We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent desk staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Laurel
Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent desk staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped after a long day of driving and were greeted by a very professional young lady at the desk. She did mention that she regularly works from 7am to 3pm but this night she was taking over for someone else. She did an excellent job of locating the type of room we wanted, offered to print out directions for our trip the next day and bent over backwards to help with minor problems with our room. We found that one of our bedside lights did not work (we like to read in bed) and at first could not get the air conditioner to work. When we called the front desk,the woman at the desk said immediately that she would come up to our room to try to fix both problems and also offered to move us into another room. The air conditioner began to work and we decided the light bulb issue wasn't a big concern. She called back about 10 minutes later to ask if everything was okay. What an excellent employee!!
As far as the room itself it was a good place to crash, though very basic. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Our only complaint was that the air conditioner. It worked for about an hour and then during the night it was just blowing air. It was a bit warm in our room during the night. The motel had just been "renovated" however it appeared that the air conditioner had probably not been updated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel! I'd like to apologize for the problems you experienced with the cooling and lighting in your room. Your comments are a source of encouragement to the entire staff as we continuously work to improve our services.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    51
    20
    11
    19
See reviews for
23
32
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We were extremely tired & needed a place to crash. We checked in around 12:30 am. The staff was not polite at all, there were crowds of people standing around but they did have police officers on site. The lobby was disgusting. The floors appeared that they have not been mopped in months & the chairs were too dirty to sit on. It smelled really bad as well (this was the night lobby). The room itself actually wasn't bad. It was small but clean. No iron or iron board or anything fancy. The parking lot was extremely loud with the "loudest music" contest going on between these two cars at 6:30 in the morning!! I think this is a regular after club motel. It is not near public transportation but is near restaurants. If im desperate like this time I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royalti2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with the Red Rood Inn Laurel. I'm sorry about the condition in which you found the Vending Room/Night Window and any inconvenience it may have caused you.
As part of our ongoing renovation they were just finishing work on that room and that may explain the condition in which you found it. We have since completed the work and improved the conditions in the Vending Room/Night Window.
Thanks again for staying at the Red Roof Inn Laurel and we look forward to a more pleasant visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My son was enrolling in a deaf school in DC the next day so we chose this location because of it's proximity to DC without having to actually enter the city during the inauguration. While it was adequate for a one night stay, couldn' get CC on the tv without paying a $50 deposit. Also, seemed like a big deal to have a safe in the room (they charge, but return the charge), seems like it would have been more cost conscious to serve the majority of customers to spend that $ on a hairdryer...or a microwave....or a fridge....or a cheap little coffee maker.
Room was very clean...although the bathrrom was very small.
Overall good experience...but make sure you read description of hotels before you book in order to no be slightly disappointed. Many extras are only in "selected rooms".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMun0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I'm truly sorry about the misinformation you received regarding a deposit for the closed captioned feature on the TV. We do require a deposit for Movies but not for the closed captioned feature.
I have reviewed this issue with all the front desk staff to ensure that it does not happen again. I do thank you for providing us the feedback, which has renewed our commitment to inform all our guests about the different room types we offer- the Superior King Room with the Microfridge and Coffee Maker, the Deluxe Doubles with the Microfridges, and the Standard Doubles and Kings.

I thank you for staying with the Red Roof Inn Laurel and look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great location near various restaurants, grocery stores and Laundromat. Room clean and not stuffy. Microwave for use in office not working, and cable did not offer many selections. Construction and renovation taking place so parking was limited. Early morning (9am) construction started. But overall decent stay. Coffee and tea supplied all day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Sorry for the delay in responding to your feedback in January. I'd like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel and for your patience and understanding during the renovation.
The renovations just got completed and so we now have all new rooms that are 100% smoke- free. We are very proud of the rooms and are looking forward to having our previous guests come back to experience the new product.
Thanks again, and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Outstanding service from all staff members and the rooms were very clean. WiFi capabilities were a great help and the location was excellent. The prices were second to none and all individuals should take advantage of the discount rates provided when going to google.com under Red Roof Inn. The house keeping staff was excellent and the staff members Melba, Catherine and the Manager Ellen were all very personable, helpful and kind in helping my stay at the Red Roof in be as pleasant as it was and I will recommend the Red Roof Inn in Laurel to everyone. Thank you Melba, Catherine and Ellen for your professionalism and I will return without a doubt.

M. Waters

Room Tip: Rooms on South Side are quieter Higher floors have less noise Try to get your room you had last ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abundantwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Waters,
I apologize for the delay in writing to thank you for staying with us and letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were happy to be of service to you.
I'd like to inform you that in January next year we will be undergoing renovations so we very much look forward to you coming back again to experience the new product.

Thank you once again,and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This Red Roof Inn off the BW Parkway is AWESOME ! Beginning with the Front Desk staff that checked us in to the House Keeping Staff that cleaned our room. Special Attention was paid to our every request and need. My husband, dog and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Manager, Ellen Peace Azu, always seems to be on premises taking care of her jewel in Laurel, MD. The room was very spacious and clean as was the grounds. Plenty of running and playing room for the dog. A shopping plaza with seven eateries within a safe well-lit walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel. Comments such as yours are very encouraging to the whole team as we double our efforts each day to provide safe,clean and economical accomodations to our guests.

We do care about our guests and so we are glad that you had a great stay.We look forward to your next stay with us, Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Clean, Courteous and Quiet ! Spacious room, well kept grounds and an efficient staff that took care of our every need. It was quite impressive to see the General Manager, Ellen Peace Azu, not afraid to roll up her sleeves and attend to her property personally. It's a testament to her personal care she has for her hotel and guests. Conveniently located to a plaza with numerous restaurants, a grocery store, drug store and gas stations. The parking lot is very well lit and the neighborhood is safe to walk at night. I highly recommend this hotel for both business and families alike.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Red Roof Inn Laurel. It is our desire that our guests have a great experience during their stay with us and so we always appreciate receiving a positive feedback.

I have shared your comments with the rest of the team and I can assure you that it has been a great encouragement to us as we continue to improve our product and services.

Thank you again and I hope you continue to have a great stay with the Red Roof Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laurel hotels
3.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Laurel Near Fort Meade
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Laurel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Laurel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Laurel
Fairfield Inn Laurel
#5 of 16 in Laurel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel

Property: Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel
Address: 12525 Laurel Bowie Road, Laurel, MD 20708
Location: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Laurel
#4 Business Hotel in Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Laurel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Washington, Dc - Laurel Hotel Laurel
Red Roof Inn Laurel
Laurel Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing