We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great budget motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Laurel
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a clean and nice motel that's only a half hour drive away from DC.

Everything worked fine and looked new, and the internet was strong enough to stream videos. This definitely seems to be the best option for people looking to stay for cheap near DC or Baltimore.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSP1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel. We continue to hear from customers who have confirmed your experience. We are highly encouraged and are energized to continue to provide nice, clean rooms at very affordable prices.

Thanks again, and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was wary of staying here because of some of the reviews but am glad I picked this place. I came with a group of family and friends for Rolling Thunder on our motorcycles. At no time did we feel unsafe and there is a high police presence and nighttime security. This is a very nice, clean motel and definitely worth the budget price.

If I had to scramble for something to complain about it would be the firmness of the pillows. Yep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn Laurel. More and more customers like you are letting other travelers know that they can book with us with confidence. We were glad to have you stay with us during the Memorial Day Weekend celebration. We look forward to seeing you again next year or sooner.
Thanks, again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband an I travel frequently but we are not billionaires. In order to travel as much as we do, we need to sacrifice some luxury. Being that we don't spent a lot of time in our room, all we require is a clean, safe spot to lay our heads. If we can a good price, then even better! DC is one of those odd places where rooms are more expensive and booked up during the week as opposed to the weekend, like everywhere else. We need to take a last minute trip here so our options we a little limited.

Reading previous reviews made me a bit nervous, particularly about the neighborhood. I don't know what constitutes a bad neighborhood to some people, but I KNOW what a bad one looks like. I've lived the majority of my life in urban areas (Chicago/NYC/Cleveland/LA) and most bad neighborhoods have liquor stores, midnight missions, bombed out buildings, and the occasional store front church, not a Vitamin Shoppe! Laurel is just a regular old suburb of DC with new construction everywhere. The faces just happen to be more black and brown than maybe some people would like. This is far from a bad area to stay in.

The rooms are small and SUPER clean, all new construction and the whole motel was tomb-like quiet after 10 pm. No one scary in the parking lot, unless you have a phobia of Polish contractors. The beds are surprisingly comfortable. The walls are thin, but this is a budget motel so again no super luxury. Our drive to downtown DC was 10/15 minutes. If all you need is a clean, quiet room to keep you things, this is the place and for under $70 per night! Will come back any time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Sorry for taking so long to thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us at the Red Roof Inn Laurel. Many of our new customers have indicated that these reviews have influenced their decision to book with us. They also say that they have not been disappointed. We continue to improve our services and focus on providing nice clean rooms at affordable prices.
Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Whoever is giving Red Roof Inn a 2 ☆ rating is an idiot. I will take this chain any day over a Holiday Inn, Choice Hotels, Super 8, or Motel 6 chain. You get alot of bang for your buck. Rooms clean, no old cigarette stains or burns, nice t.v, clean linens, oh and everytime I stay at one of the properties, everything works. I do alot of travel for business and pleasure. Over the last year and a half I have conducted my own personal, independent study. I have stayed in several hotel chains some before and after so called renovations and change of management. I have frequented Red Roof Inn before and after the renovations. Hands down I will take this chain any, ANY day of the week. No breakfast, but heck you have to realize two things, no dining service keeps cost down and who wants to eat where you are residing or in a room, that is too much like being at home. When you are out, enjoy yourself. My opinion, easy 4 ☆. But dont take my word, I am just one man with an opinion. I dare you to try for yourself!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank new1man9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you so much for your very encouraging words about your stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel and at Red Roof Inns in general. We are pleased that you've always had positive experiences with our brand and it is our hope that your review will help other travelers book with Red Roof Inns with confidence.
Thank you once again and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel gets a bad rap because of the area but truth be told the hotel itself is good!! It's recently been renovated & upgraded. There is Security on the premises and Dunkin Donuts next door. If you need a clean room, a TV and no other fusses...this is the hotel to stay at while in Laurel. You can't beat the quality with the price = Very Reasonable. I will recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback about your stay with us at the Red Roof Inn Laurel. We are very pleased that you had a great stay. Such a positive review is very encouraging to us as we double our efforts in ensuring nice clean rooms at affordable prices. The new Dunkin' Donuts is indeed a great asset and very convenient for our customers, and very soon in the Fall Towne Centre at Laurel is opening for shopping opportunities. This shopping center is just 3 miles away from the property.
Thank you once again and we look forward to being of service to you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Terrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights, traveling between NC and NJ. We looked for a hotel that was along the route and offered a good price and was within an easy drive of DC and Baltimore for day trips. When we arrived there were several people ahead of us. The guy at the counter could not get the room that he said he reserved. He would not take no for answer. After 10-15 minutes, he relented. When we got to the desk, we were told our room was on the 3rd floor, even though we requested a ground floor room and there were rooms on that level. After some reconfiguring, we got a standard king on the ground floor. It was after 7 PM, and there were several people lingering in the parking lot. When we pulled into a parking space, there was a creepy guy sitting in the window, staring out and watching our every move. As we unloaded our van, several more people were lingering around the parking lot. It seemed kind of shady. The good news is that the room was clean and spacious. The room was comfortable and there were many channels available on the flat screen. Housekeeping maintained the room very well. The internet access was fine. The location was perfect for trips into DC and Baltimore. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants available in the immediate area. For the price, this hotel fit our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRMEnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

I'd like to apologize for the delay in responding to your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Red Roof Inn Laurel.

We appreciate your comments and continue to strive to provide the best service at the best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laurel hotels
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Laurel
117 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Laurel
Fairfield Inn Laurel
#5 of 16 in Laurel
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 16 in Laurel
5 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Laurel Near Fort Meade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel

Address: 12525 Laurel Bowie Rd, Laurel, MD 20708-2635
Location: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Laurel
#4 Business Hotel in Laurel
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Washington, Dc - Laurel Hotel Laurel
Red Roof Inn Laurel
Laurel Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing