We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice pool and Exercise room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Room was awesome. Very high ceilings on the first floor, not sure what that was all about but the room was great. LCD TV's were a very nice touch! The Hotel was awesome, great breakfast too and very friendly staff. In Lavale it's hard to have a great location off of 68 but it's not very far from the exit so I guess you can't complain too much. Overall awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank run4jesus078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 236 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2009

We had a suite that was large and open. The motel is close to
restaurants. The staff was friendly and pleasant and a minor problem
with the room was quickly solved. Free morning breakfast included
many choices and staff Alice and Rick made us feel right at home.
We stayed 4 enjoyable nights and would definitely go back again.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank DESunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

My spouse and I planned to stay one night in the beautiful, mountain community of Cumberland, MD. This hotel is such a pleasure, that we ended up staying three nights, instead of one.

Why did we do this? Because we felt as if we were staying at a 5 star resort. This is due to:

------ The continuous and courteous attentiveness of the management and staff, all of whom bend over backwards to assure everything is just right.
---- --The spacious layout and lovely decor of the hotel lobby, breakfast area, indoor pool and hot tub, which are unlike any other Comfort Inn we have ever been in, giving the feeling of being at a larger hotel. (Our standard room with 2 beds was nicely appointed as well.)
------ The entire hotel is immaculate and meticulously maintained. Everything is up to date and in perfect condition.
------ There is always abundant staff on hand, something we have not found at other small (or large) hotel chains. From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel as if you are an important guest. Something we have only experienced at some exclusive hotels or resorts, but never at a Comfort Inn.

We did not even have to drive anywhere in order to have a good meal for dinner. We walked across the parking to the Texas Grill for the best ribs we have ever had.

What a wonderful surprise. What a wonderful 3 days. If you are planning to pass through the Cumberland/La Vale/Frostburg, MD area, treat yourself to a stop at this hotel,and have a "vacation" experience, rather than just a an overnight stay. We may travel that way again, and make this Comfort Inn our vacation destination!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PokeyPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Saturday June 27th-
I had originally booked a non-smoking King suite since I was traveling with my young family and we needed the extra space. When we checked in, the 2 gentlemen at the desk were extremely polite and very helpful. The hotel seemed clean and in a quiet location. We went up to our room to find the biggest hotel room we've ever stayed in anywhere! Looking at their website again, they upgraded us to a one bedroom suite with seperate living room and in-room whirlpool, a room that's normally $100 more than what we paid. I was so impressed with the staff and quallity of the rooms - we'll absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k12278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean hotel in a pleasant location. Should have been priced at $90 rather than $133. Not a good value.

TV reception was very poor. Only FOX came in loud and clear. The staff blamed the poor reception on the weather. However, I see that at least one other tripavisor member mentioned poor reception, so an upgrade is in order, especially at these prices. Also - MSNBC and CNBC are NOT available here, though they are included in most lower priced hotels.

The $2 bottles of soft drinks (Pepsi, no Coke) in the vending machines were really overpriced. Also, extremely limited free channels aside from HBO. ind of gave the place a clip joint feel.

The staff were all VERY NICE and HELPFUL.

There are two restaurants across the parking lot: Wendy's and a "steak" house. Go to Wendy's or drive further. This steak place served possibly the worst steak we have ever eaten, and the french fries were stale and not warm. It was hard to get refills on iced tea. The free peanuts and the draft beer were great, though!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61Highway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here on our return trip from Hershey Park. My husband wanted to get as close to home as possible before stopping for the night and it was nearly midnight. With three children and a squeaky bed the night before we were exhausted. We stopped here praying for a decent place to lay our heads and it was excellent. The hotel was spotless and had lovely decor for a budget hotel. The room (a suite with a fold out sofa for our teen) was extremely clean. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were quiet (none of the sirens mentioned in another review) and the breakfast was wonderful. Something for everyone (boiled eggs, cereal, donuts, muffins, waffles, even a refrigerated milk machine instead of a carafe!!) The only downside would be that the restroom was rather small. But it was very clean and suited the needs we had. It was such a relief to find a hotel that was safe, quiet, clean, and welcoming during a late night drive.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank purplecowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

The overall appearance of the hotel and the room furnishings are definitely more upscale than the typical Comfort Inn. Hotel staff was very accommodating, and the hotel's General Manager was easily accessible to guests. The hotel is set back from the highway, so there is no traffic noise. A sit-down restaurant and a fast food outlet are located across the parking lot. The breakfast included with the room price, was bountiful, with a selection of hot items and waffles in addition to the usual cereals, breads, bakery items, yogurt, fruit and juices. Room windows can be opened slightly allowing fresh air to enter. Rooms are realtively large for a Comfort Inn, and well furnished with good lighting for reading.

Overall, a very pleasant experience; definitely much more than we expected from a Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.6 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
4.1 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1216 National Hwy, LaVale, MD 21502-7603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range: $89 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Lavale
Comfort Inn Lavale
Lavale Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing