We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a dreadful experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a dreadful experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had flown in from an international flight, very tired, and was hoping to get some rest at the Wingate Hotel at BWI. Unfortuantely, at 11 pm, I was startled by a lot of noise in the room next door to me. When I investigated, I realized a highschool sports team had checked in, and one of there rooms was connected to mine. I understand youthfulness and they weren't bad kids, but none the less they were very loud and knocking not only on the connecting door to my room, but the entrance door as well. There was no way I was going to get any sleep. I went to the front desk and spoke to the front desk clerk, Maurio, and this is when it went from bad to worse. I told him my situation and asked to change rooms, and he replied, literallly, "You need to get over it" as this sports group were staying throughout the hotel. After the shock of his response, and only when I asked to speak to his supervisor, Roxanne, did he suddenly find a room that was not connecting to a bunch of kids having a lot of fun. I stay in a lot of hotels and have no problem with overacive guests, but to be treated as awful as Maurio did was inexcusable. My advice...don't get a connecting room here, and hopefully you won't have to deal with Maurio who could have cared less.

Room Tip: There are many hotels in this area ,so don't put up with the bad customer service I did. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
John,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am truly sorry that our front desk did not handle your concern with the professionalism and care that every guest deserves. We will be addressing this and reviewing your comments/taking corrective action with our staff.

My apologies again,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    358
    219
    107
    69
See reviews for
396
272
72
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at 3 AM which was much later than planned due to a 4 hour layover in Phoenix, because of bad storms in Baltimore. We were just happy to have a place to sleep. It is a little battered & worn ~ a badly stained sofa, I was hoping that it was a red wine stain, not blood! The bathroom not that clean, needs updating. On the positive side extremely quiet, we didn't hear a sound (our room was at the back of the hotel). Missed breakfast the next morning, which ends at 9 AM, I think? We needed to get to the airport to pick up our rental car; the shuttle driver graciously took us directly to the Car Rental facility ~ which is not near the airport, we were very appreciative as that saved us a bunch of time.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK2OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
UK2OC,

Thank you for your review, while I will pass your feedback along to our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper I can't see what room you stayed in since I don't have your name. If you would like to provide me with that detail I can be even more proactive in resolving your concerns for future guests.

Thank you, and my apologies.

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
410-859-0003 X 7037
jporter@stevensmanagement.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I enjoyed the stay and the friendlyness of the staff. The Hotel is very clean and the breakfast and workout room were very nice. The Hotel is an excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Be Well,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had a reservation at this hotel before Sandy arrived. Understandably, the hurricane caused many problems in the area including the hotel losing power. All the hotels next to the Wingate were also without power. But, the staff were accommodating to our needs. They provided glow sticks for our safety. Even the first morning without power, they had gone elsewhere to get coffee and bagels for the guests. I never felt in danger and no one was locked in their room (the room keys stilled worked). When we arrived to BWI it only took 10 min. for the Wingate shuttle to pick us up. The property is clean inside and out. I would recommend this Wingate to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
S F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Hurricane Sandy was a tough storm, but our staff did everything possible to keep our guests as comfortable as possible.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Baltimore area, and hopefully in better weather!

Be Well,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Wingate BWI is by far, the worst Wyndham property that I have stayed in. Ever. I travel a lot, and have never had a bad experience at a Wingate prior to this. Neither will I be going back to any Wyndham properties.

Hurricane Sandy caused a power-outage for nearly 24 hours. The hotel had no back-up generator. The door locks were not working, leaving you a prisoner in your own room. There was no breakfast as advertised. Nothing was operational. The hotel was so dark that it was dangerous to walk in the hallways. The stairwells were "illuminated" by little green glow sticks that were taped to the walls.

Some customers' bills were adjusted, others were told that they would not be. I witnessed this in line to speak to the front desk. I was told that the general manager of the hotel would call me the next day to discuss my issues -- she never did. It's always nice when customers are left in a dangerous position and then lied to.

I don't blame the hotel for the storm, but when you have no secondary source of power, you don't leave your guests trapped in their rooms. You don't advertise WiFi and breakfast and then not deliver it. If you can't deliver what you promise, storm or not, you send your guests to a different hotel or you adjust their bill. You don't leave them to fend for themselves in dimly lit stairwells, deny them breakfast, and then give them a full bill.

I have never -- ever -- not been asked upon check-out if my stay was satisfactory. It was almost like the front desk was avoiding the question. Wonder why.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schulyer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Schulyer,

Our General Manager, Roxanne Rivera, has been working with you personally to resolve your concerns.

We did everything we could to keep our guests safe and comfortable during super storm Sandy and the unfortunate power outage. We picked up coffee and bagels so our guests could have breakfast, the keys to the guest rooms continued to work because they are battery operated, and we placed glow sticks and flashlights throughout the building for safety. Many guests left the hotel and were able to find hotel accommodations close by with power, but for guests that chose to stay we did everything possible to keep them comfortable until power was restored.

Again, our General Manager is working with you personally, but I wanted to at least reply to your concerns posted here on TripAdvisor as well.

Be Well,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linthicum Heights
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
#2 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Baltimore/BWI Airport
Hyatt Place Baltimore/BWI Airpor...
#3 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus BWI Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
#6 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport
Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington I...
#24 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, BWI Airport (Baltimore)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport

Property: Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport
Address: 1510 Aero Dr, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090-2243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport is located just 3 miles from BWI Airport and central to Baltimore, Fort Meade, Columbia, Ellicott City, Annapolis and Washington, DC. Features 129 sleeping rooms and 1000 square feet of meeting space. Hot Deluxe Breakfast, Wired and Wireless High Speed Internet, 24-hour Airport Shuttle, Indoor Heated Swimming Pool and Fitness Center, In-room Refrigerator, Microwave, Hairdryer and safe, Business Center. Walking distance to Bob Evans & Ruby Tuesday's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Linthicum / Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Wingate Bwi Airport
Wingate Hotel Linthicum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing