We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great hidden gem!

Great park and beach for families with little kids. Walk from the parking spot is about 10 -15 min... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Arlingtonfoodie75
Family Friendly Beach But Get There Early

Calm, shallow waters with plenty of beach makes this a great place for families with young kids as... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
SavannahCH
,
Maryland
Read all 111 reviews
  
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
66
34
6
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
66
34
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half mile shark teeth calvert cliffs great beach water was warm hidden gem minute walk blue crab fish great place to go pay attention public beach only downfall hiking paths beach cart bug spray shallow area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 111 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Love to explore the "local" beaches. Picked this place based on many reviews and proximity to the DMV.
First of all, we're a hiking/ camping family but this location was more than we bargained for. It is far, far, far from the park entrance to the beach. Prep with lots of bug spray and carry nothing more than what you can fit in your pockets or over your shoulders (our beach cart failed miserably on the sand). While the water was fine, the lack of shade and marshy surroundings made for less than ideal lounging in the sand.
Since this park isn't free, save those dollars and explore elsewhere.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ECtripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

This is a beautiful little beach. the parking lot is a half mile from the beach and the beach is not long but it's pretty and there is a pier from which to fish. Many people go there to look for sharks teeth and shells. It's 100% better than going to Calvert Cliffs.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank bbg130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Decided to take grandsons aged 6 and 3 to look for sharks teeth. Very hot and humid day. Very nice park well kept and very nice walk to the beach. Beach very sand and swimming seemed to be very nice (we didn't plan on swimming). The day we were here it was 90+ degrees and very humid. We weren't prepared and had to leave the beach area sooner than planned. Due to my inability to walk to entire way back, the staff offered to give me a back to the parking lot. Very much appreciated. Will definitely go back but when cooler. Lol

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank jbenson8212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

This beach came as a recommendation from a parenting blog.
The good: easy drive from DC proper; cheap admission, gorgeous nature center, friendly staff.
NOT FOR TODDLERS.
Most one year olds can’t walk a half mile so a stroller is a must. 1/2 mile walk through mosquito alley. Push your stroller through sand to get to the beach. Super rocky sand.
What I really didn’t like- we saw five large dead fish float past us, So we left.
This beach would be great for couples or older kids.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

1/2 mile walk to the water. Cost is $7 a car, it's a great place to find shells, and if you are willing to dig and lucky, sharks teeth.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank bgallagherconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews