We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Crabcakes!”

Olive Grove Restaurant and Lounge
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Crabcakes!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The crab cakes were enormous and packed with crab meat. A friend had soft-shelled crab and said it was excellent. Yummy desserts, too! That's a sure thing! Service was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    87
    56
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place, great meal!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We live in the area and eat at the Olive Grove Restaurant on occasion. The food is delicious and abundant; the price is right. We’ve tried a good number of items on the menu and some of our favorites include the sausage fettuccini, fruitte de mare, crab cakes and eggplant parmigiana. It seems like we’re slowly working our way through the menu because it seems we pick one new item now and again.
Meals always start with unlimited salad and bread. This time, I had the evening special of a full rack of ribs and my spouse had the crab cakes. The ribs were fall-off-the-bone and just the way I like them. The crab cakes were big and tasty.
Our waitress, Shanaya, (who was absolutely wonderful!) made such a big difference I had to tell the manager how great our dining experience had been. She help with selections, put in our dinner order after bringing the salad which made the timing just right for the entrees, and took care of all the little things that made the evening out a great time. She even took some time to chat with us and we found the evening enjoyable and relaxing. And it wasn’t just us – Shanaya treated all of her customers as if they were family. Even though we’d been going to the restaurant for quite a while, we’d never had Shanaya, but we plan to ask for her when we go back.
The Olive Grove is our go-to place for an evening out. You get a good meal for a good price and you can beat the feeling when they make you feel like family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biggboyy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good crab cakes”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Olive Grove has been around for a long time, I thought they were only an Italian restaurant ... turns out they are known for their crab cakes. We ordered their crab cake platters (single $16.95, double $24.95). The meal came with free breadsticks and salad, both were tastier than the Olive Garden. Overall, the crab cakes were very good but I can't say that they are the best - this is crab cake land and there's stiff competition everywhere around Maryland.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in the area!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Do not pass up this hidden gem while in the BWI area. Wonderful food, great wines, and fine service! The menu is awesome (Itailian) and plenty pf choices. The seafood dishes are the best, salads, rolls, and don't pass on the best desserts! Within the expense account limit. Go there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vikes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
574 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate here before our flight from BWI the next a.m. Pretty typical Italian menu... with the exception of its seafood offerings that included their famous crabcakes. Living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland, we were both skeptical of having crabcakes at an Italian restaurant. My wife went for it... and I played it safe with the egg plant parmesan... and salads. The salads were fresh and plentiful and the house dressing superb. My eggplant was crispy with a flavorful sauce and a responsible amount of cheese... so an above average offering. The crabcake was another story... as it was huge and priced low that at first you had to wonder how they can do that. In any case, it ranks right up there with the best we've had in Maryland.

The service is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Grove Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Linthicum Heights, MD
 
Linthicum Heights, MD
Linthicum Heights, MD
 

Been to Olive Grove Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing