We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Nice beaches

The walk to the water is not short but the path is mostly wide. There is even a bathroom down very... read more

Reviewed July 31, 2019
naturerules18
,
Morgantown, West Virginia
via mobile
Family Friendly Beach But Get There Early

Calm, shallow waters with plenty of beach makes this a great place for families with young kids as... read more

Reviewed June 22, 2019
SavannahCH
,
Maryland
Read all 112 reviews
  
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
66
35
6
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
66
35
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half mile shark teeth calvert cliffs great beach water was warm hidden gem blue crab fish great place to go pay attention only downfall secluded beach hiking paths beach cart bug spray shallow area labor day
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 112 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2019

Calm, shallow waters with plenty of beach makes this a great place for families with young kids as long as you're prepared.

- It's a 0.5 mile of pavement and gravel from the parking lot to the beach, uphill on the way back. If your little one can't walk that far I'd recommend babywearing over a stroller unless you can carry the stroller over the sand.

- There's almost no shade, bring plenty of sunscreen.

- I did not see bathroom facilities on the beach, but there may be some by the shower you pass about a 100 yards from the water.

- THERE'S A SHOWER. We lived in Hawaii for 4 years, a beach with a shower is a hot commodity. Pro Tip: Bring baby powder to help get the sand off of you before you shower and after as needed.

- Parking is $8 and space is pretty limited. Park opens at 9, we got there at 9:45 and were let in, there were maybe 8 spaces left available and they filled up fast as we were unpacking.

- The sand has a lot of shells and small rocks in it, but it's by no means a rock beach. We brought small beach chairs but the kids did just fine sitting on towels.

This is a great place to search for fossils and ancient teeth from a few different creatures, there's a sign as you get to the beach that shows what you can find. Bring a dollar store sifter and maybe some shovels for the kids to make it easier to search.

There are lots of trails to explore here and plenty of beach to go around. I can definitely see us coming back!

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank SavannahCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

Excellent site for a reasonably athletic hike. Go from the bay to the forest in this state park. With 5-6 miles of trails to cover, some hills, a beach, and some great views, this makes for a good afternoon of hiking. The forest hikes are linked so you can follow the loops for a longer hike. However, they are not well blazed, so pay attention to the well worn path. There is a small nature room, but it was closed the day we were there. Do expect some mud in the low lying areas, especially down by the ponds. The forest trails are not suitable for strollers or wheelchairs. The beach path is wider and easy to traverse. We enjoyed our day out in this lovely park. I would expect it to be a bit buggy in the warmer months however, due to its marshy areas.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank hhjanhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2019 via mobile

Skip calvert cliffs and come here! I’ve been taking my dogs here for years. Take a backpack with some water and snacks. We usually do a hike then head to the beach. Dogs are required to be on leashes. Some do not like this rule but it’s one the reasons I like this park. I don’t have to worry about how other dogs will react with mine. Go early, this park gets crowded. The trails all connect, so check the map to make sure you don’t go further than planned.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank kristena477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

I love this place, take my 3 little girls and when the little one complains about the walk back up, I tell her to man up! We were there on Labor Day and water was warm like a bath, and saw a huge blue crab swimming about 7 inches wide. Then, head over to Solomon's for dinner, great day out..

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Love to explore the "local" beaches. Picked this place based on many reviews and proximity to the DMV.
First of all, we're a hiking/ camping family but this location was more than we bargained for. It is far, far, far from the park entrance to the beach. Prep with lots of bug spray and carry nothing more than what you can fit in your pockets or over your shoulders (our beach cart failed miserably on the sand). While the water was fine, the lack of shade and marshy surroundings made for less than ideal lounging in the sand.
Since this park isn't free, save those dollars and explore elsewhere.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank ECtripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews