We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Customer Service but room was terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service but room was terrible!”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Upon walking in, by the door was the strongest gas smell I ever smelled in my lifetime. That was scary. We alerted maintenance, he checked and said it was coming from the dryers in the laundry room. Guests checking in should not be almost knocked out by gas fumes. They may wanna consider moving that laundry room. The check-in process was smooth and the Desk Clerk, I believe her name is Karen, was awesome! Priority Club members get a nice welcome letter and gift bag, and you get to "spin" a wheel for additional bonus points which is a cute and fun marketing tool!
On to the bad stuff! We were erroneously booked in a smoking room and when I called to complain, was told the entire hotel was booked. That room was so horribly smokey it was awful! We immediately went out to get air freshner but that still did not work. The kitchen cabinets were raggedy and hanging off the hinges. The pull out sofa bed was so dirty, I had to share a bed with my sis in law. The carpet was dirty. The furniture was filthy and cheap...the room just made you itch even after a shower! The air conditioner was crooked and poorly installed. I couldnt wait to check out of there! Two stink bugs came from out of nowhere! We had to call maintenance for assistance! In fairness, those bugs are everywhere, but if the room wasnt so dirty, we probably would have just overlooked it all. I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrzydva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    65
    35
    20
    5
See reviews for
30
40
32
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I am from Canada and had to travel to have a surgery by a well-known surgeon in the Baltimore area. The folks at Candlewood were very friendly and my 2 week stay was definitiely worth the price. I loved the kitchenette! The only downside was that there was not much to do within walking distance in terms of touristy things because it is in the airport hotel district. But the positive to the location was that the shuttle took you to the Rail Station, so you could take a train for cheap into downtown Baltimore or Washington DC. Overall my stay was great. I would highly recommend the surgeon (Dr. Thomas Le) too if you ever need a good facial plastic surgeon. He did wonders for my nose despite 3 other doctors failing. His website is http://www.bwfacialplasticsurgery.com and he recommended this hotel for his patients on the website.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhino777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern US
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I had stayed in a Candlewood Suites in another location and liked the concept - basic, decent place to stay. I was just looking for a place to stay the night before a flight and they had a shuttle to the airport. The check in was prompt and the front desk attendant was very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was okay (once again basic but that's fine). From my previous visit to a Candlewood I knew I'd like the bed, sheets and towels and they didn't disappoint.

However, I don't think I could come back here unless they became a non-smoking facility. The smoke smell hits you from the second you walk in and permeates everything. Even though my room was nonsmoking, the smoke obviously doesn't pay attention to that distinction and the room had a smoke/musty type odor. I still was able to sleep but was sure glad it was only for one night - otherwise I would have checked out early. Please property owners, ban smoking to outside the property! I think most smokers are used to it by now. I suspect you lose more nonsmoking guests than you gain in smokers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuziQ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Could you believe that we were put in a room above the laundromat room. Check,; I got my dog and paid for his stay. Check; I used my points. Could these be the reasons why I got treated like a low class customer? Don't expect to find a business center here. Bring your computer. The hotel though will provide a hotel to/from the airport and nearby shopping stores/mall. And of course, Candlewood is known for the kitchenette. This hotel is near BWI airport and in a very nice location where other high end hotels are also located. If you are in Maryland visiting, find a nice hotel in LInthicum instead of Baltimore City for your peace of mind.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mai-ImIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This is an excellent extended stay hotel, Very Close to BWI and Arundel Mills, location is a bit isolated in a valley of hotels. Check in was smooth, they didnt know if our room was ready yet, we were a but early and people have to realize ITS AN EXTENDED STAY hotel meant to be homey so they dont have alot of room attendents staffed every day, but the Operations Manager took time out of his busy schedule to personally check the room...thats service. Rooms are big, spacious, like an apartment. Builiding shows signs of wear and tear but still nice,an " honesty market" provide ingredients too cook an easy meal. Good DVD selection at the reception area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redsox1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOMEWOOD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

The counter person was not very friendly, she made us sit down and wait until she could get the computer going. We asked that our room be cleaned with fresh towels, and was told they only clean the rooms on the weekends. That should have been a clue.
After two nights there, we discovered a mouse running from under the bed to under the dishwasher. Unless they change their ways, this is not a good place to stay. Also, there was no business center, you had to ask someone at the front desk. This is very tacky!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CNHTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed at the Candlewood Suites the night before a very early morning flight out of BWI. I am a new Priority Club member, and this was the first time I stayed at a Holiday Inn property as one. Check in was swift and easy because the front desk was still manned. I understand they lock down the front desk at night and offer some alternate check in, but I don't know how that works. When we got there I was handed a bag of goodies as a Priority Club member. A bottle of water and some gourmet jelly beans. Nice touch, considering many hotels charge $3 for a bottle of water. When we got to our room I was very happy. It was huge, with a full kitchen. It was clean and well kept, but one of the coffee cups in the cupboard had a coffee stain on the lip. We used the paper cups anyway. The only problem I had was the night light above the stove. In the middle of the night it was bothering me so I got up to turn it off. I couldn't find the switch and pushed the fan on by mistake. That woke my husband up and now I was WIDE awake. Not good when you only have a few precious hours to sleep before a 5:00 a.m. wake up call. Since the hotels Airport Shuttle didn't start until 7:00 a.m., they sent a cab for us, which was on time. There was a woman waiting for her cab when we left, and she claimed she didn't get her wake-up call. The front desk was locked down and we didn't know how to help her. The cab driver assured her another cab was on the way. The hotel itself was clean, and would be a good place to stay, especially if you are on business. With a fully stocked kitchen including a sink, stove, refridgerator and microwave you could easily cook many of your own meals. There was also a BBQ area for guests to grill outside. I would recommend this hotel and will probably stay there again when I fly out of BWI.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation-Loca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linthicum Heights hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, BWI Airport (Baltimore)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washi...
#7 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washington International Airport
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washingt...
#5 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baltimore BWI Airport
Staybridge Suites Baltimore BWI ...
#18 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Baltimore BWI Airport
Courtyard Baltimore BWI Airport
#14 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
#2 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum

Property: Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum
Address: 1247 Winterson Rd, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090-2203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#17 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers, is conveniently located 2 miles from BWI Airport and provides free shuttle service from 7am - 11pm. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range and dishwasher.Traveling on business? The Candlewood Suites Linthicum offers free high speed Internet, local phone calls, two separate phone lines, voice-mail, and a great executive desk. The hotel is convenient to the Baltimore Convention Center and University of Maryland Baltimore. Use our free laundry facility and Fitness Center. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites is 8 miles from downtown Baltimore, Camden Yards-Baltimore Orioles, M&T Bank Stadium-Baltimore Ravens, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Zoo, Baltimore National Aquarium and Fort McHenry.Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, the hotel s on-site convenience store. We also offer rates that include breakfast contact hotel directly.Stay at the Candlewood Suites Baltimore and enjoy all the features and amenities this extended stay hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum Hotel Linthicum
Candlewood Suites Linthicum
Candlewood Linthicum
Linthicum Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing