We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed bugs - need I say more?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Braddock Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bed bugs - need I say more?”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had two double beds, both had bed bugs. Took bugs to front desk. They did not charge us for the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scheinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    155
    68
    37
    41
See reviews for
167
130
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Our first impression of this hotel should have been our clue to leave.
An employee was parked crooked in the entryway - cigarette smoke and blaring music greeting guests. Once inside there were three people behind the counter and a long line of guests waiting to check in. Alas, only one of the people behind the counter was working. The others were having a conversation with friend across the room. The one person who was working self-declared she was the manager. She needs a volume control. She speaks too loud and needs some mouthwash. While there a phone call came in and she yelled at the person and hung up on the person. Yikes. When it was my turn to check-in she had some help. The young man did his best to be helpful, but she made it difficult. I was lectured about credit card charges (I prepaid - she said I didn't - my reservation clearly stated I did). Then we got to the room. What a mess. Smelled more like a bar than a hotel room. One set of towels for two people? Luke warm water. TV that turned itself on at various times. A clock that doesn't keep time and NO ANSWER when you call the front desk.

This place is a dump and I will NOT return.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these LaVale hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

As soon as I opened the doors, the only thing that I could smell was the smoke of cigarettes! Very distasteful!!! When I walked over to the reception area, the lady at the desk was having her lunch, when I asked her if she had any rooms avaliable for the weekend (Fri, Sat) she said no that everything was booked. While she still had food in her mouth (yuk) she suggested that I should go to Super 8, across the street.
Thats excatly what I did that evening... I stayed in Super 8! I had an awesome time, the staff was wonderful and very respectful!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTraveling04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband has stayed here various times for work. His last trip was in May and June of 2011. When he came home from his last trip; he brought 'visitors' with him. We couldn't figure out what kept biting us during the night. My husband got out a flashlight after being bit several times, and we found bedbugs! This hotel was the only one he stayed at. I am now spending $2,000 to get rid of them through a very reputable company. We have called the hotel to let him know what room he stayed in (room 224 in June) and they have NOT called us back. The woman he spoke with the first time was apologetic, took his room number and the dates which he stayed and promised her manager would call us back......still waiting! Needless to say, they will be losing a lot of business from my husband's company because he was not the only one that stayed there. What a mess it is to have to put everything in garbage bags to get ready for the treatment to get rid of these nasty bugs! Hope this review helped anyone looking at staying at this hotel! NOT recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank bugsfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Place is beautiful
Super clean room was spotless
Help: went out of there way to accommodate
Price is great
Food at restaurant was excellent
Pool area makes on think they are in a tropical resort

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peteyboy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were thrilled to discover the outstanding landscaping surrounding this motel building. There were picnic benches and grills for eating outside, a beautiful deck surrounded by trees and attached to an indoor pool. Inside the skylights and plants continued the feeling of nature and made it feel much less institutionalized. There were many places on the grounds where we could go to talk or relax other than our rooms. The complementary breakfast had an outstanding variety of choices which gave us an excellent start each day. The staff was very friendly treating us more as friends than as customers. Our room was spacious except for the bathroom which was very small for a 6' 1" person. However this was not severe enough to deter us from staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyriatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

good clean room, pool was refreshing, alot of kids throwing balls and being rude, and parents watched them...
breakfast needs real cream, and an assistant to fill up the empty food.
but over all nice for the money.
next door at Hennys bar and grill, the best bartender ever. He was very attentive and
kind, the food was awesome and smelt incredible!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triponme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Braddock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Braddock Inn

Property: Best Western Braddock Inn
Address: 1268 National Highway, LaVale, MD 21502-7607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Braddock Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this full-service La Vale, Maryland hotel located minutes away from Fort Cumberland, Frostburg State University and the Rock-Speedway. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn, a full-service hotel where guests will find friendly customer service, an array of amenities and comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. Conveniently located just off the highway in far western Maryland, this La Vale hotel offers 103 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake to a complimentary continental breakfast before taking advantage of such amenities as an indoor heated swimming pool, steam room/sauna, exercise facility, complimentary airport shuttle, business services and meeting facilities. The hotel also features Henny's Grill and Bar and Gehauf's Restaurant. Pets are welcome with restrictions. The BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn is conveniently located six miles from many key area attractions such as the Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, historic Fort Cumberland, the Thrasher Carriage Museum and George Washington's headquarters. The hotel is also close to the C&O Canal Place and the Rock-Speedway. Business travelers will find themselves minutes away from CSX Transportation, Alliant Techsystems, New Page and both federal and state prisons. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in La Vale, Maryland. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Braddock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Braddock Motor Hotel Lavale
Best Western Lavale
Best Western Braddock Hotel
Lavale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing