We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crab cakes & Crab Soup”

G & M Restaurant & Lounge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
UNIONTOWN, OH
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Crab cakes & Crab Soup”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was in Baltimore a few months ago and had crab cakes. The crab cakes at G & M had more filler but they were still good. The crab cakes were a good size but were a little pricey; it was the same price as I paid at the other restaurant. I also had the crab soup (cream base) which I thought was very good. I ordered a cup; it was the size of a small bowl. I was surprised the restaurant was not busier but it was a Monday night and very hot. The service was good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FENTON64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    518
    178
    87
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes in the state of Maryland.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

G&M by far provides the best crab cakes in the state; believe me, we have gone near and far and tried many seafood spots. They can accommodate large groups (10 or more) and also have a call in service for take out. Always busy but worth it...you can enjoy beverages (from water to spirited drinks) while you wait. Service is relatively quick and the servers are very friendly, courteous, and polite. This is a must visit if you are in the area and want great Maryland crab cakes; and they do ship to locations all over the United States.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprisingly accommodating to large parties!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The crab cakes here are superb as everybody says. What surprised us on our most recent visit was how incredibly accommodating they were to our party of 9 including 5 children. Even right in the middle of dinner hour we were seated immediately. The server was courteous and patient with our big group. The kids menu items had generous portions and were high quality for a children's menu. We will definitely return when we visit Baltimore in the future!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finksburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Crab Cakes, worth the wait.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We keep hearing about the best crab cakes in Baltimore at G&M. I'm not saying their the best but they are definitely up there. They are very good. I wasn't that crazy about the sides I ordered. You get 2 with your dinner. I got the cole slaw which was a little dry, and the potato salad. They make their potato salad with a little mustard. That's not my favorite type. It was ok, not great. I tried their stuffed mushroom caps to start and that was quite good. The place was absolutely packed. I hear it's pretty much always like that. The service was very good. Our server took very good care of my party of 5.
Bottom line it's well worth it. You go primarily for the crab cakes anyway.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank loudini56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Imitation Maryland crab Cake!!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you like to try IMITATION Maryland crab cake, this is the place. They kept the price low but sub the real crab meat with imitation. They used to be great, but $$$ took over!!!!!
Spread the crab cake and see it for yourself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G & M Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to G & M Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing