We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location near Cumberland, Maryland or on the way to D.C.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Braddock Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good location near Cumberland, Maryland or on the way to D.C.”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This hotel is in a great location on the way to a lot of places. It is right off the highway but far enough away so you aren't bothered by traffic noise. The rooms are more spacious than most, the beds and pillows are comfortable, and the free breakfast is decent. The price wasn't bad either. It's about 15 minutes west of Rocky Gap State Park and about two hours outside of Washington, D.C. We will stay there next time we are traveling through the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dneumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    160
    71
    37
    42
See reviews for
179
138
41
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We had our business conference at the Best Western and it was amazing and we all loved this place and location, and top of that services provided were great

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greattrip0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I come to LaVale all the time. I have tried every hotel in town and this is THE ONE!!!!! Not only are they cheaper in price but MORE on ammenities! This is the ONLY hotel I stay at in the area. If things are that Bad ask for Steve and I'll probably trade you suites!!!! ENJOY!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevenontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This hotel has a bedbug infestation in several rooms, including mine, 218. Bring them the evidence in a bag and they will act shocked and disappointed, but the other comments here make it clear that it's all a show. I don't know whether to be more disappointed by the infestation, the dishonesty, or the irresponsibility they show by knowingly allowing people to stay and perhaps carry the bugs home in their things. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tsteeps6189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Pool, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My husband and I stopped at the Best Western in La Vale, Md on October 2nd. I ask the desk clerk if they had ever had any problems with bed bugs. I was very concerned about the bed bug issue because it has been all over the news for over a month. She reassured us that they were bug free. She told us of 1 complaint from, as she stated a "crazy lady" calling and complaining that she had to go to the emergency room because she was bitten by bed bugs from spending the night at their motel. The clerk said the owner had the motel checked out and everything was fine and he also hired additional staff just to check each room after the guest have left. We felt more at ease after talking with her and got a room. But what a horrible experience we had when we were woke up around 3:30 to severe itching. We were being bitten by bed bugs. We found about a half dozen and put them in a plastic bag for proof to the clerk and to anyone else I may need to show.
The owner called me the next day but had the nerve to tell me he saw some activity but it was not considered an infestation under their guidelines. If a child is sent home from school with headlice it is considered an infestation and if a room is crawling with bed bugs it is infested, period. Before typing this letter I noticed that another guest had stayed at the same motel in room 217 in Sept. 2009 and awoke by bed bugs in the middle of the night. I was wondering how many people have been exposed to these things and took them home only to have their home infested.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuvinLife30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Pros: Very quiet area, even though it is close to the interstate. On one side is a wooded area with a creek running through it. Decent complimentary breakfast. Very clean common areas. Staff was friendly. Area has a wide variety of restaurants.

Cons: Pool water was cold. The room I had was an interior view room. Bathroom was like a phone booth. Furniture was from the 1980s. Tip: Pay the extra ten dollars and get one of the nicer rooms.

This is a unique, older hotel that was probably in its prime 20 years ago. But it is still an okay choice if you want something more than a cookie-cutter newer hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The reviews for this facility were mixed, so I erred on the side of positive....BIG mistake! I booked a suite for 3 days; celebrating our anniversary. First suite, the refrigerator did not work and the carpets were heavily stained. Asked for another room...2 doors up, same stained carpets! (later asked cleaning person about that and got the reply, "We are one of the few pet friendly facilities in the area. We get a lot of construction workers.") Unbelievable!! Next morning, coffee pot in room did not work. That evening, coming back from day of sight-seeing, hot tub was out of service ("Had to order a part.") At this point, I had somewhat of a meltdown with the front desk person, who graciously offered to lower our rate. (Really not her fault and she was truly apologetic) Upon checkout, however, I found out that they only lowered the rate for 2 of the 3 days!!! Needless to say, they will not see me again. So, beware! Looks like some people had a positive experience so some of the rooms must be OK.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgeagleway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
226 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
622 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
80 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Braddock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Braddock Inn

Property: Best Western Braddock Inn
Address: 1268 National Highway, LaVale, MD 21502-7607 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Braddock Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this full-service La Vale, Maryland hotel located minutes away from Fort Cumberland, Frostburg State University and the Rock-Speedway. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn, a full-service hotel where guests will find friendly customer service, an array of amenities and comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. Conveniently located just off the highway in far western Maryland, this La Vale hotel offers 103 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake to a complimentary continental breakfast before taking advantage of such amenities as an indoor heated swimming pool, steam room/sauna, exercise facility, complimentary airport shuttle, business services and meeting facilities. The hotel also features Henny's Grill and Bar and Gehauf's Restaurant. Pets are welcome with restrictions. The BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn is conveniently located six miles from many key area attractions such as the Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, historic Fort Cumberland, the Thrasher Carriage Museum and George Washington's headquarters. The hotel is also close to the C&O Canal Place and the Rock-Speedway. Business travelers will find themselves minutes away from CSX Transportation, Alliant Techsystems, New Page and both federal and state prisons. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Braddock Motor Inn is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in La Vale, Maryland. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Braddock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Braddock Motor Hotel Lavale
Best Western Lavale
Best Western Braddock Hotel
Lavale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing