We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crabcakes Crabckaes Crabcakes!”

G & M Restaurant & Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed September 21, 2017

Disclaimer: Any time a restaurant promises on delivering their signature product (such as G&M crab cakes, Jr's cheesecake in NYC, etc) just know that the food is of higher quality.

Oh my geez. G&M delivers on quality EVERY single time! Literally - EVERY time.
A buddy of mine was in town from Fl and wanted to check out a good restaurant so we ventured here. We both ordered the french onion soup which was probably the second best soup I have had, and we got the rib eye steak. The steak definitely was pure which unfortunately cost it to lack in flavor a bit. However, being a food purist I could appreciate he blandness of it because it allowed me to focus on meat quality, where others may be disappointed.

The crab cakes are simply spectacular here. There truly is no other way to put it.
They are very chunky using very very little feelings and light breading. Whatever you get on the menu here, do not leave without trying the crab cakes. That would be an absolute disservice to yourself, truly.

Despite the bland steak this place is totally worth five stars because of the seafood.
Support this mom and pops shop and feed your gut. Hahaha

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PassportHeavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prez1967, Owner at G & M Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Gina,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share such awesome feedback with us. We are so happy to hear that your dining experience with us was so great. We are delighted the french onion soup, steak, and crab cakes were just to your liking and you enjoyed everything. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We can't wait to see you back. Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2017

It’s a bit silly to review a restaurant as well established and praised as G & M. However, I rate all restaurants that I visit, so here’s my take. The draw is the crab cakes, which contain eight ounces of crab with no filler. They have been rated best in the area, and are shipped all around the country. I would call them crab pies, as they don’t resemble the flat disks which are usually associated with crab cakes. They are domed in the middle and are browned on the top.

There is, however, much more to tell. The vegetables (green beans, mashed potatoes) were remarkably tasty. I use that word because, we did indeed remark about them. And then thee are the desserts. Absolutely over the top. Counting all of the possibilities (many flavors of cheesecake, ice cream, types of cakes, bread pudding, rice pudding, etc.) there are sixty possible desserts. We settled on one, the lemon round, which we very much enjoyed.

Local hotels offer shuttles to this restaurant, which is large and can handle the crowds. We came here from Baltimore - Washington Airport (11 minute drive) on the advice of friends. We are very glad we did.

Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prez1967, Owner at G & M Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Robert,
Thank you so much for the marvelous feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a great dining experience here at G & M Restaurant. We are thrilled that the crab cakes were wonderful and the vegetables and mashed potatoes were delicious. We're glad you enjoyed our homemade desserts so much and everything was just yo your liking. We appreciate you taking the time to share this wonderful review with us. We can't wait to see you back. Have a splendid week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
6112
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

Visited this place while on business trip to eat some local fare. I had Maryland Crab Soup and of course a crab cake. I was surprised the tomato based crab soup had some good spice to it. Cram cake was very meaty and excellent. The waiter was extremely friendly and gave good service. If I come out here again I will gladly eat here again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prez1967, Owner at G & M Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you for much for taking the time to share your dining experience here with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Maryland Crab Soup and Crab cakes so much. We are happy to hear our team members provided you with outstanding service. We look forward to your next visit. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We heard about this place from a friend of ours who said the best crab cakes in Maryland were found at G&M and she was right. Stepping in from the modern looking outside, it is a little shock as you cross the doorway and travel back to the 1960s, the decor as well as the wait staff.

If you go, the crab cakes are huge and taste great. If we had it to do over again we would have gotten the double crab cake platter and split it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank altonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prez1967, Owner at G & M Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our crab cakes. We thank you for the kind words. We look forward to your next visit. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

For those who are visiting or learning more about Crabcakes in Maryland. There is a group of people who run a website The Best Maryland Crabcake. Every year the group hits the road and rates establishments specializing in Crabcakes. The site explains all the variations from the best Original Maryland recipe to hybrid variations like Backfin Crabcakes. G&M is a busy place. I have dined in, carried out, and even purchased uncooked. I was satisfied with the quality all the way around. And yes the deserts are off the chain. I would not go if its so busy the parking is a block away. The crabcakes are large sized jumbo lump and moist ! Yummy

Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prez1967, Owner at G & M Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thomas,
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoy our crab cakes and enjoy our homemade desserts. We are happy that each of your experiences with us has been so great. We appreciate you sharing this fantastic feedback with us. We look forward to your next visit. Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G & M Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to G & M Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing