service would be screaming up and down the hall--so forget about a nap to make up for the sleep you didn't get the night before. At $235 a night, this is a total ripoff. The rooms are old and there is nothing fancy about the room. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and am willing to pay top dollar--however, this room should only have been around $100 a night, at the most, based on what you got. They say that the bed was a queen--it was more like a full size bed.

We went tubing at 11---the lines were incredible. I saw people with tickets from the day before in the lines--no wonder they were crowded. We did enjoy snow mobiling, although that was quite expensive for only 30 minutes of ride time.

Next time, we are going to check out other options in where to stay...I definitely would not recommend staying at the Wisp!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
1.0 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 290 Marsh Hill Rd, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing