We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmelo's Pizza Pasta & More

Carmelo's Pizza Pasta & More
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Carmelo's, we blend the freshness of locally grown organic ingredients with the unique flavors of imported products from selected purveyors in our native region of Italy. Our seasonal menu consists of a variety of signature dishes, delicious pizzas and fresh made subs and wraps. We value our customers and thank you for supporting us. Our goal is to continue to develop our restaurant, offering the finest in quality contemporary Italian cuisine with personable service... all at an affordable price!
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The food is great!

We have been eating there since the restaurant opened. Actually, we haven't eaten from the other Italian restaurants or pizza joints since. We haven't had a bad meal yet!

My favorite is the spaghetti and meatballs, but the pizza's are great...I think our standard order is a large white and a peperoni pizza!

We normally order carry-out and rarely eat in but, we have never had an incorrect order...it's always ready when promised and the staff is always pleasant.

Great place eat!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Bad Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Carmelo's has excellent food. But the atmosphere doesn't match the food quality or prices. Dirty bathroom and floor, pealing paint, ugly table clothes and wait staff's junk sitting at the first table. But the pasta and pizza are very good, prices are certainly too high. Do take-out with a special, but if you want dine in Italian, go to Italia's Corner down the street. Much nicer environment, bigger portions, same prices and slightly better food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good range of Italian food options and we all liked what we got. I was with some of my family members who are deaf and the staff here were very accommodating and patient with the inconveniences of taking orders from customers who were having to go through some translating. The people here are top notch and they serve delicious food at super prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank farout75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelos419, Manager at Carmelo's Pizza Pasta & More, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We appreciate you business and we are glad you enjoyed your dine in experience. Accommodating our guests is never an inconvenience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
322 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“HOPEFULLY IT WAS AN OFF NIGHT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first time eating at Carmelo's and I hope that it was just an off night. The veal parmigiana was dry, tough, and over cooked. The Lasagna was bland with a gummy texture to the pasta. Both the veal and lasagna were topped with very thick slabs of mozzarella cheese that did not add to the taste or appeal of either dish. Also, the addition of pepper flakes to the garlic bread was a very unwelcome surprise as no one in our party likes hot peppers. Most of the other diners were ordering pizza which I have been told by others is very good. If we visit again we'll go for the pizza!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveEurope411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelos419, Manager at Carmelo's Pizza Pasta & More, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sorry about your recent dine in experience. Please come back and visit us soon. We hope to make up for our bad night. We always appreciate new customers and look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, Hidden Lunch Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stopped in here after another place we were going to was closed on Sundays. What a gem! The food is reasonably priced and the service was top notch! I had the Cheeseburger and my girlfriend the Cheesesteak. Both sandwiches came with fries and a drink! Food tasted great and my girlfriend even got a Valentine's Carnation!

Will definitely be back again!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmumandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelo's Pizza Pasta & More also viewed

Linthicum Heights, MD
Linthicum Heights, MD
 
Linthicum Heights, MD
 

Been to Carmelo's Pizza Pasta & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing