We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food is good but the attitude is terrible Go to Negril instead” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muffin Man Caribbean Express

Muffin Man Caribbean Express
Ranked #25 of 51 Restaurants in Lanham
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Sandy Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The food is good but the attitude is terrible Go to Negril instead”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you are willing to put up with the attitude of the staff, the food is good. We had curry chicken, rice and peas and jerk chicken. They were not too spicy just right. The wait for the food was long but not longer than other similar places like Negril. However I like Negril much better. No attitude there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juris301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I went to Muffin Man with a co-worker today and was pleasantly surprised by the tastiness of everything I had to eat. Looking at the menu, I did realize that the prices were a bit high, but I understood why the prices were high once I received my food (there was tons of it)! I could not finish my food, even though I truly wanted to. The sorrel was amazing! I will definitely return for more good eating!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Supernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This place is pretty good...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have to say that I really enjoy this place. The food is always on point and the establishment is pretty clean. The only qualm I have about this place is that it is a bit pricey for essentially a take-out spot. Some could say it's warranted but at these prices I think this place should be a full fledged restaurant with servers... Again, don't get me wrong, the food is good. The price just gives me a little heartburn sometimes especially when buying for multiple people. It's definitely worth checking out. Oh, the carrot cake muffins are amazing but again at 3.99 per muffin, it gives a cause for pause :-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Born2BWild80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landover, Maryland
1 review
“MORE THAN JUST MUFFINS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The food is EXCELLENT!, the muffins are beyond YUMMY! the Ziggy wings are a sure hit. Meals aren't skimpy at all! but the service was not friendly. Restaurant is very clean and quaint. Great place to drop in for some good eats FAST. A little pricey but worth the $

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yum Oxtails and Jerk Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was really happy to be referred to this restaurant. I was hungry that day and really didn't have a taste for any particular food. However, I wanted to eat good! So when I went into the restaurant I quickly perused the menu and I started salivating when I saw the Oxtail/Jerk chicken combo! Yummmy! It came with white rice, beans and cabbage. So delicious! The decor is very caribbean the colors are orange and a lime green with nice foilage. They play a lot of Island music. I really enjoyed this dining experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CHUBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muffin Man Caribbean Express also viewed

 

Been to Muffin Man Caribbean Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing