We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great, but thats about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 McDaniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location was great, but thats about it.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The location and building itself were AMAZING. An amazing view, super quiet and relaxing. My husband and I spent hours outside in the hammocks overlooking the water. Everything else was just ok. The rooms were ancient and the bathrooms were separate from the rooms so you have to walk down the hall to go. The breakfast was disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsprague610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Well we are glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and spectacular views.
Ancient? Well we are getting there but still have a few centuries to go. As seen on our website it is named the 1890 Victorian Summer wing. Don't know if you chose this room for price or if thats all we had available at the time. Just 3 of our 26 rooms have the bathroom down the hall. With 4 buildings from 4 time periods we are usually able to match our guests to a room they can be comfortable in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    48
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
28
155
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a wonderful place! The grounds are so relaxing you can just gaze out over the water and forget about life for a while. We stayed for 3 nights in the newer building for the privacy and were very happy with large room and great balcony view of the Bay. No TV or phone as it's intended to be a getaway not a hotel. There are activities and plenty of places to just do nothing.
The breakfast was homemade and delicious and resembles a country meal where you take your time. It's not a hotel chain buffet.

The owner and staff are delightful making the wonderful experience complete!

Room Tip: Be sure to look at all the room choices online to find the one that fits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudyfs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank-you for takin the time to write such a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Where do I even begin with my experience at Wades Point...The view is just ABSOLUTELY gorgeous, the rooms were very nice & clean, the staff was like family and Lucy and sometimes you'll see Chester running around are a lovely touch to the Inn.

We had our wedding here in early September and we had over 45 guests staying at the Inn with us - it was a full house. Everyone had a wonderful time. Betsy and her staff were amazing to work with, super accommodating of everything and everyone was just happy to see them every day. The breakfast was delicious as well - home cooked and delish! Despite a tornado ruining the tent and outdoor reception - we still had a great party indoors with our 90 guests! I will always remember Wades Point Inn and can't wait to come back soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Yes a most memorable wedding! We don't usually offer that kind of fun LOL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardners, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the Duck Room in the 1890 Main House four nights. The room was exactly like the picture on their website, great views of the bay from four windows. The bed was comfy and room was clean. Breakfast was great-many choices from fruit, yogart, one morning had a great french toast casserole, another morning was egg & mushroom dish another was egg omelete with veggies. Property had much to offer with the screened in porches and lots of seating both inside and outside. Hubby loved the fishing dock and catch and release fishing. We even saw a camera shy bald eagle each morning, watched ospray catching fish, blue herons walking along the rock retaining wall and of course, Lucy the beagle dog. I didnot see holes in the screen as other posts stated or needed repairs. Keep in mind that this is a older home and things were not build square as our modern homes which I thought added to the charm of our visit.

Room Tip: We picked the Duck Room because of the views out two directions since it is a corner room. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaasfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
betsy f, General Manager at Wades Point Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank-you! Fishing has been great this year, glad your husband could enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location of the Wades Point Inn is beautiful. The Inn is beautiful. Our room was very large with a small kitchenette and a direct view of the bay. There are no TV's in the rooms though. It is very quiet and serene there. The breakfast is very dainty. Not the place for big eaters. We were looking forward to kayaking but after all the storms the boats were filled with bugs which didn't work out so well for our family. The highlight for our family was playing with the kittens at the house down the lane from the Inn. The place is really beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaicaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Attended a wedding of friends last weekend and really enjoyed the new feeling of everything so new and nice. The wedding reception was ran so professionally and we all got our meal together. The breakfast the next morning was Delicious and we found staff very helpful..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternRossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is our favorite getaway location without the kids. Bring your bikes with you, the roads are all flat and very scenic - Do the 7 mile drive south to Tilghman Island, or drive the mikes the 30 minutes to Cambridge or the Blackwater National Wildlife refuge - a must-see for outdoors people. The Inn is peaceful, the food is wonderful and the views are spectacular. A short drive or bike ride to historic St. Michaels is also a must. Fall is one of the best times to visit - no crowds, warm temps.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCLDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McDaniel
4.8 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
6.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
443 reviews
15.9 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
4.8 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
332 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Bay Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 13 in St. Michaels
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wades Point Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wades Point Inn on the Bay

Property: Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Address: 10090 Wades Point Rd, McDaniel, St. Michaels, MD 21647-9749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels > McDaniel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McDaniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wades Point Inn on the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from St. Michaels on the Chesapeake Bay, our inn is an easy getaway from Washington D.C., Baltimore, and Philadelphia. A stroll around the grounds of the inn provides an opportunity to experience a graceful, historic location that is almost like a trip back to another era of hospitality and gracious living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Wades Point Inn on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wades Point Inn On The Bay Hotel Mcdaniel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing