We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pulled Pork” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Klobys Smokehouse

Klobys Smokehouse
Ranked #9 of 189 Restaurants in Laurel
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kloby's Smokehouse is family owned and operated. Kloby's Smokehouse is known for its great food and service in a casual dining atmosphere. Kloby's serves up the best smoked Pulled Pork (served Carolina-Style), Beef Brisket, Ribs, Chicken and all of your favorite "made from scratch" sides. We pride ourselves with taking all of the time needed to BBQ all of our fresh meats in an all-natural hard wood pit to give you the best smoked, finger licking BBQ flavors you crave. No matter what occasion you decide to celebrate, be sure to celebrate the day at Kloby's Smokehouse!
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Pulled Pork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stopped late afternoon. Took awhile for our eyes to adjust so we could read the menus (bright sunny day outside). As it was our first visit, we ordered three meat plate (we chose the beef brisket, pulled pork, and pork ribs) and a couple of sides. Nice variety of sauces. Some we really liked, others not so much.

The ribs were great. Tender and seasoned with an awesome rub, not quite falling off the bone, but still very tender and tasty. Not normally a brisket guy, but after this, I believe it was I never had good brisket. The smoke ring was evident, but the bark was tough and brittle (like kindling). It was, however, very tender and very flavorful. The pulled pork was very good. It could put some pulled pork that I have had in Charlotte to shame.

Service was good,. Didn’t take long to get our food, but it was an off time of the day. Definitely want to try more of the menu items!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gemini52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    57
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great beef ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Nice BBQ place. Lots of TVs. Amazing beef ribs. Probably the best I've ever had. Friendly service too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 260Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, USA
1 review
“klobys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

excellent food, every kind of bbq is good
good for the family, and free popocorn
value priced, relative to food quality and portions

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DG3RG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Verry good food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Four of us had dinner at Kloby's last night. The food was very good: tender rib eye on the steak sandwiches, crisp french fries, a nice barbecue sampler platter, and an odd-but-tasty entree called a bacon jarbecue (served in a Mason jar). There was a minor glitch with our order, when the 2 sandwiches came out without the fries that were supposed to accompany them, but it was remedied quickly and cheerfully when our server had the kitchen make two fresh sides of french fries. All of the restaurant's personnel were friendly and helpful, from the hostess and server to the food runners and the gentleman who bused our table, and called us back for the hat and sunglasses that two of us had left behind. Prices are moderate for the area: two appetizers (excellent naked wings), four entrees and non-alcoholic beverages came to about $72.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bear F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in a strip mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have driven by this restaurant for several times, but had never been in. We thought we would give it a try. It is very deceiving from the outside. The interior ambiance is very nice, not what you might expect from the outside. We sat at the bar. They have a great happy hour (until 6 PM) with discounts in drinks and 1/2 price appetizers. Our server/bartender (Sarah H.) was very personable and helpful. She made some great recommendations. Their servings are very large. The Jalepeno Pork Poppers were very unique and tastey. They were not too spicy which was good. We both got Meat Plates which come with 2 sides and cornbread. Their smoked turkey and brisket were very tender and flavorful. I also had the ribs. They were flavorful, but just not as tender or fall off the bone, like I was expecting. We did not have room for dessert, but they have many tasty options. We are glad that we finally went in and will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RAKfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klobys Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Klobys Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing