We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Choice, Nothing Special But Reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baltimore - BWI Airport
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Booked our room through Hotwire for $59 and thought it was well worth that price.
Located close to BWI with free shuttle to either BWI or the Light Rail system this hotel is a good choice if you are flying or need to go downtown and don't want to drive.
The rooms were in good repair and the staff was friendly. Nothing really amazing, but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonLugoff_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2009

It would be nice to have some clean sheets. Especially when your fight gets in at 11:30 p.m. and you have an important meeting that you have to leave for at 6 a.m. It is not nice to notice that your sheets have been slept in by previous guests ( I will spare the gross details). Granted, the front desk attendant offered to give me another room, but I did not feel like putting all my clothes on and gathering all my stuff at 12:30 a.m. It would have been nice to have clean sheets from a get go like I am used to. I am not a picky traveler, but some basic necessities are a must.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ayat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

This HI is in the middle of a remodel. They're very conscientious about disturbing the guests, and have well marked the areas being worked on.

This hotel is located near most all of the rest hotels near BWI, necessitating a shuttle (which arrived quickly). You can phone them [for free] from the kiosk in baggage claim near the info desk. The hotel is set up for meetings and conventions, and the downstairs lobby area reflects that. Free parking, if you have your car.

The remodeled rooms are beautiful, if a little small. The bath fixtures are high end and wonderful. A+ to the designer for a very sleek, yet elegant design. The pillow top bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked well. Oddly, there was no closet in our room. Plenty of drawer space, but no closet.

Our room must have been in the middle of remodeling as a drawer handle was missing, and there were none of the usual things on the desk (hotel info, pen, paper, etc). Other than that, it was lovely.

We got a great deal on Priceline. Three of us checked in, went to the room to find it with one bed. That's okay; that happens sometimes with Priceline. Usually they want another $10 for another bed. I went down to ask if there were any with two beds available and was told that the hotel was 100% booked. Considering that I reserved the room a few hours prior, I find it difficult to believe that they would book their "last" room with Priceline, potentially having to turn away full price customers. The manager offered to bring us some sheets and blankets. Predictably, they never came. It was hard to tell if the night crew was lazy or just not the brightest bulbs on the tree. I think probably a combination of both. (The day crew at checkout was sharp, friendly, and competent.)

The exception was the shuttle driver - a bright, articulate, funny, middle-aged black man full of information about the hotel and the area. HE should be giving customer service lessons to the rest of them (or they should simply make him night manager.)

The business center had three computers; one out of order. The other two CRAWLED. Nothing to write with in there either. Hasn't been remodeled and hopefully they will upgrade at that time; otherwise, it's pretty useless.

Overall, for the price, if you just need a place to crash on your way somewhere else, it's okay for a PL bid. I wouldn't pay full price nor would this be a destination hotel.

Doesn't really matter how gorgeous the rooms become if the staff is lazy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAMarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Myself and a friend stayed here for a week in late March 09.
I would recommend this hotel to any one heading to this area, the rooms as the previous reviewer said are newly refurbished very nicely, we had a twin room and it was well appointed with a great LCD TV nice desk and very good beds.
The free Internet in room, is a great boost to.
Very good housekeeping, the place was always clean.

The bathrooms are on the small size but unless you're having 3 or so people in there at once its not a problem. Good shower too. Only negative is that the doors (or walls) of the rooms seem to allow a lot of noise in and out, but its a quite hotel and it was never bothersome.

Staff were very helpful and the free shuttle is a life saver. Do make sure you have the hotel number in your cell however since you will need to call for it.

The Amtrak and MARC train station are only a few minutes away by shuttle great for getting to both central DC (union station) and Baltimore. (only Amtrak's sat-sun)

The business center's computer are a little old but i only used it to print out a few forms, and they did the job.
While the hotel restaurant is very good and does some mean pancakes for breakfast, it is expensive. So a word of caution, there is nothing within walking distance other than a Qiznos. If you have a car however there is alot more within a few minutes drive.

Overall at the rate we got it was a super stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techniclab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

There is always a moment of panic when you book a trip on one of those websites that take your money before they tell you the name of the hotel. Although I have never had a bad experience with Hotwire (And have stayed in some great places like Blue Indigo in Buffalo) there can always be a first time.

When the hotel came back as the Holiday Inn BWI, those fears increased. It seems like that Holiday Inn has been there as long as the airport has! With ALL the new hotels in that area figures I woudl get the oldest building there! I am happy to report though that Hotwire's winning streak continues.

As I pulled up, the reason for the great rate became apparent. Banners were everywhere announcing their renovations! It was apparent that the outside of the building had been redone and seemed as though the lobby had been too. There was a small bar, a restaurant that was not open yet and, conveniently, a small station where you can print out your boarding pass for free.

Check-in was quick. Hotwire covered room and tax so I left a debit card for incidentals. (there was a sign noting that a "hold" of $25/night will be placed on a debit card for incidentals. Although this hold is released on checkout, bank policies vary as to when those fund again become available) I was told that the restaurant and room service is open from 5pm-10pm and that bar food is available until later.

On my way to the elevator, I was able to check out a couple of the meeting rooms, They looked small but very well decorated. On the elevators was another banner indicating that they are being renovated too and to expect a wait . I guess they were done for the week because I had no trouble.

As I reached my floor, it was clear the design team had been at work. The long hallway was broken up evey 10 feet or so by alternating sections of dark and light brown wall paper.

Then I got to my room VERY nice. The room was decorated in the dark woods and earthtones that is the theme for the building, I had a king bed which left room for a sage green loveseat that converts. Along the left wall was the low rise dresser on top of which sat a 36" LCD TV. There was also a small desk and a small coffee take infront of the loveseat. The whole hotel offers free wireless internet,. Cable stations were limited to the networks, the tbs's and usa's several ESPN's and HBO familiy. Pay movies are avail tho.

The bathroom was small - almost cruise-ship small - but nicely decorated in similar earthtones. A vessel sink was hung below a tan marble and chrome vanity, several bath towels were rolled neatly underneath. The shower is not the firehose velocity that I enjoy but did the trick.

The best part of the room however (and the reason this just became my favorite BWI hotel) is how the bed was done. The bed consisted of a high dark wood headboard and 5 pillows were set on the diagonal in front.

The bedding consisted of a white bottom sheet, a white top sheet, a white down comforter, a textured white sheet above that AND a shorter taupe runner that went across the bottom.

It was simple, elegant, but most importantly, CLEARLY designed to be totally laundered on a regular basis. I have never been a big fan of those heavy, smelly, sticky-from-God-knows-what bedspreads that many hotels use mostly because I don't see how they EVER get washed. Not the case here

Check out was friendly and quick.. Its clear that the staff is excited about the changes going on there and thats always a good thing.

There are SOOO many hotels in the BWI area that it is hard to recommend one over another, but I enjoyed my stf at the Holiday Inn very much

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xBradfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Kind of PRICEY - after tax (WITH my discounts) ONE night came to a hundred dollars Amercan! It AINT CHEAP, folks; this is premium priced for the near-rich. Beautiful new furnishings, though; FABULOUS new HVAC. Best HVAC (other than central) we have seen. Room was very quiet, everything seemed to work. Problem? Cleanliness. We were booked into the first room, and it was "unmade". Dirty towels, unmade bed, etc. We went back to the front desk and were sent to a different room. Much better. Everything looked clean and worked. VERY comfortable and quiet. We sadly learned - at 11:30 PM, wheh we were too tired to move AGAIN - the tub was "less than spotless'. I sprayed it down with hot water from the shower (great VERY HOT water pressure on 5th floor) and took a shower. Desk staff was totally apologetic each time. Their attutude is good, so if you're looking for a premium-priced room near BWI, this is one quiet option. It's not-quite-finished RENOVATING.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djlovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Booked through priceline for 65$US all inclusive.

This airport hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, as with most of these types of accommodation. It has definitely seen better times, but work is underway to renovate it.

Check in was fast and pleasant. As I associated my priority reward card to this reservation, I got a nice freebie, a 10$ voucher to be used on any buys in the hotel.

The room was big and king bed was large and comfortable. The TV was a regular 27 in. Free internet is provided as with a good work area. Bathroom is typical, smallish but clean. I didnt use the other amenities, a smallish gym, and they have an outdoor pool, obviously closed for the season.

I used my voucher for breakfast, a Egg chesapeake, with fresh crab. Yummy. Shuttle service was fast and efficient. Overall, was pleased by the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lubiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linthicum Heights hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
#6 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
924 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
#3 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, BWI Airport (Baltimore)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washington International Airport
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washingt...
#10 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimo...
#4 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltim...
#7 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baltimore - BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baltimore - BWI Airport

Address: 890 Elkridge Landing Rd, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090-2903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#9 Romantic Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#10 Family Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range: $79 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baltimore - BWI Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers expect great atmosphere, amenities and service. Find all this and more at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baltimore - BWI Airport, where we are poised to meet your every need. Convenient to Baltimore, Maryland, Washington, DC and Annapolis, MD, our attractive 260-room airport hotel features upgraded high speed Internet and is less than 5 minutes from BWI Airport, and the Amtrak and Baltimore Light Rail stations. The hotel is only 8 miles from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, home of Orioles Park at Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and the Baltimore Convention Center and business district. We are adjacent to Ciena Corporation offices, Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, and Booz Allen Hamilton. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - BWI Airport is only 4 miles from Arundel Mills Mall where you can shop at well-known stores like Bass Pro Shops, Bed Bath & Beyond then enjoy Dave and Buster's restaurant or the Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. Our event space is ideal for weddings, receptions and reunions. Start the day with a healthy breakfast at Eden's Landing Restaurant or in our gourmet coffee and sundry shop, Props. Then enjoy a work-out at our expanded fitness center or shoot some baskets at our outdoor sports court that includes a swimming pool and volleyball court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baltimore - BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Holiday Inn Linthicum
Linthicum Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing