We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tex Mex in Laurel”
Review of Tampico Grill

Tampico Grill
Ranked #20 of 192 Restaurants in Laurel
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Tex Mex in Laurel”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Tampico Grill is hidden away on Rt. 1.
If you are going southbound towards Laurel it is on the left before Main Street across from the Chrysler dealership.
It is worth the trip there.
Once you sit down , you are treated to free salsa (medium spicy) and warm chips.
My wife and I usually order appetizers for dinner here.
The guacamole is the best around. The large is large and is at a great price ($6.75)
The quesadillas with grilled chicken ($8.25) is good and comes with 4 pieces.
The Tampico nachos with steak ($9.95) is good too with a lot of black beans, cheese and of course steak.
The grilled meat here is flavorful.
My son usually gets the steak fajitas with corn tortillas (he has allergies).
This comes out on a sizzling hot on a griddle so be aware.
There is a lot of meat with this and a lot of onions and not as much of the peppers.
The refried beans are tasty.
They do take out and is as good as when sitting down.
There is a bar area separate from the dine in area.
Tampico Grill has helped a number of organizations with fundraisers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoonpieLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WILMINGTON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great, Fresh Mexican!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

OMG, if you enjoy Mexican food, you have to go. Not the best curb appeal, but the service was good, the food was fresh, tasty and an excellent value. None of our platters were over $10, too much to finish. Casual, family atmosphere, We were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DONNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Surpisingly good place for Mexican food.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I rarely think quality when it comes to restaurants in motels. This one is different. The food is among the best Mexican I've had. Choice of sauces for enchiladas is great. Service is friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Margarita's and food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Tampico Grill is one of my favs. Please don't judge a book by it's cover and miss a great dining experience. The ambience is a bit dated but the food and top shelf margarita's are worth the try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travul00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great place for friends or family. Not much to look at on the outside but friendly and cozy on the inside. Family owned and operated. Great food and great service. The fajitas and the enchiladas are superb, like those I enjoy back home in Texas. Enjoyed a great lunch our son and his girlfriend. The prices are affordable, under $50 for four people including gratuity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jxx0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampico Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tampico Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing