We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was traveling on business and had planned to make it home that night, but couldn't quite make it. Arrived late and was pleasantly surprised to find an attentive staff. The room was clean, bed was comfortable. As an added surprise, my receipt was slipped under my door. I stay at Super 8's quite frequently and this was the first time for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinChris2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
RobinChris,

Thank you for your kind comments. I have passed your words onto our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    98
    78
    46
    27
See reviews for
117
81
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 778 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed six nights while we explored the west Maryland area. We felt the location was excellent. The hotel is in good shape, our room on the 3rd floor was wonderful. The refrigerator had a freezer unit, always a plus. The room also had a microwave and coffee maker. The king bed was very comfortable. The first night the air conditioner started chirping and we let the office know in the morning. When we returned to our room that afternoon it had been fixed. All the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a street rod event in Cumberland over the Labor Day weekend and the hotel was booked, yet the breakfast area seemed to move through with little crowdedness. The guests were in good moods and it was just a joy to have this as our base of operation in this area. Very Good place, I would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: I liked the top floor, rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Ruth and Vern,

Thank you for your kind comments. I have passed your comments onto our staff, they were excited to hear that you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randallstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a great place to rest your weary head. After spending our days on the trails it was nice to come back here. The staff is super friendly and my kids loved them. The breakfast was okay. I would have liked a better selection. Note: the breakfast area is in the super tiny lobby but they make it work. The bonus of this spot is the partnership with local Y! A short drive away, you can use all of the Y's facilities by just showing your key card. Also Braddock run runs around the hotel, so its nice to just sit outside and listen.

Room Tip: Choose a rear facing room so that you don't constantly hear trucks/traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Mrs_Mason,

Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Understand that by the price you're paying and the fact that a lot of the rooms are smoke free, that yes, the hallways will spell like smoke. I was in a non-smoking room and it was just as clean and nice as any other mid-range hotel. Definitely worth the value if traveling through this area. The free admission to the YMCA a few minutes away was a nice addition. One suggestion would be to stock fresh fruit at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willchar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Willchair1,

Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Been attending the Firefighters Bas @ Allegheny Fairgrounds for the past ten years & have stayed at almost all of the hotels in the area, and by far I find that you get the biggest bang for your buck @ the Super 8

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, General Manager at Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Christopher K,

Thank you for your kind words, I have passed your comments on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 5 in LaVale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
7.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area

Property: Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area
Address: 1301 National Hwy, LaVale, MD 21502-7604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lavale
Super Eight Lavale
Lavale Super 8
Lavale Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing