We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The waterfront views were what impressed us the most”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 McDaniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The waterfront views were what impressed us the most”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

After travelling three hours to celebrate our 40th anniversary, we found that Wades Point Inn was well worth the trip.

The Main House was lovely with a very welcoming staff & proprietor.

Having requested a first floor room, we were directed to Kemp Guest House. The room was handicap accessible with beautiful decor and a bay window with a view of the water and our own private porch. The view was breathtaking topped by gorgeous sunsets in the evening.

Breakfast was served in the Bay Room of the Main House. Homemade muffins and biscuits were delicious. May want to consider quiche or breakfast casserole as an alternate entree choice.

Overall, we couldn't have felt more welcome highlighted by the peaceful waterfront location. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stitcher40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    48
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
26
145
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Sure, Saint Michaels has plenty bed and breakfasts right in town, but not with much of a view, and at much higher prices. Wades Point Inn, on the other hand is only a couple miles beyond town (easy access to shopping, boating, restaurants, etc.) but also affords you an incredible view of the Chesapeake. I have stayed there three times, all yielding positive experiences. For us DC folks, less than a 2-hour jaunt. Variety of rooms. Friendly/helpful staff. Breakfast includes freshly baked muffins and an egg creation (among other things). Leave the big city behind (TVs, phones, etc.) and escape! Open the windows and let the breeze blow in off of the point! Relax by the water or travel from porch to porch. Very enjoyable; I have recommended Wades Point to many friends.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2DBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Wish I had read the reviews before I booked the place.

Yes, the view was spectacular .We came to meet a group of our friends for a wedding. We had fun because our group always has fun when we are together. But the concept of a B&B was forgotten by the owners.
First, we were charged a group tip fee without being told about it. What is that? because we were a group attending a wedding.?We all booked separately. Perhaps they are afraid the tip will be too small. Maybe if they had not done this the tip would have been better!
The manager told one couple they could not watch tv in the breakfast room (early in the morning with no one else there!).
At breakfast the next day when we were finishing up our conversation before we left for various partsof the east coast, we were asked to move somewhere else so others could sit. There was plenty of room for everyone. Isn't the idea of the B&B to sit with others as if you were family? Most of us were in chairs not even at the table.
Breakfast was the same both days. No variety. I make better brunches!
Go somewhere else!

  • Liked — The view t-he friends
  • Disliked — The hospitality or lack of it!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NjBeachmom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmwpi, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
So glad you found the room nice and the view fabulous. Would like to know what extras you were looking for. More ice certainly is available if we had known. Clearly we missed the boat in our communications. As extras we offer use of kayaks, bicycles, fishing poles, crab lines,indoor and outdoor games and internet access. We are making changes to our breakfasts. While we have used local farm fresh eggs when available we are incorporating more ingredients grown here on the farm.

Thanks for your input. While the group tip charge is on our website you should have been informed. In considering your input we have changed our policy to be applicable to rooms paid as a group, rather than booked as a group and paid individually.
We love groups, reunions, friends getting together for a good time though it is a challenge to keep the fun from not being fun for the singles and couples who are enjoying the peace and quiet. We will suggest a move to one of the many comfortable common areas when the group conversation becomes too loud for our other guests.

Same with the TV , you should only have been asked to not use if we were anticipating guests to be there momentarily. Since the majority of our guests are glad to have a break from TV noise we keep them low-key but we are considering adding a 3rd TV in living room to increase options during the breakfast hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

We arrived at Wades point early afternoon. After asking lots of what we thought important questions ie "is there coffee or tea facillities, do you have afternoon snacks," etc. We were given a pot of hot water to make our own tea. Luckily we had brought our own cookies.
We also thought the rooms were very basic,Cold!!!, no plugs in the sinks one very dirty plug in our friends room, lots of left over long hair from the previous guests, no coat hangers, hair dryer or bottled water or even tea or coffee makers.
The next day we came back to the B/B only to find there was a wedding in progress. Now weddings to us spell trouble, we were unable to use all of the facillities. The beautiful sun lounge was out of bounds as this was where the reception was being held, we could not walk around the grounds as this was taken over by the wedding ceremony and as we had had such a busy day sightseeing we were all rather tired only to be greeted by very loud music from the wedding. When we booked our weekend we were not told the B/B was hosting a wedding.
The breakfast was also very poor, we were given bacon that had been cut into three pieces, very small portions of cereal that was already put in the bowls for us. Bread rolls were brought out a few at a time. We even had to clear our own table.
We felt we were taking food that did not belong to us, we seemed to have to ask for every thing as it was brought from the kitchen in such small amounts.
The setting was perfect shame about the rest.!!!

  • Liked — Views From Room
  • Disliked — facilities and service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grant266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmwpi, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Oh gosh, how unfortunate. The needs of a group don't often mesh with the needs of our individual guests. For this reason we generally require weddings to book the whole inn. You were here when we had the rare 'walk down' wedding and it just didn't work. We would have happily moved you to a room away from the music.
The sink problem, hair and lack of hair dryer is completely unacceptable and we wish we had known about it prior to you spending your time with it. We do seek to meet our guests needs so they can relax and be restored by the natural beauty and peace. As of this writing in the season of 2011, we have greatly improved our breakfasts so please try us again and feel free to let us know what you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

Two out of five is a "mercy" rating. This was the worst B&B experience I've had in about ten stays. For starters, our room was very small, had no closet space whatsoever, unless you count an impractical foot-wide cubby next to the bathroom shower. There was a second sink in the bedroom (!) with a bare spot in the porcelain the size and shape of an average pickle. The room had white wallpaper with tiny flowers and was trimmed all around in baby blue; I felt like I was staying in an infant's nursery. There were painted pipes along one section of the floor (leading to the aforementioned sink), and a cracked window pane or two. The floor was wood, but painted in a pink or salmon shade. There was a white wicker chair, wicker end table with drawers and a blue-and-white chest of drawers with a mirror; to look in it, you'd have to bend over since it was about waist-high.

The bathroom was obviously recently refurbished. It was also a bit small, lacked any meaningful shelf space and its window had only a valence and a waist-high curtain, so your activities could potentially be observed by interested outsiders. The shower head's plastic insert had a noticeable coating of rust, and the water smelled rusty (although it was clear). The sink water also smelled rusty if you stuck your nose in it. Other rooms also had visible rust on their shower heads and smelly water, so my guess is that the place's entire water supply has an iron problem. Not good. (To be fair, for all I know this could be a problem of the entire region.)

We were never greeted by the owners and the place felt more like a hotel than a B&B. Believe it or not, the guestrooms can't be locked from the outside, so your belongings aren't exactly safe and secure. (By the way, and to be fair, some of the more expensive rooms looked a lot nicer and more spacious than the one we booked.)

The buffet-style breakfast was the chinciest I've ever had at a B&B. If I remember correctly, the entire menu was: orange juice, coffee, tea, granola, milk, two kinds of muffin, fruit salad, and a kind of crustless quiche, cut into three-inch squares with about a teaspoonful of diced bacon on each one. To get one strip of bacon you'd have to eat about a dozen eggs. No desserts, not even a cheese danish or cookie. Pretty lame.

On the plus-side, the room's air conditioner worked well, and the grounds, balconies, first floor common areas, dining room, etc. were quite nice. The location is right next to the water and highly desirable. It could be a great spot under different management. As it stands, however, I'd recommend you avoid Wade's Inn like the plague.

  • Liked — The grounds.
  • Disliked — The room.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrpaladin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

If you are looking to get away from it all and enjoy the peaceful views of the bay, then Wades Point Inn is for you. There were plenty of porches and lounge chairs scattered around the property to sit and relax. The best seat is the large hammock under a large pine tree next to the bay. I stayed in the newer guest house and had a good sized room with a queen bed, central air, and private bath. The room had a balcony for two with sunset views. There was not a tv or telephone in the room but that was the reason I was there. The room was clean and the housekeeper even cleaned out my hairbrush that I had left out on the dresser. Breakfast was fresh fruit, granola cereal, homemade muffines and biscoti, and a warm egg dish. It was good but not gourmet. The town of St. Michael's is only about a 5 minute drive. I would definitely stay here next time I go back to the Eastern Shore.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travel76Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

A group of a dozen women took over the Farmhouse and had the best time ever. Everyone was wonderful and just could not do enough for us. the view is spectacular, amenities abundant, and the soft crabs at nearby Chesapeake landing the best ever.

  • Liked — value and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank airforcemom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McDaniel
4.8 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
6.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
5.1 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.3 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#5 of 13 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in St. Michaels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wades Point Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wades Point Inn on the Bay

Property: Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Address: 10090 Wades Point Rd, McDaniel, St. Michaels, MD 21647-9749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels > McDaniel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McDaniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Wades Point Inn on the Bay 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from St. Michaels on the Chesapeake Bay, our inn is an easy getaway from Washington D.C., Baltimore, and Philadelphia. A stroll around the grounds of the inn provides an opportunity to experience a graceful, historic location that is almost like a trip back to another era of hospitality and gracious living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Wades Point Inn on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wades Point Inn On The Bay Hotel Mcdaniel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing