We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great India food and very good service”

Curry Leaf Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 192 Restaurants in Laurel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We specialize in South Indian Chettinaad, North Indian Mughalai, Indo-Chinese, Lahori Kabobs & Tandoori SpecialtiesWe offer a sumptuous daily lunch buffet!All our food is Halal | No Trans Fat !!We are now open!Come enjoy our fresh and healthy food.HistoryEstablished in 2013We opened our doors on May 2, 2013.Meet the Manager: Sam K.Saravan ("Sam") Krishnan comes from a long lineage of Chefs. His culinary passion was first nurtured in his native village near Madurai, nestled in South of India, where he learnt the importance of fresh traditional Indian herbs and spices. Exploring his passion further, he developed the creative talent that has become a trademark of his cuisine.Chef Sam displayed his culinary skills during a successful 15 year stint as Head Chef at Udupi Palace in Langley Park, Maryland. Since then, he has led the culinary staff at several successful restaurants.As the Head Chef of the Curry Leaf, Chef Sam takes great pride in staying true to the real origins of each regional dish, meticulously recreating the flavor and taste that one would associate only with traditional home cooked food. We bring to you authentic Indian Cuisine from the heartland of India and beyond, set in a warm and welcoming ambiance.Welcome to Curry Leaf and enjoy your meal!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great India food and very good service”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Recently discovered this restaurant and it is really good, can't wait to go back. The staff and owners are great, the food is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Claude N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    35
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for our son's graduation and this was around the corner, down Rt 1. The food was excellent, the portions were large and the staff were very helpful and friendly .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
477 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, quality food, friendly service”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

After hearing people rave about this place I decided to give it a try. I was there around 8:00 PM one evening and sat down as the only other group in the place was leaving. The restaurant was dimly lit at that hour and quiet. They had theme-appropriate music playing over the sound system. A very comfortable and relaxed setting. I needed to unwind a little and this was the perfect place.

The staff was very friendly, and responsive. Everyone seemed happy to serve and presented the food proudly as though they had made it themselves.

The quality and flavor were very good. I'm a huge fan of Indian food and have had it in a lot of different places, but this one ranks up there! Good stuff.

I'll definitely be going there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandomTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel,Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home like Indian Food outside your own kitchen”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have been visiting Curry Leaf often in the last few weeks or so. Nicely located, easy to find, parking spaces limited, but enough parking in the back.
Each time we have had a wonderful expereince.Staff is smiling and really make you feel welcome.The food is authentic indian, not spicy and not greasy and enough quantity for two. Service was always excellent, specially their steward Arun and Sam. The best part is that the atmosphere is casual and being a small place, is not noisy or bustling like many other establishments. After dinner one can linger on as long as you want and no one makes you feel that you need to leave now.Much recommended, and this is coming from an Indian family who cooks at home and knows what indian food is.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kjoshi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great South Indian food with earnest staff”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I enjoyed this restaurant traveling from Baltimore to partake in this dining experience. The service was good in spite of bring really busy. The food was freshly made an excellent without being overwhelming. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rzellg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Leaf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Curry Leaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing