We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Lodge close to C&O Trail Doesn't Disappoint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Orleans Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Orleans Lodge
Save
You added Little Orleans Lodge to your Saves list
California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Country Lodge close to C&O Trail Doesn't Disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A friend and I were cycling the C&O Towpath and booked this lodge as it is close to the trail. No one likes to add miles at the end of the day to get somewhere! We weren’t quite sure what to expect in a town with a population of under 50 people. We were pleasantly surprised to find a clean, rustic, kind of cute lodge with two wonderfully helpful, hospitable hosts – Steve and John. We had the upstairs rooms with a shared bathroom and a sitting area between as well as a deck overlooking the expansive back yard and woods. It is a quiet, peaceful, sleepy little place and made getting a good night’s sleep pretty easy! The lodge itself is pretty much what a modest country lodge should be – lots of wood, cozy, relatively inexpensive and charming. John happily did our laundry for $3.00 (we are thankful for that!), they offered to drive us to Bill’s place (The only place to eat in town), but we decided to walk as it was a perfect early summer evening. Their friendly dog (Brandy I think her name was), walked us all the way to Bill’s! I’d swear she was showing us the way! There’s a refrigerator with drinks, water and beer with a birdhouse on top to put money in – pay what you think it’s worth. That was great. In the morning, we were served freshly made French toast (Steve makes bread!), bacon, juice and coffee and for the first time I’ve ever experienced at a B&B, the hosts ate with us and kept us entertained with good conversation and awesome trail advice (all of which we took! John – we got our shots at Third Base!). And they have WiFi which is a plus! I would not hesitate to stay there again – we were totally comfortable! If you are looking for modern or Victorian – this is not the place for you. If you are looking for something with character and friendly folks, this IS the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pvfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
8
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
seaford, de
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

3 friends + I were biking (as pleasure riders not athletes)the C + O Canal Towpath May 28th from Cumberland with reservations at the Little Orleans Lodge (saw it online and it was SOOO close to the trail) after 45 miles we were gonna need some rest! The previous day while on the road to Cumberland we checked out all of our destinations on our ride...River Run B and B in Hancock...Bills Place for refreshment and Little Orleans Lodge for beds and breakfast...as well as Holiday Inn in Cumberland where they let you take your bikes in your room if you want!
Getting back to John & Steve coming to our rescue....we were making our last 5 mile dash to Little Orleans and a stop at Bills for a beer and dinner prior to going to Lodge as we were told this"IS THE ONLY PLACE TO EAT" before you come to the lodge. Guess what? Bills was so busy over Memorial Day they decided to CLOSE the day after...no signage stating that or ANYTHING! I was fired up as I was the organizer and oh my friends were thirsty! Upon calling the lodge with worry, John (manager/assistant/caretaker) said don't worry come on down to the lodge and we will take care of you!! We did (luckily it was downhill!) and once Steve and his Grandson Bill from Montana got back to the lodge off they took us into PA in a large van to a favorite eating spot of theirs (the Roadkill Cafe) for dinner. When we got back Steve offered desert but we were pretty whipped! We were on the third floor. We had a balcony overlooking the trees and yard with 6 chairs and our beds were a dbl bed below and a single bunk bed above. Couch ,rocking chair...all fine. We shared that floors bath with our friends who loved their room at front of the house in a Queen bed and large window. The bathroom was large with seperate shower bath room and dbl sink with shelving. In the morning home cooked french toast and bacon with fruit and juice and coffee. Loved the ...towels, coffee, camraderie, stories, shower! If you like to chat and share come here...they are very open and welcoming. We missed the best view around that Steve wanted to show us, next time Steve...okay?( I only put average for sleep as we had a difficult nite but our friends slept really well.) Oh... we felt very comfortable leaving our bikes out under the carport. Pretty sleepy area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctvtde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations at the Little Orleans Lodge. Not far from the trail. Everything was clean and the price was affordable. The owner Steve had some good stories to tell. After a hearty breakfast we were on the road again. Thanks Steve for going out of your way for us! We are forever grateful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irish3801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I decided that I wanted to bike the C & O Canal this past winter and because of weather had to change my route from west to east to east to west which meant that I had to find a spot to stay for the last night of my trip. After two days of cold wind, snow, rain, and mud, I pulled into Little Orleans Lodge and enjoyed an evening with Steve and John. The Lodge is clean, comfortable, and very convenient to the Canal. Like many of you I also read my reviews before leaving on my trip, but unlike some past visitors I came away with a very positive feeling about Little Orleans Lodge. I enjoyed my time talking with Steve and John and had a great breakfast before heading upstream to Cumberland. Enjoy your time in Little Orleans and good luck on the Canal!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

First of all, the location is perfect if you are hiking or biking on the C&O Canal trail or floating the Potomac. A historical building with additions for the lodging, this "lodge" is comfortable and charming like a B&B but without all the lace and flowers. The room night charges are entirely affordable and Steve the owner and his crew are fantastic people. Steve and his crew told me some people expect a traditional B&B and "concierge service" such as runs in to town for whatever they need. I don't think even traditional B&Bs do that, so I found this expectation a little unfair and apparently it resulted in some bad reviews. All the rooms were built out by Steve with real hardwood flooring and trim, the views are great and one suite has a porch that looks over a creek and a hillside. I can't wait to get back there!

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I got off the trail after biking all day and inquired at a local tavern about lodging. I was directed to Little Orleans Lodge about a half mile from the canal. The two gentlemen there were very nice. I had a beautiful clean room at a very fair price. The bathroom was clean and spacious. I slept very well after checking my laptop and had a good strong conection for being out in a remote location. I went to the dining area and found it homey and clean The table had cloth place mats and the food was served very promptly to my sitting down. The eggs bacon and french toast was great and served with orange juice and coffee. Steve & John gave me great info on the trail and had answers for all my questions. Reccomend the Little Orleans lodge to anyone in the area. I will return and make it a point to stop back for another wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a good view of the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 260johna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent place, nice, remote location, yards from the C&O Canal. Steve was a funny and gracious host and even took us in his truck up to a fantastic nearby overlook that we would otherwise have missed and gave us the makings of a packed lunch for a hike in the surrounding woods.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daibread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Orleans
7.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
11.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
19.8 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
11.9 mi away
Super 8 Hancock MD
Super 8 Hancock MD
#1 of 2 in Hancock
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Orleans Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Orleans Lodge

Property: Little Orleans Lodge
Address: 12814 Appel Road, Little Orleans, MD 21766
Location: United States > Maryland > Little Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Little Orleans
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Little Orleans Hotel Little Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing