We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't waste your evening” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romanos Macaroni Grill

Romanos Macaroni Grill
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tifton, GA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just don't waste your evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Of the ,maybe, four MG's i've been to, this was the worst. We ordered three different wines before, out of frustration, settled for the house blended Chianti (could taste a bit of several reds but not Chianti). Food was as we expected but the portions were very small and the bread was so salty it was almost inedible.
I'm always reluctant to say anything negative about a wait staff youngster as hard as it is to find a good job. Nevertheless, our young woman was very polite but, I think I can fairly say, almost untrained and on the verge of ignorant as to the wine list and menu selections -- and that is the fault of management, always.
Just not as good as the others I've visited.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lever8651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    30
    12
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“family dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Large chain. Go early or call ahead. Food is good and reasonable. Family friendly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dlgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Everything we had was great. Service was very responsive, and I their salads as well as the meal. I do caution it is more traditional seasoning and ingredients than that other "Italian" chain, but it is nice for a change from the ordinary.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Glad They Kept the Classics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The new menu is now on one paper page. It looks like the new additions are okay, but I'm glad they kept some of the classic dishes. Shrimp Portofino, Chicken Parmesan, and Penne Rustica are still delicious. We arrived at noon on a Saturday and within minutes the place was packed and the wait staff was overloaded. But Jesse took good care of us.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hmorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not gourmet but good--fun for the family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a good place to take the kids on a weekend afternoon. There is a wide variety of Italian entrees. You can watch the food being prepared while you wait for your selection.

Our family particularly likes the white paper table coverings and the crayons. We usually go through several rounds of "hangman" before and during the meal. The menu has some heavier selections which have a fair bit of oil and fat, but there are also some lighter more salad based entrees. They are generous with the shrimp in the shrimp dishes. If you order a beef dish you will probably have difficulty getting rare beef.

They serve inexpensive but fairly good table wine. They put it in jars, not traditional wine glasses. If you are eating with a large active family, you appreciate this because the wine or soda jars are less likely to get spilled. while someone is reaching across to put a crayon mark on the hangman game.

I don't usually eat the deserts, but my kids say that desert is good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank divermom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romanos Macaroni Grill also viewed

Lutherville Timonium, MD
 
Lutherville Timonium, MD
Lutherville Timonium, MD
 

Been to Romanos Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing