We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful and safe night at the Lodge to avoid a tornado” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Orleans Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Orleans Lodge
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful and safe night at the Lodge to avoid a tornado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Little Orleans Lodge on our bike trip from DC to Pittsburgh in early June, because of very bad weather and wide spread talk of a predicted approaching tornado with high winds and giant hail coming from the west. The lodge is 1/2 mile from the trail, after finding Bill's place all locked up. Our room was quaint and beautiful, fabulous spacious bath, cold beer or wine, and a deck overlooking the grounds. Steve and John are very friendly and a great resource about the local area. We left filled with an excellent breakfast and some great stories. Would definitely recommend staying at the Lodge. use of laundry facilities is a nice benefit as well. The powerful storm finally did arrive at 7:30 the next morning and we were so glad that we not in the process of breaking our camp at that time. The trail was quite littered with debris for several miles when we finally were able to start on the trail, about 10:00. Happy trails to you!

Gary and Pam

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gary and pam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
9
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at Little Orleans Lodge on our bike trip from DC to Pittsburgh. the lodge is 1/2 mile for the trail and a stop at Bill's Place is a must. Our room was beautiful, fabulous spacious bath, deck overlooking the grounds.
Steve andJohn are very friendly and a great resource about the local area. The evening flew by and we left filled with an excellent breakfast and some great stories.
Would definitely recommend staying at the Lodge. use of laundry facilities a nice benefit as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fmcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Little Orleans Lodge is a quaint lodge just off of the C&O Canal with a very friendly owner and caretaker who took good care of us while biking the C&O Canal. We enjoyed our stop into "town" at the one and only "Bill's Place," and came back for an evening on one of the outdoor decks. We enjoyed Steve and John's hospitality and meeting other guests. I thought it was all part of the C&O Canal experience - a rustic lodge vs. a fancy hotel where we may not have had such a memorable time. I'd recommend Little Orleans Lodge to those who want a nice place to visit in the country while hiking or biking the C&O Canal. Steve sent us off with a great full breakfast in our bellies and nice hot coffee to start the day. Nice stop, very convenient, and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

A friend and I were cycling the C&O Towpath and booked this lodge as it is close to the trail. No one likes to add miles at the end of the day to get somewhere! We weren’t quite sure what to expect in a town with a population of under 50 people. We were pleasantly surprised to find a clean, rustic, kind of cute lodge with two wonderfully helpful, hospitable hosts – Steve and John. We had the upstairs rooms with a shared bathroom and a sitting area between as well as a deck overlooking the expansive back yard and woods. It is a quiet, peaceful, sleepy little place and made getting a good night’s sleep pretty easy! The lodge itself is pretty much what a modest country lodge should be – lots of wood, cozy, relatively inexpensive and charming. John happily did our laundry for $3.00 (we are thankful for that!), they offered to drive us to Bill’s place (The only place to eat in town), but we decided to walk as it was a perfect early summer evening. Their friendly dog (Brandy I think her name was), walked us all the way to Bill’s! I’d swear she was showing us the way! There’s a refrigerator with drinks, water and beer with a birdhouse on top to put money in – pay what you think it’s worth. That was great. In the morning, we were served freshly made French toast (Steve makes bread!), bacon, juice and coffee and for the first time I’ve ever experienced at a B&B, the hosts ate with us and kept us entertained with good conversation and awesome trail advice (all of which we took! John – we got our shots at Third Base!). And they have WiFi which is a plus! I would not hesitate to stay there again – we were totally comfortable! If you are looking for modern or Victorian – this is not the place for you. If you are looking for something with character and friendly folks, this IS the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pvfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaford, de
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

3 friends + I were biking (as pleasure riders not athletes)the C + O Canal Towpath May 28th from Cumberland with reservations at the Little Orleans Lodge (saw it online and it was SOOO close to the trail) after 45 miles we were gonna need some rest! The previous day while on the road to Cumberland we checked out all of our destinations on our ride...River Run B and B in Hancock...Bills Place for refreshment and Little Orleans Lodge for beds and breakfast...as well as Holiday Inn in Cumberland where they let you take your bikes in your room if you want!
Getting back to John & Steve coming to our rescue....we were making our last 5 mile dash to Little Orleans and a stop at Bills for a beer and dinner prior to going to Lodge as we were told this"IS THE ONLY PLACE TO EAT" before you come to the lodge. Guess what? Bills was so busy over Memorial Day they decided to CLOSE the day after...no signage stating that or ANYTHING! I was fired up as I was the organizer and oh my friends were thirsty! Upon calling the lodge with worry, John (manager/assistant/caretaker) said don't worry come on down to the lodge and we will take care of you!! We did (luckily it was downhill!) and once Steve and his Grandson Bill from Montana got back to the lodge off they took us into PA in a large van to a favorite eating spot of theirs (the Roadkill Cafe) for dinner. When we got back Steve offered desert but we were pretty whipped! We were on the third floor. We had a balcony overlooking the trees and yard with 6 chairs and our beds were a dbl bed below and a single bunk bed above. Couch ,rocking chair...all fine. We shared that floors bath with our friends who loved their room at front of the house in a Queen bed and large window. The bathroom was large with seperate shower bath room and dbl sink with shelving. In the morning home cooked french toast and bacon with fruit and juice and coffee. Loved the ...towels, coffee, camraderie, stories, shower! If you like to chat and share come here...they are very open and welcoming. We missed the best view around that Steve wanted to show us, next time Steve...okay?( I only put average for sleep as we had a difficult nite but our friends slept really well.) Oh... we felt very comfortable leaving our bikes out under the carport. Pretty sleepy area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctvtde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations at the Little Orleans Lodge. Not far from the trail. Everything was clean and the price was affordable. The owner Steve had some good stories to tell. After a hearty breakfast we were on the road again. Thanks Steve for going out of your way for us! We are forever grateful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irish3801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I decided that I wanted to bike the C & O Canal this past winter and because of weather had to change my route from west to east to east to west which meant that I had to find a spot to stay for the last night of my trip. After two days of cold wind, snow, rain, and mud, I pulled into Little Orleans Lodge and enjoyed an evening with Steve and John. The Lodge is clean, comfortable, and very convenient to the Canal. Like many of you I also read my reviews before leaving on my trip, but unlike some past visitors I came away with a very positive feeling about Little Orleans Lodge. I enjoyed my time talking with Steve and John and had a great breakfast before heading upstream to Cumberland. Enjoy your time in Little Orleans and good luck on the Canal!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Orleans
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
9.2 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
11.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Orleans Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Orleans Lodge

Property: Little Orleans Lodge
Address: 12814 Appel Rd SE, Little Orleans, MD 21766-1501
Location: United States > Maryland > Little Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Little Orleans
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Little Orleans Hotel Little Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing