We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenienent to the slopes but I'd rather drive and stay somewhere else” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Convenienent to the slopes but I'd rather drive and stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2008

This was a barely acceptable room; very basic and not well-maintained or updated. Think 80's era roadside chain motel. Housekeeping and service in general was less than adequate. The indoor pool was large and in decent enough shape. The restaurant was OK, and there is a breakfast buffet in the cafeteria to speed up mornings. Be aware that no alcohol is served on Sunday. The bar is closed and I don't think the restaurant serves alcohol either. Next time we head to Wisp we will stay elsewhere. Parking seems to be fairly good and convenienent to the slopes.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overall cleanliness and quality, inconvenient ski lockers
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surfermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    87
    86
    32
    28
See reviews for
130
64
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King George, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

This was our first visit to Wisp. Our family of four stayed for a ski weekend. The queen suite was a perfect setup for parents and 2 kids. The room is set up with a separate bedroom with queen bed, desk and tv. The living area has a queen murphy bed, love seat, 2 chairs and tv. When the bed is up, there is a fold down table. When the murphy bed was down, the room was a little tight. Our room was clean and comfortable. I was told by a friend to request a recently renovated room. The only negative on the room was the lack of closet space. There is a ski locker provided for each room. DC's restaurant was outstanding. The ski lodge food court had numerous choices and the prices were far more reasonable than other ski lodges we had visited. The ski conditions were not the best due to warming temps but the facilities were good. The new mountain coaster was awesome! We are looking forward to going back.

  • Liked — The room layout.
  • Disliked — No balcony or window that opens.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank doodledogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

The only thing worse to coming back to an awful hotel room after a day of snowboarding is coming back to the awful hotel room with no hot water. The bizarre room layout included two uncomfortable double beds in one area with a Murphy bed in the other. The overall feel of the hotel was "Dorm Room Chic"...fine for college kids heading to the slopes but don't expect more than that. One bonus is the fact that the room was so bad that it kept us on the slopes all day. Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mdkrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McHenry hotels

Annapolis, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

As you read this, please do *not* discount this review and say to yourself "we'll take our chances with the hotel." *DONT*

What you will *not* get:

1) Hot Water
2) Clean Sheets
3) Clean Rooms
4) Helpful Staff
5) Quiet Environment

Our stay was to enjoy the adjoining mountain, which is fantastic for an East coast resort. The hotel allowed under age kids (no less than 100 this weekend) run around the halls until 3am, without any supervision or authority. The rooms are dirty and do no resemble any description provided on the website.

ABSOLUTELY go to WISP and enjoy the mountain; but *at all costs* avoid the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank annapolismdkrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We were in town for a wedding, and although the rate was great and the staff was friendly, the room was atrocious! In the 2 nights we were there, we managed to kill EIGHT flies. The carpets looked like they hadn't been cleaned in ages, the layout of the room was strange, the bathroom/sink area was barely large enough for one person, and the bed (with only 2 pillows on it) was hard as a rock! One would definitely expect more from a 'resort' The kicker--we were in the newer part of the resort! The saving grace was the wedding itself held at the resort, it was beautiful and the food was very good.

  • Liked — The event we attended
  • Disliked — everything else!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank hotelsnob33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

We stayed for one nite on July 28. We had a family reunion in Deep Creek. The Hotel was nice. Staff were helpful. The pool was nice with a hot tub. Pool was 3 to 9 foot deep. The room was basic. We had a king bed. The room was partitioned into two parts with a fold down bed on the wall, which I never checked.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon_Corbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

All Wisp staff were very pleasant, helpful and always smiling. Ski lift operators and equipment staff offered more information on any area without hesitation. Very knowledgeable. The only drawback to the Wisp was the condition of the room. Although "clean" from a dust or orderly sense, the odor of stale smoke, mildew and dust permeated the fabrics in the room. Bedding and window treatments need replacement quickly! The carpet in this particular room made me regret not bringing shower shoes. The carpet stains ranged in size from a few inches to several feet around. This room on the third floor needs renovation and updating. I would expect to find this type of room in a numbered motel on a major highway for less than half the $169. per night rate. We will not return to the Wisp unless we check out the room beforehand or it is totally renovated.
Our stay was for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday. Extremely disappointed with the room.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank wccfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
0.8 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Grantsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 290 Marsh Hill Rd, Deep Creek Lake, McHenry, MD 21541-1402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wisp Hotel Mchenry
Wisp Resort Mchenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing