We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place felt like home! STAY HERE! Wifi only in the lobby though.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Locust Grove, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This place felt like home! STAY HERE! Wifi only in the lobby though.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I cannot say enough good about this hotel. The room was spacious and clean, which was a huge plus, but what really set this place apart for me and my family was the staff. What a wonderful goup of people. It really did feel like coming home each night. From front desk to food preparation to pool staff, everyone was so friendly and seemed genuinely concerned about their guests, as opposed to just doing their jobs. Lauri Reynolds was particularly friendly and was very helpful when I got stuck at work and could not go get my family until later in the day. They got a later check out and were allowed to just hang out, swim, and enjoy the place until I got there. Could not have asked for a better hotel stay. AMAZING!

Room Tip: You only have wired internet in the rooms. Wireless is only available in the lobby. Bring a hub an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busydad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsery, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your very nice comments. We are so pleased we provided you and your family with the kind of experience we pride ourselves on. I have shared your comments with Lauri and the team. We will look forward to having you all back to your "home away from home" in the future!

Thank you again,
Barbara Sery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    180
    119
    68
    36
See reviews for
246
121
33
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Several family members stayed at the Homewood Suites in Linthicum, MD in late August, 2011. It did not meet our expectations in two key areas as compared to other HW Suites I have stayed at: cleanliness and food service.

We arrived early and asked for an early check-in but since the room wasn't ready, we went to grab a bite to eat at a nearby restaurant before coming back 2 hours later. The hostess said it should take about 30 minutes to prepare the room. I thought that 2 hours would have give them more than enough time to prepare the room. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites - King BR with bath and 2D BR with bath plus separate kitchen/dining/sitting area. All of the rooms were adequately cleaned but the dishes that were left in the dishwasher were dirty - and I mean with food still stuck to them. The early check-in is no excuse for this oversight.

The next morning when we went down to the lobby to eat breakfast I asked my son how it was. He said the eggs tasted 'fake' and the sausage was like 'cardboard'. Indeed, the eggs were not prepared like I have come to expect at HW Suites and the sausage was tasteless. I don't know if this is a southern/northern thing but regardless most of the HW Suites I've stayed at in my home state of NC and other southern states have better breakfasts. I don't remember that being the case when my wife and stayed at the HW Suites near Philly last fall though. My recollection is that the food was good. At any rate, we chose not to eat breakfast there at the hotel. As a side note, when I eat the complimentary breakfasts at hotels and the food and service is good, I will tip the food prep people simply as a courtesy and to let them know I appreciate their work to make our stay pleasant.

Cleanliness and food service are two of the most important areas when I'm in a hotel so this HW Suites was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwt1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsery, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our Homewood Suites hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you encountered. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We also regret we were not able to provide you with the quality of food you expected. We are constantly working to improve our menu offerings and your comments will help us improve in this area. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms and food meet the highest standards in the future. We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.

Barbara Sery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

I just returned home from my week ling trip up in Maryland. I can say, this has been a horrible week because my sleep, and hotel stay, was a complete disaster. When I checked in this past Sunday, I was able to relax for a few hours once I got into my room. I decided to order in from a local restaurant. After having the food in my room for about 20 minutes, I noticed ants coming in the room. After about an additional 10 minutes, my room was completely overan with ants. The receptionist was nice enough to give me another room at 11pm, which was completely on the other side of the hotel. Imagine having to re-pack everything when you are already exhausted! To make a long story short, over the next few days, my air conditioning stopped working twice, and my new room also got infested with ants on the last night of my stay. I did a little detective work to see where these ants were coming from. I followed them out into the main corriders, and was finally able to see them coming out of one of the sections of carpet. Since it was so late I decided to just get up early and leave without causing a big fuss. This was by far my worst Hilton stay ever. If you want a peaceful place to stay, I definitely won't recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkroe0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsery, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your review. I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and promise the situation has been addressed. We hope that you consider staying with us the next time you are in Baltimore!

Barbara Sery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have never felt so welcomed by a hotel. The entire staff went out of their way to ensure that we felt like a welcomed part of their family. We were in town to visit our daughter, and the shuttle not only gave us transportation to and from the airport, light rail and metro stations, but also gave us a ride to and from dinner at our daughter's very near-by house. Breakfast was very good, and well tended by the same caring staff. When the time came to close service for the morning, the lady tending to our needs welcomed you to get anything you still needed before she put things away. She kept everything spotless and well filled at all times. The desk help were helpful and friendly, which was the reason I originally booked at this hotel. We will be staying here the next time we visit Baltimore.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsery, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! I am so pleased to hear you had the "home away from home" experience we love to give our guests. As a Homewood Suites we pride ourselves on treating our guests like they are part of our family. I have shared your comments with my hotel family and we will all look forward to having you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawnside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I always enjoy staying at Homewood Suites and this was your typical Homewood Suites. My family and I stayed here while visiting family in Glen Burnie. Upon check-in, the poor desk clerk was there alone and seemed a a bit frustrated with working the desk with customers over the counter and on the phone. I joked that he must be having a rough time working the desk alone, but he didn't seem to find me amusing! LOL. The two room suites with kitchenette are always great. The room was clean and neat. We only stayed one night and on the weekend, so we were not able to utilize the pool or the Manager's Reception (which is free light dinner during the week). My only dissapointment was breakfast, which though plentiful, was not very tasty. However, everyone working the breakfast area were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OkomfoAdwoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsery, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are a great place to stay! You really can't beat our value and quality. The Suite Start Breakfast is a signature of our Homewood Suites and I was disappointed that you did not find something to your liking with all we have to offer. I hope you will come back and stay with us again...and this time try the great evening reception we have every Monday through Thursday.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

awesome service from the front deck to the staff.Plus the breakfast was pretty good for free.The service was one of the best i have had at any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bodyguard065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsery, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Thank you for your great comments on the staff and the service you experienced. We always want our guests to have a stay that not only meets but exceeds expectation! We want you to feel welcomed and for this to be your home away from home. We will look forward to having you back with us again!

Barbara Sery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I had not really intended to stay in the Baltimore Area since my final destination was Reston,VA. However, due to cheap Southwest flights to BWI, I chose to fly to BWI instead of Dulles.

Initially, I had some misgivings about staying at this Hotel, since I was not sure they had a free shuttle which serviced the BWI airport. Also, I was not sure if they had a 24 hour shuttle, since my flight was scheduled to arrive at BWI around midnight. A quick call to the Hotel confirmed that they have a 24 hour service to and from the BWI airport.
On arriving at the BWI airport, I called the Hotel and requested the shuttle. This Hotel was not listed in the Hotels that could be called from the free phone close to Baggage Area. It took probably about 20 minutes for the shuttle to arrive which I think was longer
than other area Hotels, since in the mean time I did see other Hotel shuttles arrive at the terminal for picking up travellers.

Check in was quick and I was given a good suite. Breakfast was standard Homewood Suites fare, though I did not find Oatmeal as an option. Cereal was provided in Cereal containers, they did not have tiny cereal boxes available.

This Hotel provides free shuttle service to Amtrack/MARC BWI.

They do not have Wireless Internet and I had to contact Technical Support to get the Wired Internet Access code since typing in my last name and hotel number did not seem to work. I wish they had provided me the access code during check in, this would have at least made it unnecessary to make a phone call in the dead of the night.

Overall this is a good place to stay. Although I would say this is closer to average if I compare with other Homewood suites I stayed in the past year. I cannot comment on the value for money since I used HHONORS points for the stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erase.ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsery, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are fortunate to be conveniently located to the BWI Airport with the great airfares and service they offer to the Metro Baltimore-Washington area. As you mentioned, unlike many of the hotels in our area, we do provide 24 hour complimentary shuttle service to the airport, light rail and train station, and was happy to hear this worked out for you. I am sorry that you had some issues with accessing our complimentary wired internet service. At this time we are looking into adding wireless service to the hotel, we are always looking to add value to the guest experience. We appreciate our Hilton HHonors members and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Linthicum Heights hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, BWI Airport (Baltimore)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
#2 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimo...
#4 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washington International Airport
Hampton Inn Baltimore - Washingt...
#5 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
#6 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Baltimore BWI Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites Baltimore...
#8 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport
Address: 1181 Winterson Rd, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090-2204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of the best hotels at BWI! The Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport hotel is conveniently located less than two miles from the BWI Airport in Baltimore, Maryland. This BWI hotels accommodations are perfect for pleasure, business or extended stay travel due to its wide variety of fabulous amenities. Of hotels at BWI our extended stay Baltimore hotel prides itself on providing the "home away from home" experience that only Homewood Suites can offer. Begin each day with our BWI hotels complimentary Suite Start™ hot breakfast and come home to the Welcome Home® reception (M – Th), featuring a complimentary light meal and beverages (subject to state and local laws).Each spacious room includes a fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, coffee maker & microwave oven, complimentary high speed internet access, and access to on site fitness center and indoor swimming pool and whirlpool.For the business traveler, this BWI hotels proximity to nearby businesses in addition to the on-site business center, complimentary Wireless and hard-wired high-speed internet access and free parking, make the ideal choice of hotels at BWI.This Homewood Suites Baltimore-BWI hotels complimentary 24 hour shuttle service to BWI Airport, the light Rail and the MARC train, will help facilitate your commute around the city. Guests will find a variety of recreational activities, dining and entertainment hot spots around our hotel. Make Yourself At Home® and visit one of the best hotels at BWI. Stay a day, a week or a month at The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Baltimore-BWI Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Baltimore-Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Homewood Suites Linthicum
Homewood Linthicum
Hilton Linthicum
Linthicum Homewood Suites
Linthicum Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing