We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on the night of 9/27. While the hotel is good, the staff is outstanding. They allowed me to park my car at the property the night before we checked in (ended up with 2 cars because husband and I came from two different places) and allowed me to keep parking it there until late on 9/28, there merely asked me to park it in a remote corner of their lot (a very reasonable request). Then when we checked in the front desk staff even remembered me from the night before and were as friendly as could be.

The public areas of the hotel are in excellent shape and very comfortable. I was immediately impressed by the lobby area of the hotel. This is where breakfast is served and the breakfast is definitely a home run! They had a variety of cold items and a few hot items. I'm sure even the pickiest person could find something to suit them here.

Husband and I stayed in, I believe, room 227. It was a whirlpool room. The room felt cavernous, it seemed empty. The whirlpool was fabulous. The bed didn't do much for me, I woke up stiff several times during the night. Beds are pretty subjective so your mileage may differ, my husband didn't have the same trouble I did and we were using the same bed at the same time. We also found the room to be on the warm side and couldn't get the A/C unit to really, really cool it down. To be fair, I always seem to be warm.

Overall, a very nice hotel and definitely lives up to the good reviews it receives. Certainly worth staying at if you're passing through or choosing to visit the Cumberland area.

Room Tip: Smaller room numbers on each floor are further away from the elevators and are thus quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eightwednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us as well as other folks planning on visiting our area.
I appreciate the compliment you gave our staff and will share your review with them. We always try to go above and beyond when it comes to customer service and satisfaction. We've recently remodeled our lobby and breakfast areas to reflect a more contemporary atmosphere and I'm glad you found these areas to be clean and comfortable. We hope you come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    60
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
87
65
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a trip to western Maryland (to visit Cumberland MD) and really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We stayed in a first floor room. The rooms were spacious, the ceilings were very high (higher than any other first floor room hotel we've stayed at, which was so nice) and the rooms were clean, tidy, and neat. Our bathroom was equally clean and spacious. The bathroom was a corner bathroom so the vanity was on an angle, it was very cool. Ample mirrors and supplies for the bathroom. The décor was a bit of an older style, but in good shape and clean. We had an adjoining room with our family so it was convenient to be able to go between the two rooms.
The hotel breakfast was the typical assortment of muffins, pastries, toast, eggs, sausage, etc. The breakfast area was in the lobby area, the décor was very modern, and the staff cleaned up nicely and the staff at the front desk was very friendly. Two thumbs up! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a 1st floor room if you want space and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLoisLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I must say, you have quite an eye for detail.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we arrived late and without reservation, the only room available was Executive Suite...for $159.

The suite was HUGE and truthfully we spent most of the time in the bedroom area, didn't go into the main living room area much at all. The bed was gigantic, the desk space was spacious and there were (2) bathrooms as well as an "in-room" hot tub too.

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a FULL BREAKFAST with anything & everything a traveler could ask for: eggs, sausage, waffles, french toast, juices, coffees, toast cereal, yogurts, pastries, etc....

The monster-huge TV was satellite & HD (amazing picture quality). The hotel Wi-Fi was free and very snappy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. This is an inspiration to my staff as well as other travelers visiting the area.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
645 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is easy to see why this is not only the best rated hotel in the area, but one of the best in the overall Comfort chain. The fact that it is a clean, comfortable, well-maintained hotel with a decent hot breakfast is basically expected. But it is the little "extras" that make this place exceptional - the warm freshly-baked tollhouse cookies at the front desk to greet you every time you enter; the staff member out picking up stray cigarette butts in the parking lot at 6AM before most guests are even awake; the fact that EVERY staff member greets you warmly whenever they see you; the generous breakfast area with seats for everyone, even during the morning "rush"; etc. The hotel is conveniently located along a commercial strip just off the interstate, and just "over the hill" from Cumberland. Prices may be a few dollars higher than average for this class of hotel, but the "guest experience" will make you glad you stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROCtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give such a glowing review of our hotel. Thanks for noticing that we go above and beyond to provide our guests with much more than just a hotel room.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I am always a happy camper if my room is clean! We arrived exhausted and thankfully I was not disappointed. Beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. All of the amenities available. No traffic noises, no outside room noises. We slept very well. Staff was friendly. Happy, happy, happy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candacejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Candace,

Thanks for taking the time to evaluate your recent stay at our hotel. We try our best to provide all of our guests with a clean and comfortable room as well as superior customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is very convenient to I-68 and located close to several dining choices. The desk staff is friendly, informative, and very professional. The rooms are modern and well appointed, and there are convenient electrical outlets bedside for internet surfing. The internet is free and reliable and the connection is rapid and consistent. I would recommend this property for either a business or pleasure visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedVetAPHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Your review is important to our hotel staff as well as other travelers visiting the Western Maryland area.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
0.6 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
4.0 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1216 National Hwy, LaVale, MD 21502-7603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Lavale
Comfort Inn Lavale
Lavale Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing