We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent experience, good place if you are traveling through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Braddock Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stuck in a mid-March snowstorm in the area while driving through MD, the roads became impassable, temperatures were dropping rapidly and night was coming on. After taking four hours to drive a normally two hour stretch from Washington, PA, when the big rigs started pulling off highway, I decided to find a place for the night. Trouble was, this trip I had my small dog with me. Hotels west of Cumberland were filling fast; not many were pet friendly. Some that were pet friendly had really bad, bed-bugs-here kind of reviews. Yikes.

Enter this Best Western. With my alternative being sleeping in the car, or staying at a Hampton and leaving my pet in the (nearly 20 degrees!) car, I rolled the dice and pulled in. Thank God this place was there; and Thank God they allowed pets. This place is an old motor inn, like an old Howard Johnson's that kept being added on to. ( I am just guessing.) Back in the days when kids are free at the restaurant next door. There is a bar and grill on property; an indoor pool; a convenient store across the street. And yes, there is hot breakfast in the building. The TV had few channels but enough to get weather conditions. I like sugar free syrup too but not enough to complain about it. Breakfast had enough options to get by. That's part of the adventure, isn't it -- that each place is not a cookie cutter of the last one? Most of the other guests were stranded truckers/ travellers too. Just puts it in perspective. I did not try the spa/ sauna.

The most interesting thing about this place is the property; the Braddock Creek (name?) was rushing by the pine tree wooded lot; an outdoor wooded deck (covered in snow when I saw it) is available for summer barbecues. I don't know but if I was involved with a couple of young families who wanted to gather for a weekend in summer and take advantage of attractions nearby, this might just be the place. Small enough to keep track of the kids, large enough to have your own space.

At breakfast several travellers shared their road experiences, so we pooled information to find the best route to points east. That was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Pet owners get assigned to building "D" but thats okay because its the best one.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrlandsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Braddock Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not hot water in first room. Valves were later found to be reversed. Was given a free upgrade. Lack of tv channels in room was rather inconvenient. Why does this review have to be at least 200 characters?!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We rented a room overnight so because we had an early doctors appointment. The kids used the pool and aside from having to go get towels everything was clean and nice. The rooms were cold when we entered, would have liked to have had the heat on since it was 30 outside and seemed to take forever for the rooms to heat up. Rooms were clean and quiet. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was a somewhat less-than-typical Best Western. We always stay at BWs when we can. One of the reasons is that there is usually a waffle-maker at the breakfast buffet.

Making a reservation was fine. Room was fine. Bed a little soft but the place was clean. Nice modern bathroom. One beef about the free breakfast: there was no sugar-free pancake syrup, so the diabetic person traveling with me didn't get the fresh waffle she was yearning for. This is a small thing that can have a big impact on a traveler. How hard would it be to stock some of the small containers of sugar-free syrup? Disappointing.

Room Tip: Be sure to mention your AAA or AARP card for a discount.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was very disappointed to find this Best Western so poor with their beds. As a pet-friendly stop on a cross country drive with two cats, we had experienced only very good things from other (not Best Western) chains, with usually fine to excellent sleeping. This one, however, was seriously lacking; I think they put the pet people in the back part of the Inn, and leave us all alone. Only mitigating circumstance was FINALLY having some protein (scrambled eggs, sausage that was really delicious) for breakfast! Otherwise, the staff were friendly, the rest of the Inn looks great, and perhaps is in better shape.

Room Tip: Perhaps not being in the G building would be better?
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms and were supposed to cancel 7 days prior. Due to an unexpected snow storm, we could get there. As soon as possible we called the contact number provided and they offered a full refund since the cancellation was not our fault. Later I got an email from the property refusing to honor the full refund offer. The Best Western agent was wonderful so I will continue to stay at other Best Western's in the future, but will not deal with this Braddock Lavale property manager ever again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
231 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
644 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Braddock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Braddock Inn

Address: 1268 National Highway, LaVale, MD 21502-7607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range: $71 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Braddock Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this full-service La Vale, Maryland hotel located minutes away from Fort Cumberland, Frostburg State University and the Rock-Speedway. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn, a full-service hotel where guests will find friendly customer service, an array of amenities and comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. Conveniently located just off the highway in far western Maryland, this La Vale hotel offers 103 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake to a complimentary continental breakfast before taking advantage of such amenities as an indoor heated swimming pool, steam room/sauna, exercise facility, complimentary airport shuttle, business services and meeting facilities. The hotel also features Henny's Grill and Bar and Gehauf's Restaurant. Pets are welcome with restrictions. The BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn is conveniently located six miles from many key area attractions such as the Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, historic Fort Cumberland, the Thrasher Carriage Museum and George Washington's headquarters. The hotel is also close to the C&O Canal Place and the Rock-Speedway. Business travelers will find themselves minutes away from CSX Transportation, Alliant Techsystems, New Page and both federal and state prisons. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in La Vale, Maryland. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Braddock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Braddock Motor Hotel Lavale
Best Western Lavale
Best Western Braddock Hotel
Lavale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing