We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 McDaniel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This place may be a little pricey, but every dollar is absolutely worth it! The people are friendly, the views breathtaking, and the rooms are extremely cozy. It would be so easy to just sit out on the balcony and listen to the rhythm of the waves as they lap onto the shore. At night, there are hundreds of fireflies out in the fields, which was amazing to see. This place is a few miles out of town, which makes the setting even more desirable. There's no traffic noise at night, just the sounds of nature. This is probably one of the most peaceful and relaxing places I have ever been to. We did not want to leave, and we all hope that we can make it back someday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 259 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

This B&B was a nice respite from a hectic week, and a very simple and romantic place to get away. Simple rooms with very comfortable beds and a small balcony that overlooks the water and a field lit up by fireflies at night. The bullfrogs and other critters put on a symphony of nature's best noises overnight.

The property has nice amenities including a hammock, lawn chairs, bikes for the taking etc.

While the coffee was good, the breakfast was a disappointment - not really up to B&B quality or quantity. And at that price I was expecting a nice spread.

Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hammerabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We visited Wades point several years ago while living in the DC region and being back in the area it was a perfect choice for an anniversary weekend. The property is just out of St. Michaels so it's away from the tourist traffic and the historic house and surrounding grounds transform you to a different place.

The rooms in the main house (our favorite) are reached by a creaky narrow staircase and overlook the bay and the Wades Point lawns. The Sunset room is well named by providing a great view of the sunset over the water.

Breakfast is served in the ground floor big room and the country cooking, fresh fruit, yoghurt and great coffee are a great way to start the day. You can relax on the grass and lounges or rocking chairs on the verandah, the pace is slow, relaxing and friendly.

St. Michaels and it's many attractions are easily reachable.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Sunset room as long as its not the middle of summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff-The_Ausmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at Wades Point Inn and loved it. Very quiet and great for couples to get away and relax. Right on the Bay providing excellent views. The staff and hostess very friendly and the country breakfast was great.

The location is about 4 miles from St. Michaels so you have no traffic noise.

We stayed in their Kemp House and our room looked directly at the Bay.

Note: there is no TV, telephone or Internet access. Ensure you bring some snacks and something to drink (water, soda or wine) as they use well water.

Would we go back. You bet.

Room Tip: 425 Kemp House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We just got back from a quick, last minute stay at Wades Point Inn on the Bay. It was just what the doctor ordered for a relaxing anniversary getaway without our 2 year old. Set your expectations accordingly, though. This place isn't a pretentious, 5 diamond, luxurious resort. It has no TVs, phones, pool, or spa. But yet - it's perfect. It's absolutely gorgeous, clean, quiet, and utterly enjoyable. Laying in a hammock on the point surrounded by water is a dream. If you can't unplug and relax here then you can't anywhere. My husband was ecstatic to catch 9 rockfish straight off the dock with only a bad of blood worms (compliments of Big Al's) and a rod. The living room is great. They have lots of books and board games available. My husband and I are fairly young (29 and 28). We wanted to enjoy some wine after dinner back at the hotel. If we stayed somewhere else, I guarantee you we would have had the bottle in our room while watching TV. Instead, we enjoyed it in their living room while playing mancala. Perfect. They also had free kayaks and a nature walk to enjoy. We weren't able to this trip but hope to next time.

The ladies working here are sweet, kind, and part of the charm. The dining room is beautiful and the breakfast room has the best view possible of the bay. I found the breakfast perfect: not too big but plentiful choices. There was a yummy sausage strata, French toast casserole, warm croissants and fresh muffins, oatmeal, and locally produced yogurt with berries and granola for parfaits.

We stayed in the duck room in the summer wing. The attached bathroom had been updated and had a wonderful shower head. The bedroom had two beautiful sets of windows looking over the bay. I felt like we were in a treehouse. It was beautiful. The bed was comfortable and the linens were too. They're getting ready to replace the wallpaper in the room as well. Something to note is that the house was built in the early 1800s. It is the opposite of soundproof, but we didn't have any problems.

We already want to go back, and we just left. Luckily it's a short drive from Annapolis!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sschex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My wife and I don't stay at B&B's very often because the prices are usually higher than local hotels and we don't need extensive breakfasts. However, we decided to splurge for her birthday and found Wades Point Inn through the internet. We liked it and will consider going back. It has a GREAT location with wonderful views on a beautiful piece of land.

We stayed in the newer building on the second floor. Our room had a private balcony and was only about 80 feet from the water. We saw a beautiful sunset across the Miles River looking out into the Bay. Our room was clean and attractive with a queen sized bed. The bathroom was nice but ordinary. Yes, the water was a little smelly, but I have lived on farms before so it was no big deal.

Breakfast was good both days; honey flavored yogurt with fresh fruit and granola. The best grits I have ever had and an egg and sausage casserole the first morning. Scrapple, bacon, and egg/cheese pie the second morning. Nice cinnamon raisin oatmeal too.

We toured the main house and really liked the feel of the summer wing; while the rooms were small, they had an old-time feel to them and screen doors to allow for air flow. That was pretty cool.

All in all, we'd come back again and might make it a yearly trip.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonS731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Another wonderful weekend at Wades Point among friends. Have been visiting for over 20 years. Great fishing off the dock and beautiful views. The windy weekend provided great opportunity to watch kite surfers over at Claiborne's landing. Great country breakfasts, and the most welcoming hostess on the eastern shore.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McDaniel
4.8 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
6.3 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
504 reviews
5.1 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Parsonage Inn
Parsonage Inn
#2 of 13 in St. Michaels
348 reviews
5 mi away
The Old Brick Inn
The Old Brick Inn
#1 of 13 in St. Michaels
549 reviews
4.3 mi away
George Brooks House B&B
George Brooks House B&B
#4 of 13 in St. Michaels
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wades Point Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wades Point Inn on the Bay

Address: 10090 Wades Point Rd, McDaniel, St. Michaels, MD 21647-9749
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels > McDaniel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McDaniel
Price Range: $176 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Wades Point Inn on the Bay 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from St. Michaels on the Chesapeake Bay, our inn is an easy getaway from Washington D.C., Baltimore, and Philadelphia. A stroll around the grounds of the inn provides an opportunity to experience a graceful, historic location that is almost like a trip back to another era of hospitality and gracious living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wades Point Inn on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wades Point Inn On The Bay Hotel Mcdaniel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing