We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quirky MD Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Orleans Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Orleans Lodge
Save
You added Little Orleans Lodge to your Saves list
Grottoes, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky MD Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Proprietor a most interesting character; very entertaining. We spent more than the usual time because we arrived early & one of us stayed later than normal the next day. Host was very accommodating. Rooms were clean & well furnished. If you like TV or internet, forget it; location is a bit remote. A great find for cyclists & their support person; very serendipitous! No swimming pool but a nearby creek to wade in. Little Orleans, in Allegany Co, is small, rural, & sparsely populated but has beautiful countryside. There is a wonderful view of the Potomac about 3 miles from the lodge; Steve, the host, not only told us about it, he rode with us to see it. He says it's one of the 10 best views anywhere!

Room Tip: Upstairs in main part of lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
8
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here in July as we biked down the C and O, and glad I did. There are few lodging options in Little Orleans, and this one fits the bill. A one time hostel, the place has B and B feel and service. Other reviews are accurate in their description of the level of hospitality: guests that arrived shortly before us were treated to ice cream and a trip into a nearby town, and he keeps a fridge stocked with drinks. The shower water is just right, and the beds very comfortable. One downside is that there are trains that pass through the area regularly during the night which could keep you awake; just shut the bedroom window and you'll sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Little Orleans Lodge is a one-of-a-kind operation that defies categorization. Sort of exactly halfway between a B&B and a motel. Steve and the two other gentlemen running this place are gracious hosts with a wealth of stories between them, and they serve up a world-class breakfast. Please understand before coming here that you will not be getting your own room with a door to shut out the world (unless this has been specifically arranged). And that there are "Rules" posted on the wall. However, this does not dtract from the charm in any way. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the price was excellent. If you are biking, ask the elderly gentleman at the breakfast table for his secret shortcut over the old railroad tracks that will save you 2 miles of the Towpath. Also, don't forget to drop in at Bill's Place for a T-bone steak and a cold beer, all for under $15 (Quentin Tarantino movie atmosphere included).

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank shurjo_sen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Steve was able to arrange for a shuttle from DC to above Paw Paw for us and our bikes on June 11. We were going down to DC to Alexandria. We learned a lot about the area on our ride up and given more information about the C&O Canal. We had a lovely room on the second floor and cold beers in the fridge. Great to sit on porch and overlook grounds. As it had rained a lot the previous week we were very muddy and the hot shower was terrific. Breakfast was very good along with a lot of history provided while we ate. Would definitely recommend for a respite after a day of biking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peppercreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Little Orleans Lodge on our bike trip from DC to Pittsburgh in early June, because of very bad weather and wide spread talk of a predicted approaching tornado with high winds and giant hail coming from the west. The lodge is 1/2 mile from the trail, after finding Bill's place all locked up. Our room was quaint and beautiful, fabulous spacious bath, cold beer or wine, and a deck overlooking the grounds. Steve and John are very friendly and a great resource about the local area. We left filled with an excellent breakfast and some great stories. Would definitely recommend staying at the Lodge. use of laundry facilities is a nice benefit as well. The powerful storm finally did arrive at 7:30 the next morning and we were so glad that we not in the process of breaking our camp at that time. The trail was quite littered with debris for several miles when we finally were able to start on the trail, about 10:00. Happy trails to you!

Gary and Pam

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gary and pam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at Little Orleans Lodge on our bike trip from DC to Pittsburgh. the lodge is 1/2 mile for the trail and a stop at Bill's Place is a must. Our room was beautiful, fabulous spacious bath, deck overlooking the grounds.
Steve andJohn are very friendly and a great resource about the local area. The evening flew by and we left filled with an excellent breakfast and some great stories.
Would definitely recommend staying at the Lodge. use of laundry facilities a nice benefit as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Little Orleans Lodge is a quaint lodge just off of the C&O Canal with a very friendly owner and caretaker who took good care of us while biking the C&O Canal. We enjoyed our stop into "town" at the one and only "Bill's Place," and came back for an evening on one of the outdoor decks. We enjoyed Steve and John's hospitality and meeting other guests. I thought it was all part of the C&O Canal experience - a rustic lodge vs. a fancy hotel where we may not have had such a memorable time. I'd recommend Little Orleans Lodge to those who want a nice place to visit in the country while hiking or biking the C&O Canal. Steve sent us off with a great full breakfast in our bellies and nice hot coffee to start the day. Nice stop, very convenient, and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Orleans
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
11.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
11.9 mi away
Super 8 Hancock MD
Super 8 Hancock MD
#1 of 2 in Hancock
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Orleans Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Orleans Lodge

Property: Little Orleans Lodge
Address: 12814 Appel Road, Little Orleans, MD 21766
Location: United States > Maryland > Little Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Little Orleans
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Little Orleans Hotel Little Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing