We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Restaurant, Basic Service”
Review of TGI Friday's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
TGI Friday's
Reserve with OpenTable
TGI Friday's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 192 Restaurants in Laurel
Cuisines: American, Bar, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent Restaurant, Basic Service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I prefer this location over Rockville's TGI Friday's, but it's still not the best experience. I really don't know why the service has been going down hill for TGI Friday's. Maybe it's just me, but I really don't think that the food is as good as it used to be. The servers are also not very spectacular.

You do have to wait for a long time for your meal, though the wait is not as bad as the location in Rockville. And there are times where your order isn't as hot as you would expect it to be if it were made fresh. It's always a nice treat when the meal is nice and hot, as it should be.

I rated this higher than the location in Rockville because I haven't encountered any issues at this location.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelanieTheArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    14
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curtice, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad Service !”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Never have my husband and I had such BAD SERVICE ! We were there over 2 hours and they weren`t busy! We were served our Appietizer with no silverware or napkins, when we did get napkins and silver they were wet !! on the plus side the food was good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ninegrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brampton
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“thanksgiving dinner”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

great service and the food was good and the restaurant was open on thanksgiving.and the mojitos and margeritas were recommended as well We were very thankful that the restaurant was open that day as well

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank happycanuckbrampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bad, Bad,Bad”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've tried to eat here three times, and never paid for a meal because every time it was bad. One time the food was cold, under-cooked, another time the glasses and silverware were so dirty we left, another time the order was so messed up we were convinced it would never get right, so we left again, with the manager continuing to say he would make it right. That manager is no longer there.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“..... maybe I expected to much.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a very pleasant server.....and as TGIF advertises this place was loud and a definite gathering place.
Nestled amongest lots of eateries. As the saying goes it was a dark and wet, rainy night. Full but not packed for a Saturday night.
Welcome atmosphere...I had originally wanted to try the Dragonfly Salmon but not part of the 2choice entree..... so instead opted for the Herb Crusted Flounder.
Huge disappointment. I expected Flounder to be bland... slightly saved by the seasoned crust. Broccoli & Cheddar soup good but standard . White (Sticky) rice bland of course but the veggies that should have saved this meal were bland also.
It's been awhile since I've been to a TGIF maybe I expected to much.
My table mates enjoyed their meal of Cheeseburger & B-B-Q hamburger bacon stuffed burgers, fries and onion rings. Good but nothing outstanding.
Seems their order of Vanilla Bean Cheesecake was the saving grace.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oncearoundtwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGI Friday's also viewed

 

Been to TGI Friday's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing