We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away, great views, and good hospitality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 McDaniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great get away, great views, and good hospitality.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our road rally group of 4 couples used this inn as our base in the lovely St. Michaels area. The inn is part of an old farm with great water views; we found a variety of comfortable gathering spots, comfortable and charming rooms, and a delicious breakfast. If you have any mobility issues, you might prefer the newer building; otherwise enjoy the original inn with its authentic narrow steps. Reasonably priced for this upscale area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vickilu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    49
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
28
161
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wonderful setting overlooking the Bay. Close to St. Michaels and the attractions yet separated and quiet and peaceful-no road noise. Walk the nature trail , ride a bike and paddle the kayaks and take a nap in a hammock- which I did. A needed time to unwind from the hectic pace of life and reflect on the beauty of creation. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Food was very good. Only slight concern was the water is Eastern shore water which is high in minerals --which means it tastes different than Baltimore area water.

Room Tip: the Kemp house has upscale rooms and they are worth the price---other rooms are nice, comfortable an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wade's Point Inn is a bed and breakfast located about 4-5 miles outside of St. Michael's, MD. It's made up of a main house and some cottages, and we stayed in the main house, which is very old-- built in about 1809. The original house was built by a shipbuilder, and then added on to, and some of the additions connect in odd ways, but it has been a resort/inn for over 100 years, so it's not like the family-home-turned-into-a-B&B kind of place.

Because the inn is located right on a point of land that juts into the Chesapeake Bay, the views are spectacular, You are right on the water-- as in I could have thrown a rock into the Bay from my room-- and can see sunsets from one window and sunrises from another. This is not the place to go if you want to walk to restaurants and shops. but it is great if you want to sit on the porch and read, or go for a hike, or kayak on the Bay (they provide kayaks), or nap in a hammock and otherwise get away from it all. There are no phones or TVs in the rooms (that I saw, anyway); there is wifi, although it doesn't reach all the rooms. You can always take your laptop to the breakfast room, which has windows and water views on three sides. Our room was small, but we weren't in it that much. so that wasn't a problem.

The food was good, with an emphasis on meat and dairy products from local farmers. There was a cheese pie (basically a quiche) one morning and a southwest casserole the next day. Both days there were extras, besides the egg dish-- either biscuits or croissants, bacon or sausage, fruit, granola, yogurt, and OJ, as well as coffee and tea, You help yourself so there's no problem having a full meal.

The staff was very friendly and our room was spotless, plus there's a sweet little beagle named Lucy roaming around, who was always happy to say hello. The only negatives are in accessibility. Our room was on the third floor and the stairs for the last flight were very narrow and steep. Also, there are places where the floors aren't even, and there are unexpected steps. It wasn't too bad except when we had to carry the luggage up, but if you are elderly or have mobility issues, I would recommend saying so when you make a reservation and make sure they give you a room that's easy to get to. Also ask about the bath; not all rooms in the main house have private baths, and the claw-foot tubs are great for soaking but can be hard to climb in and out of.

Lots of history, lots of charm, good food, and a beagle! We had a great time!

Room Tip: Be sure you tell them if you need help with stairs! Also, the claw-foot bathtubs can be hard to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandAnglophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This property is outstanding...you cannot beat the views! Totally serene and quiet, gorgeous views of the bay and well kept grounds. We stayed in the main house, which was charming! There are so many little nooks (sitting rooms, porches, balconies, hammocks, chase lounges) to relax in.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly (the trip was for my mom's birthday...and waiting in our room was a birthday card and freshly baked cookies)! Our room was very clean and the bed was really comfy.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with lots of options (some from a local farm) and the breakfast room is just lovely.
We also enjoyed the kayaks and bikes that were provided for guest use--I know my husband (who could live outdoors) will love this place!
The property is about a ten minute drive from lovely St. Michael's...but I bet you could spend an entire weekend just relaxing here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Wades Point Inn is in a lovely location right on the bay. The grounds are pretty and relaxing as is the main house. We chose a room with a great view and we had a glass of wine and watched the sun go down that was very nice. The rooms were fine but not special. The tap water tasted terrible and there was no bottled water available in the room. In my mind, at the price we paid,a couple of bottles of water is the least they could do since the tapwater tastes bad. The buffet breakfast was mediocre and the hot food was not kept hot so it was room temperature by the time we arrived for breakfast. It basically felt like a Holiday Inn Express experience (although the breakfast might be better at the Holiday Inn) but in a lovely location. I think they should visit other top B & B's in this price range to find out what service and amenities can really be like. It would definitely be a great spot to rent for a weekend event like a reunion or wedding as the grounds are great for relaxing and socializing but you'd still need to work around the bad breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sunset view cost more, but it's the best part of the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahkgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Location, location, location. If you want to get away from it all for a bit and love the outdoors, this is the place for you. The water surrounds you on three sides and it is so quiet you can relax and be in a peaceful, happy state before you know it. The sunsets were beautiful over the water. One night, after dinner in St Michael's, we went to the back of the main house and did some star gazing. I felt like we were out West in one of the national parks. The stars were countless and we could see the Milky Way.

The room was fine, the staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was yummy. Most of all though, we loved the view and the peace we felt during our visit. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house in the Victorian section. We looked at the rooms in the newer building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betsy f, Owner at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back at a future date to do some more incredible star gazing. We agree, it is indeed like being in Big Sky Montana!
John Bozman Leeds owned this property for a time in the 1800's and he was a noted astronomer who, as we understand it, had an observation tower here on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Wades Point Inn was amazing! My wife purchased a Groupon deal for this place and stole me away for the weekend for my birthday. Man, what a great surprise it was! It's conveniently located nearby St. Michael's, MD, but still far enough away that you felt secluded and comfortable. The building was old and charming but still had enough modern conveniences that we were comfortable. We were able to disconnect from technology and just enjoy ourselves for the weekend. It was truly fantastic! The staff is friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was tasty and filling, the rooms were charming, the location was amazing! We were able to lounge in a hammock, right on the bay, and just enjoy nature. They even provide bicycles for exploring the property and kayaks for going out on the water. I couldn't have asked for better! My only complaint: the bed was a little old and rickety and the mattress wasn't that comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idPrescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McDaniel
4.8 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
6.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
459 reviews
15.9 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
4.8 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
342 reviews
4.3 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wades Point Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wades Point Inn on the Bay

Property: Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Address: 10090 Wades Point Rd, McDaniel, St. Michaels, MD 21647-9749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels > McDaniel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McDaniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:1 star — Wades Point Inn on the Bay 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from St. Michaels on the Chesapeake Bay, our inn is an easy getaway from Washington D.C., Baltimore, and Philadelphia. A stroll around the grounds of the inn provides an opportunity to experience a graceful, historic location that is almost like a trip back to another era of hospitality and gracious living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Wades Point Inn on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wades Point Inn On The Bay Hotel Mcdaniel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing