We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-Run with Pride”
Review of Sakura Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Sakura Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Maryland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Family-Run with Pride”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We are glad for this restaurant - both because of the food and because the owners so genuinely want to provide hospitality and service. We had the fun of attending a special Lunar New Year's meal. The dishes were quite extraordinary - both magnificently beautiful in presentation and delicious. It was also great fun to sample some Malaysian food.

Despite the name, and their regular menu, the restaurant offers a broader array of interesting cuisine. Daily specials will include Malay food, varying according to the ingredients that they are able to obtain. So while there is a typically broad menu of sushi and Japanese specialties, the restaurant offers some surprises, as well.

Note, too that the restaurant changed ownership on Dec 1, 2013 (so earlier reviews are not really relevant). This is now run by a Malay family, who are working very hard to make it work. They take pride in their food and service. They have decided to remain open throughout the afternoon, in order to be a resource for people who may want to meet there between normal lunch and dinner hours - and sample some good food while conversing. They are also open 7 days/week.

So we hope that many will give them a chance. As another reviewer mentioned, do not let the building (which has changed restaurants several times) put you off. Enter the building and feel yourself to be in Asia. Enjoy the food, and the hospitality of the very engaging and determined owner.

It's great to have a restaurant that is not a big-box chain, and is locally owned while something different in terms of cuisine. A really nice addition to the offerings in/near Leonardtown!

We hope this restaurant will be a great success - for their sake, but also for the community.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick and authentic”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Sakura Bar and Grill features sushi, sashimi, lunch specials, tempura, and hibachi. I ordered chicken yaki soba, which came with a salad--a totally satisfying meal for a busy traveler. The bar also has special promotions, such as ladies night, and I recommend this clean and friendly place for anyone who likes Asian food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozoner51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“St. Mary's County gets it's 5th Sushiya”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

There are now at least 5 restaurants in the county that serve sushi and other Asian cusines, but the newest is one of the best. The sushi freshness, quality, and selection is great. Tempura and other fried dishes are up to standard, and the chance to try other less familiar but delicious Malaysian dishes is unique. Presentations by the sushi chefs are creative & beautifully artistic. Nothing else locally is quite like it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sushishi-shi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice staff. Reasonable prices. Ordered sushi- VERY good. The salad was very good. Split a hibachi dish which was huge. Food was good; just as good as the other places in the park, and right in our back yard. Don't be fooled by the exterior, we almost didnt go it. But, I am glad we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jg1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Misleading, Sad”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a disappointment. Party of two. 12 people in the restaurant. First a cold greeting, then no traditional grill to watch food being prepared. Our waitress did not tell us her name until I asked when we were leaving. She was lack luster about the menu, the order we placed and when it arrived. They have been opened according to the manager for 6 weeks. But good customer service is the key to staying in business while you work on the flavor (Yum Yum sauce) and making the ok things good and the good things great. We were disappointed on so many levels. The price is what we have paid at a traditional Sakura. I don't think I will visit this particular Sakura again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1greenrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing