We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Red Roof Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Lanham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Lanham
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lanham
key west
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Red Roof Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

I checked in late and was able to get a good nights sleep bed was great. Location was excellent to the highway so we could leave right away. Staff was helpful with directions to get a good breakfast. Will return on our trip back to Florida.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acuralegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    14
    8
    45
See reviews for
32
18
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lanham, maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

the only tip that i can give to the red roof inn is to add a few more channels for the television. the hotel staff is very curtious and considerate to any and every problem that approach the front desk. maintenance is always available to me, and the housekeepers answer to every request. its a very cheerful staff here at the red roof inn and they make everyday enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyline31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldsboro, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

I have stayed at other Red Roof Inns, in the area of Washington, DC. this Red Roof Inn was beyond what I expected. First off I don't smoke, I choose not to be around people that do, I walked through one employee sitting on the steps smoking, I had to say excuse me, to pass by her, she was on cell talking about her car problems. Next the room was smelled stale, and the sheet and blanket had burn marks, how can this be when it was a smoke free room.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessaGoldsboro_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed here during our move from Boston to Washington DC. The hotel provided a safe place to park our car and U Haul truck. There is an onsite security guard. The room was clean, pet-friendly for our pug and provided the basics.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sgc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

My wife and I picked this hotel because we were attending a wedding nearby and it was about $80 cheaper per night than some of the surrounding hotels. Honestly, $80 is a lot of money, but we wished we would have just paid extra to stay elsewhere. When we checked in the room smelled strongly of smoke (despite being a non-smoking room), there was standing water in the bathtub, and there was pee and toilet paper in the toilet. The room itself was worn out, and the beds were very old so I woke up with a sore neck and back the next day. The neighborhood is not terrifying, but I wouldn’t really feel comfortable walking around after dark (not there is anyplace to walk to – except for the sketchy drive-through liquor store up the street). In summary, unless you really need to save money and HAVE to stay in this area, I would avoid this hotel.

  • Liked — It was cheapter than the others
  • Disliked — unclean rooms, bad beds, disquieting neighborhood
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

Although I cannot say much about the rooms (standard Red Roof faire), the front desk attendant when I arrived (11pm) on April 17, 2007, was just plain nasty. She acts like it was a bother to check me in and greets you with "Form of Payment and Picture ID." She did not acknowledge my non-smoking request (stuck me in a smoking room) and did not have my paperwork ready although I am a RediCard frequent guest. When I mentioned that I would like to ask for a room on the side of the buillding wherein the Wireless Internet works better, she rudely told me "The Internet is not free and it does not work that way", WOW that is helpful and so not friendly. Obviously she knows nothing by Wireless networks for large buildings, nor customer service for that matter.

The location is not for the weak of heart. There are numerous shirtless truckers roaming the hallways and bangs and door slamming at all hours of the night. The property is located across from an abandoned gas station and a seedy strip mall.

In total, the Red Roof decor is standard but the people make this place one to avoid, even though it is cheap. It's not worth the aggrevation.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The people
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RometoParisandBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

It' s never a good sign when you arrive to check in and the lobby contains several angry people checking out. Being short on time, I quickly checked in, deposited my bags, and went on to the next thing. I didn't return till midnight. In the morning, I discovered that the toilet did not flush, and the shower head was not properly hooked up to the pipe. I brought this up at the front desk, and was told I could talk to the general manager by calling the next day. The person at the front desk was not able to give me a refund because I didn't immediately bring it to their attention when I checked in. Doesn't matter that I didn't actually get into the room till after midnight. A call to the general manager the next day was directed to voice mail, and not returned. A call the day after that resulted in the GM saying they'd look into it and give me a call by the end of the day. Didn't happen. I'm about out of patience and ready to dispute the charge. It is one thing to have a problem in a room. It's something else entirely to receive no help in getting it resolved. This was an alternate hotel for a group whose function I was attending. It won't be next year.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank weekend_warrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanham
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway
0.6 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Washington D.C. - Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Lanham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Lanham

Property: Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Lanham
Address: 9050 Lanham Severn Rd, Lanham, MD 20706-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Lanham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lanham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Lanham 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Lanham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Washington, Dc - Lanham Hotel Lanham
Lanham Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lanham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing