We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Laurel
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Overall a fine experience. Front desk staff was very friendly - no name tags, otherwise I'd mention by name. Room was nicely appointed and clean.

Location was a bit sketchy, but that's probably why it's cheaper than the Manassas or other red roofs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnmusikherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel. We appreciate the time you took to let us and others know that you had a good stay .
We look forward to being of service to you the next time you require lodging in the Washington DC area.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    50
    18
    8
    19
See reviews for
21
28
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Needed to book a quick, cheap reservation in the DC area. I wanted something close to a metro so I wouldn't have to drive into the city.
Settled on this place because it was under $50/night and it was supposed to be within a 15 minute drive of the Greenbelt Metro (as per Google maps and not anything put out there by the hotel - locals know better re: 295).
I got an ADA compliant room on the 2nd floor. Didn't need ADA but it was the cheapest booking. There's an elevator if you need it. The room was pretty true to the picture. Had hardwood laminate floors. No fridge or microwave in my room but that's totally okay considering what I paid. Very clean. The sheets and towels had that good, clean bleachy smell. A/c worked well (like it cold!) Large flat screen TV with a modest but completely acceptable channel lineup including CNN, HBO, and HBO2. Overall, a simple, clean setup.
Bathroom was huge and clean.
Very quiet. Did not hear any of my neighbors.
Comfy bed!
Location is just off 295-S at the Laurel-Bowie exit. 295-S stays clogged in this area, even on a Saturday, so allow plenty of time to get to DC or even the Greenbelt Metro.
There's a small strip mall a short walk away with a pizza place and Chinese food. McDonnalds, Taco Bell, and other eating places are a short drive away on Bowie-Laurel road going towards Laurel.
Walmart and Target are an exit away on 295-N.
Especially for what I paid, I found this place to be an extremely good deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lemongrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very excited about our newly renovated property with all new rooms. Your comments could not have painted a better picture of some of our rooms. We do have other moderately priced room types with Microfridges, Iron/Ironing Boards, Hairdryers and coffee makers. The last phase of the renovation is about to begin with the painting of the exterior of the building and we look forward to having our guests come back to enjoy the finished product.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the very near future.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Red Roof made many promises about being a 100% non-smoking facility. This is just not true. They have the signs reminding people not to smoke in the elevator and in the rooms but they provide ash trays all around the hotel. On our arrival I found the previous guest has tied the bag from the ice bucket over the smoke detector. The room smelled awful. We had to deal with it. We had booked through and online service and the whole place smelled. I could not afford to pay for a second room so we stayed. Never Again!!!!!

Room Tip: Try the Red Roof in Rockville MD. Much better!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sctpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with the Red Roof Inn Laurel. I'd like to apologize for the problem with your room. All our rooms are 100% smoke free and we have been careful to ensure that guests adhere to the policy.
We provide the smoking urns on the ground floor and away from the building as a courtesy to those of our customers who do smoke.
Thanks again for staying with us and we hope you give us another opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laurel hotels

Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped after a long day of driving and were greeted by a very professional young lady at the desk. She did mention that she regularly works from 7am to 3pm but this night she was taking over for someone else. She did an excellent job of locating the type of room we wanted, offered to print out directions for our trip the next day and bent over backwards to help with minor problems with our room. We found that one of our bedside lights did not work (we like to read in bed) and at first could not get the air conditioner to work. When we called the front desk,the woman at the desk said immediately that she would come up to our room to try to fix both problems and also offered to move us into another room. The air conditioner began to work and we decided the light bulb issue wasn't a big concern. She called back about 10 minutes later to ask if everything was okay. What an excellent employee!!
As far as the room itself it was a good place to crash, though very basic. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Our only complaint was that the air conditioner. It worked for about an hour and then during the night it was just blowing air. It was a bit warm in our room during the night. The motel had just been "renovated" however it appeared that the air conditioner had probably not been updated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel! I'd like to apologize for the problems you experienced with the cooling and lighting in your room. Your comments are a source of encouragement to the entire staff as we continuously work to improve our services.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We were extremely tired & needed a place to crash. We checked in around 12:30 am. The staff was not polite at all, there were crowds of people standing around but they did have police officers on site. The lobby was disgusting. The floors appeared that they have not been mopped in months & the chairs were too dirty to sit on. It smelled really bad as well (this was the night lobby). The room itself actually wasn't bad. It was small but clean. No iron or iron board or anything fancy. The parking lot was extremely loud with the "loudest music" contest going on between these two cars at 6:30 in the morning!! I think this is a regular after club motel. It is not near public transportation but is near restaurants. If im desperate like this time I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royalti2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with the Red Rood Inn Laurel. I'm sorry about the condition in which you found the Vending Room/Night Window and any inconvenience it may have caused you.
As part of our ongoing renovation they were just finishing work on that room and that may explain the condition in which you found it. We have since completed the work and improved the conditions in the Vending Room/Night Window.
Thanks again for staying at the Red Roof Inn Laurel and we look forward to a more pleasant visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My son was enrolling in a deaf school in DC the next day so we chose this location because of it's proximity to DC without having to actually enter the city during the inauguration. While it was adequate for a one night stay, couldn' get CC on the tv without paying a $50 deposit. Also, seemed like a big deal to have a safe in the room (they charge, but return the charge), seems like it would have been more cost conscious to serve the majority of customers to spend that $ on a hairdryer...or a microwave....or a fridge....or a cheap little coffee maker.
Room was very clean...although the bathrrom was very small.
Overall good experience...but make sure you read description of hotels before you book in order to no be slightly disappointed. Many extras are only in "selected rooms".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMun0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I'm truly sorry about the misinformation you received regarding a deposit for the closed captioned feature on the TV. We do require a deposit for Movies but not for the closed captioned feature.
I have reviewed this issue with all the front desk staff to ensure that it does not happen again. I do thank you for providing us the feedback, which has renewed our commitment to inform all our guests about the different room types we offer- the Superior King Room with the Microfridge and Coffee Maker, the Deluxe Doubles with the Microfridges, and the Standard Doubles and Kings.

I thank you for staying with the Red Roof Inn Laurel and look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great location near various restaurants, grocery stores and Laundromat. Room clean and not stuffy. Microwave for use in office not working, and cable did not offer many selections. Construction and renovation taking place so parking was limited. Early morning (9am) construction started. But overall decent stay. Coffee and tea supplied all day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Sorry for the delay in responding to your feedback in January. I'd like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel and for your patience and understanding during the renovation.
The renovations just got completed and so we now have all new rooms that are 100% smoke- free. We are very proud of the rooms and are looking forward to having our previous guests come back to experience the new product.
Thanks again, and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laurel
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Laurel
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Laurel Near Fort Meade
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Laurel
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Laurel
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Laurel (Fort Meade Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel

Property: Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel
Address: 12525 Laurel Bowie Rd, Laurel, MD 20708-2635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Washington, Dc - Laurel Hotel Laurel
Red Roof Inn Laurel
Laurel Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing