We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Great hotel, close to airport”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for work, and really enjoyed my stay. Staff was very friendly, and helpful. Hotel is right near the airport and has a shuttle service, if needed. Room was clean, and bed quite comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plpeters70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    176
    86
    36
    29
See reviews for
149
128
113
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The friendly knowledgeable staff made me feel like family. Some of the best service I've had in a hotel. Room was spacious and immaculate. Great housekeeping staff. Props to management on putting together such a great staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potter356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed in this disgusting place last night. I checked in around 10:00pm - there was a long wait in the reception area and the receptionist was exhausted. Things got off to a bad start with a ridiculous $1.50 mandatory charge on my bill for the use of an in-room safe. As I was leaving at 5:00am the next morning I knew I would not need the safe and told the receptionist this. What a crazy system - she told me she could not reverse the charge but if I lined up again at checkout it could be taken off. As I was checking out at 5:00am I was hardly going to do this for $1.50 - so well done Red Roof Inn - a great way to gouge another $1.50 from each guest. But I have to wonder if the ill-will this creates is worth that small amount of profit. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and have never come across this concept before.

The non-smoking room I requested absolutely stank of cigarette smoke. I had to put up with this as I was too tired to haul my bag down to ask for another room. I also knew I had little hope of getting anything better as I had noticed another guest in the reception area who had already tried two rooms - both equally smelly.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mubryan, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
I am so sorry to hear that you had issues during your stay. Our in-room safes are provided as a convenience to guests and are in no way meant to create a hardship. The $1.50 fee is for a warrantee of $10,000 against forced entry and is removed with no hassle at checkout if it is not used. It is in no way meant to be a burden. If you had any issues with the desk staff, I invite you to reach out to me so that I may properly address the proper GSR.

Having a clean comfortable room free of smoke is one of our top priorities. We are currently in the process of testing several new products to eliminate smoke and freshen rooms. We have instituted new policies to rid the property of guests who feel the need to smoke in a non-smoking room and have committed not to sell these rooms until they are deep cleaned to remove odor.

We appreciate your business and hope that you will try us again in the future to see that this experience is not typical of our property.

Bryan Lawyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great rate of $80 compared to $200+ in the city. Shuttle departing every 20 minutes will take you to the closest light rail station ($3.50 for day pass). 20 minutes to down town Baltimore. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Be sure to call ahead for the shuttle, it doesn't come to the airport automatically.

Room Tip: Standard king room was my rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Robert and simeon where great andthey where every help ful thank you redroof inn for they in a promotion too please let me know I want to be there

Thank you
miss smith

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific City, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were looking for a clean inexpensive place with airport shuttle close to BWI. When we were picked up at the airport by the shuttle, it turned out to be just a van with no place to put luggage. After the small space in the back had been used by the other 2 passengers, we had to somehow lift our heavy bags ourselves into the main section of the van. The driver didn't even attempt to help us lift our bags. The van had no running boards and it was nearly impossible for me to get into the vehicle. There was no step...I can't imagine how an elderly person would have been able to get in. Turns out this was a rented van and not their regular shuttle vehicle. With just 4 people and a normal amount of luggage, there was no room for anyone else and we had to leave several folks also waiting to be taken to the Red Roof. They should have rented a larger vehicle!

On check-in we were charged a $1.50 fee for use of the safe and had to sign a form that there was no opting out and if we didn't use the safe they would credit us the next day. Even after telling them that we were in for the night and would not be using a safe, we had to go through the process of the charge. I've never heard of such a thing in all my travels.

The room was old and battered, bed was old and needed to be replaced. When checking in, no ground floor room was available and after being told there was an elevator we opted for a 3rd floor room. On check-out they had blocked off the elevator for some maintenance painting and we had to then lug our heavy luggage down the steps.

With just a little more effort on management's part to put themselves in the customer's position, our stay could have been more enjoyable. When renting a room at a budget property, my expectations are not very high, but this property didn't even achieve my low expectations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mubryan, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I would like to take a moment to address the issues that you had.

We are currently in the process of purchasing a new, state of the art shuttle. The temporary van that we had is a 12 passenger van, the standard for many BWI hotels. I am sorry if the luggage area was full. This will not be an issue going forward, as our new bus will have seating for 15 and ample room for luggage storage.

All of our rooms feature an in-room safe with a $10,000 warrantee against forcible entry and theft. For the warrantee, we charge a nominal fee of $1.50/night. For security purposes, we prefer that guests do not tell us up front where they will be storing their valuables, so we ask that they let us know at or after checkout if they decide not to use it. The fee will be removed with no questions asked.

I am sorry that the room was not up to your standards. If you would like to reach out to me with specifics of what you found unsatisfactory in your room, I would be happy to address it. I understand the inconvenience caused by the breezeways being closed. This was done to upgrade our breezeways with new paint. Unfortunately, we had to close them down for a day so that we could paint the floors. One thing that was not mentioned is that the staff helped many guests carry their luggage down the one or two flights of stairs. I understand the inconvenience, but every effort was made to accommodate.

I appreciate the time taken to let us know about your stay. I hope that you will try us again and see that the experience that you had was not typical.

Bryan Lawyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I stay at this hotel every month a couple of times in three day stints. The location is great. The large rooms are great for doing work at night.

The problem is the WIFI sucks. I never used to have any problems there, but apparently a few months ago the WIFI service provider changed and the signal is weak or non-existent. Apparently others have complained too. In some rooms you can get no signal at all and in others the signal is so weak it is like using a dial-up modem. Lately I have had to tether off my smart phone to get anything. If the WIFI is important to you and you don't have a tether option, you might think again until they upgrade the WIFI.,

Room Tip: The rooms with the single king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayrumtum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mubryan, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you had issues with your internet connectivity. Being able to work in your room is critical, especially when traveling on business. We undestand that. We want all guests to ensure that they are getting a fast, reliable signal, no matter where their room is located. I am working with Wandering Wifi, our internet provider, to correct this issue. I hope to have a resolution soon. We appreciate your business and I am confident that you will not have to worry about poor connection on your next stay with us.

Bryan Lawyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linthicum Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn BWI Airport
Holiday Inn BWI Airport
#9 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washington International Airport
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washingt...
#6 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, BWI Airport (Baltimore)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore BWI Airport
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baltimore...
#12 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
#5 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Lint...
#21 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport
Address: 827 Elkridge Landing Rd, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090-2902
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#9 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#11 Family Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#13 Romantic Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newly Renovated Red Roof PLUS+ BWI Airport, located off of the Baltimore Washington Parkway (I-295). We're in the quiet BWI Gateway Community, just 1.5 Miles from the Baltimore Washington International Airport. Enjoy the comfort of our brand new shuttle on your complimentary ride from the Airport, Amtrak or Light Rail( Mon-Fri 4am-1am and Sat-Sun 5am-12am). You can sleep longer, knowing it's only a short 5 minute ride from the hotel to the airport. Take the light rail to Baltimore's Inner Harbor to see an Orioles game at Camden Yards, or visit M&T Bank Stadium for a Ravens game. Be sure to visit the National Aquarium, the Baltimore Museum of Art and the Walters Art Museum. We are also within 20-40 minutes from the US Naval Academy in Annapolis, and Washington DC. If you are here on corporate or government business, it's easy to get to the Baltimore Convention Center or major government and corporate offices such as the National Security Agency and Northrop Grumman. You can also enjoy the free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. We are convenient to area hospitals such as University of Maryland-Baltimore and Johns Hopkins. You are always welcome at the Red Roof PLUS+ BWI Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Red Roof Inn Linthicum Heights
Linthicum Heights Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing